Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-21-2018, 03:03 PM   #1

Smile Wifi repeater cable routing 2019 Seneca 37fs

I have a WiFi repeater setup and either want to mount the external antenna on one of the external mirrors or on the roof but need to find the best way to route the cable inside to the top of the media cabinet which in this model is inside the main cabin door.

Any suggestions for the best routing?
GeorgeM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 09:53 PM   #2

I'm becoming less and less a fan of these setups. We have used our Mikrotik SXT directional wireless access point in over 50 RV parks, and the overwhelming conclusion is that ALL RV parks have the worst WiFi. McDonalds had better Free WiFi than all of the parks we visited.

DW and I both work while we are out on the road, I am an IT manager and a Network Engineer that manages our connectivity while we are on the road in our Seneca for months at a time.

Most of the Park managers had no understanding of what / how /why their WiFi networks worked (or should say did not work) and I have to say that those that did work well - had a subscription fee for upgraded WiFi service that was hosted/administered by an outside WISP. Some of them were $10/day - and were worth it if you did not have a secondary solution.

WiFi in a park, is usually limited to what they can get "into the park" and then everyone shares what that has... At worst, take 20mbs and divide it by 100 connections that are using it... No matter what the extender is capable of helping get to your unit, your piece of the network pie is pretty small and inconsistent a lot of the time -

Edit: oh, forgot the main question you asked...