Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2016, 08:01 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Jackson
Posts: 57
User error I'm sure: receptacles not working

Well I'm still new to the RV world and my Redhawk. This is the second time this has hapened but I can't remember whtat the problem was before. The receptacles aren't working. I've checked the breakers but they are fine. Ugh I hate the learning curve. Thanks for our help.
__________________

Charlene20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2016, 08:13 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Poconos of Pennsylvania
Posts: 51
Did you try to reset your GFCI buttons, just a thought. You should have two. Are all the recepticals dead or just a few?
__________________

short kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2016, 08:13 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Elizabethtown, PA
Posts: 1,542
Which receptacles aren't working Did you check to see if any Ground Fault receptacles are tripped
__________________
2004 Jay Feather 25E
2001 Ford Expedition 4X4 EB 5.4 3.55 rear
2004 Ford Expedition 4X4 EB 5.4 3.73 rear
bedrck46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2016, 10:42 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
RoyBraddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,396
My trailer has three GFCI receptacles. One in Kitchen at the sink area, one in the bathroom near the wash up sink, and one in bedroom hallway where we have another sink area for getting dressed etc...

Since the trailers use those flat type snap in receptacles in a daisy chain fashion when one of the GFCI trips it will kill the 120VAC receptacles in the daisy chain hookup.

Just push the reset button to reset them...

Roy ken
__________________
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA
RETIRED DOD DOAF DON CONTRACTOR Electronics Tech 42YRS

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 03:12 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Jackson
Posts: 57
I can only find one and it is not tripped. Not sure what's going on but will keep looking. thanks for yalls help
Charlene20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 06:13 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Elizabethtown, PA
Posts: 1,542
Is your outside receptacle a GFCI if so see if it is tripped.
__________________
2004 Jay Feather 25E
2001 Ford Expedition 4X4 EB 5.4 3.55 rear
2004 Ford Expedition 4X4 EB 5.4 3.73 rear
bedrck46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 07:01 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
troutslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NW AR (God's Country)
Posts: 1,846
They say there are no stupid questions, but I'm about to ask one...Are you plugged into shore power? See, I told you! I just had to start at the beginning
__________________
Skip

2012 Eagle Super Lite HT 26.5RKS
2005 GMC 2500 SLT HD D/A
troutslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 08:05 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by troutslayer View Post
They say there are no stupid questions, but I'm about to ask one...Are you plugged into shore power? See, I told you! I just had to start at the beginning
Lol, I was thinking the same. But I'd add one, is the circuit breaker at the shore power post flipped to on? It is very common to find the turned off. I turn it off before plugging in.
Jagiven is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2016, 08:40 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Jackson
Posts: 57
There is no GFCI outside cabinets. The one inside at bathroom is ok. I am not plugged into shore power but my batteries are fully charged. They usually work when I"m on battery. Maybe the GFCI is faulty. Seems to me last time this happened it was something simple but of course old age prevents me from remembering what it was!! How can I check the GFCI to see if its working?
Charlene20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2016, 09:08 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
SmokerBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: PNW
Posts: 2,699
You have to be plugged into shore power for the outlets to work, unless you have a whole house inverter installed.
__________________

__________________
Bill
2011 Dodge Ram 1500 HEMI Quad Cab
2011 Jay Flight 26BH
SmokerBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.