Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 02-07-2022, 06:03 PM   #1

Tank Heater

I’m an RV Newbie. We purchased our rig last fall and it’s winterized here in MN. We’re planning to head to Georgia in March to visit family. Planning to take our time with three stops. I was planning to stay in a motel in southern WI on our first stop to avoid any freezing water issues and dewinterize on our second stop in southern IL. However, I was reading in my owners manual today that a rig with a tank heater may also be equipped with water line heaters that could protect the water system down to -11 F ! It says the tank heaters and line heaters operate on a single switch on the control panel (which I have). The verbiage is pretty vague in the manual and seems to imply that there are a variety of combinations for these heater set ups. I’m not real interested in extended winter camping but I would like to know some guidelines when transitioning out of the upper Midwest to the south and back I n the wintertime. The weather does strange things sometimes. The manual is clear that external electric hook up or generator power is needed to operate the tank heater (not the line heaters).
Anybody have any experience with the tank heater?
Lynchbarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2022, 07:19 PM   #2

No experience with the heaters, but if it was me, I would leave it winterized until the southern IL stop. Should be safe from freezing by then. I would rewinterize at the same area on the way back. When I winterize, I blow all the lines then flush all with antifreeze. Would need to take a small 12 v compressor with the hose adapter and 2 or 3 gallons of antifreeze and the antifreeze pump with you.
2012 Jayco 32 BHDS: Long Gone
2007 R-Vision 25: Long Long Gone
1965 Frolic Cabover: My First RV
Bugzilla46310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2022, 07:45 PM   #3