Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 01-17-2018, 02:35 PM   #1

Seneca rats nest

Hi everyone, I'm not new to Jayco but I am new to the seneca. I've been reading with interest the many post here and elsewhere on the Seneca. Rats nest seems to be a common term when talking about the wiring in the seneca. We had ours since late November and it is a 2017. So far this is my experence with the wiring. We were delayed two weeks in getting the rig because none of the lights on the rear of the unit worked, a short was found. Unit was bought in Arizona and I live in Texas. Driving home I had a abs light on the dash, I also had two other codes flashing on my dic. The abs was also shorting out and the other two items were corrected by tie wrapping the wires according to my paper work. I plan to go through as much of the wiring as I can. My unit is a 37rb and I love it. Having said that our last coach is a Winnebago Tour that's still for sale. I guess you can say I've come over to the truck side.

One thing I plan to add is a second smoke detector in the rear of the unit. My first Jayco lets us know at 2am one morning we had a problem. You do wake up but when you smell it at the same time it's time to leave. Jayco had put electrial and water lines in the same space and after a couple of years we had a water leak. I'm disappointed to see they still do this.

AL
whporwil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 02:41 PM   #2

If it's any consolation they have been building them the same way for at least 10 years.
WinnieView is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 02:44 PM   #3

Under the bed, under the dash, under the coach -- there's a ton of messy wiring all over.

Extra Battery operated CO/Smoke detectors were added to our RV on day 1.
Old 01-17-2018, 04:07 PM   #4