Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-07-2017, 10:42 PM   #1

WHY fresh water tank fill port.......

First let me say that I am completely new to RV's so I am still learning but some things just don't make sense. We just bought a 31FS back in May and have been using it quite a bit. We are into motorsports and use the RV as base camp at the race track. Most of these locations are simply in a field with no hookups. As a result we travel with full tanks of water and use the generator a lot.

My question is why are the fresh water fill port and black tank flush port located right next to one another and look exactly the same? At the time of our PDI when I was explained how it worked I thought it was strange and knew it was only a matter of time before I screwed it up. Well that time was tonight. It was raining, I'm trying to get loaded for an early morning departure and hooked up the hose and cranked it on. A while later I thought something didn't seem right, well you guessed it, I hooked the hose up to the flush port! At which point I realized that the tank was now overflowing up through the toilet into the coach! Lovely. In a moment of panic I shut the water off and opened both valves to allow black water to run into the grey water tank, hated to do that but besides draining the black tank onto my driveway I had no other way to stop the sewer water from coming into the coach. I was/am fuming mad. I know its my fault but seems like it wouldn't be that hard to make a positive differentiation between the two ports. like put them in different spots?!?