Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-16-2018, 04:55 PM   #1

Tow Dolly?

Complete newbe here.

Looking forward to a couple of years when wife retires to hit the road.
Right now it looks like our best choice will be a Class C. Probably on a Ford 350 or 450 platform. Would love the Mercedes platform but I think we will need more room than what is typically found with the MB. PLUS we love the mountains and to have a engine brake and the ability to tow a car behind us.

Question (finally)

Instead of going through all the work and expense of making our 2007 Toyota Highlander Base 4cyl 3,750 lbs. a toad or having to buy a dedicated toad I am thinking a dolly behind the Class C for a Highlander looks like a much more economical, easier solution.

Also after looking at Dollys the better ones have lights on them, do you still have to use a light bar on the rear of the Dollied vehicle?
Thanks in advance!
Ya'll are great!!!!
RetiredLEO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 05:02 PM   #2

Although it may be more visible and safer in the long run we did not need to use a light bar with our tow dolly which was equipped with its own lights.
WinnieView is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 05:32 PM   #3

Send a message via Skype™ to ALJO
I have run a dolly but never liked them and are also hard on tires. I'm sure you will experience the same. In the long run you are better to invest in the straight pull. or a trailer to put a vehicle on. But that is also time consuming with loading.
Pro Series 1200 lbs. WDH with Double Sway Bar.
Champion 3100/2800 watt Inverter/Generator-Onboard Solar Power
ALJO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 06:18 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by RetiredLEO View Post
Complete newbe here.

Looking forward to a couple of years when wife retires to hit the road.