Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-21-2019, 02:10 PM   #1
Lost in the Woods

What's this raised metal "hump" on my roof?

OK, I'm new to a MH and was up on my roof just learning all the parts and pieces. I know what everything else is up there (plumbing vents, solar connection, skylights, etc), but there is this raised metal hump that almost looks like a single trailer fender well in shape, sticking out along the side of the roof.

At first I thought maybe a vent for the propane fridge, but that vents out the sidewall of the coach. The range hood vents out the sidewall too. So I'm baffled... It's over the kitchen area. Can anyone tell me?

Here's a image I just grabbed off the Net, it's not my coach but looks similar. It's that white raised hump on the bottom right of the picture.

RetiredOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 02:12 PM   #2

It's the refrigerator vent.
Yes, there is also one on the side of the trailer and that one on top, allows for better air flow. If you take the cover off on the side and look up, you will see how it all works.

By the way, it's most likely plastic.

2012 Ford Expedition EL
2016 28BHBE, Elite and Thermal Packages.
Equal-i-zer 4-point Sway Control, Southwire 34930 Surge Guard 30A, Tire Minder TPMS A1A
(2) Yamaha EF2000iS Generators, Micro-Air EasyStart™ 364 (3-ton) Soft Start, Garmin RV 890, GoodYear Endurance ST225/75-15 Load Range E
RAurand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 02:34 PM   #3

A suggestion would be to take one of the screws out and take it to your favorite hardware store and buy (4) stainless steel screws. These will rust in a few years and eventually stain part of that cover ( but that’s just me ).
Old 05-21-2019, 02:39 PM   #4
Lost in the Woods

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAurand View Post
It's the refrigerator vent.