Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2012, 09:30 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
CJames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Laredo
Posts: 163
This dosn't look right to me.

My A/C unit has some issues.
This electric box just hangs by the wires.
Going to try attaching it to something above but can't see where.
Guess I'll have to open the plenum from the roof. ??????????????
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC05968.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	67.5 KB
ID:	5570
__________________

CJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 10:00 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,762
You might be able to velcro it right in place there.
__________________

Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 10:11 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
CJames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Laredo
Posts: 163
Since its metal and the condinsation get really bad it causes the breaker to flip.
OR at least I think that's what's happening???
CJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 04:02 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,045
There are two studs that the control box is attached to using wing nuts. You cannot get to it from the outside, everything is done from inside the coach. From what I can see on you pic it looks like the wing nuts came loose. Use a flashlight and look at both sides of the control box for the studs.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 10:22 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
CJames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Laredo
Posts: 163
OK Thanks.
Saves me climbing on the roof.
I got knocked off my bike and have a hard time using my left arm.
Stop signs only apply to some people.
The opening is about half the size I need to work but I have all day to get done.
CJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 04:31 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
CJames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Laredo
Posts: 163
The studs that held the box in place are GONE. ??????
So I used paracord and tied the box in place.
Poked the cord through the holes where the studs SHOULD be and tied the box up.
HEY it works so I'll leave it for now.
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC05972.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	74.4 KB
ID:	5594
CJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 04:21 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,045
The studs are up in the a/c unit about 6 to 8 inches and are only about 1/2 inch long. You need a flash light to really see them.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 04:31 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
CJames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Laredo
Posts: 163
looked and looked.
There are two holes in the sheet metal that line up with the holes in the control box.
I think someone took them out while workig on the A/C unit before we bought it.
The paracord went through those holes and into the control box. Perfect match.
I even felt all over with mu hand but no studs.
__________________

CJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.