Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2016, 04:12 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hohenwald48 View Post
Actually, the OP never said if their trailer is wired for 50A or 30A service. I assume that with two A/C units it's wired for 50A service.

Either way, Wags999, the entire trailer will have power regardless of weather the OP is connected directly to a 50A service or connected to a 30A service via an adapter. The 30A to 50A adapter will connect the two legs together. Connected to 50A service he will have two legs of 50A each.

The 30A/20A to 50A adapter (shown above) does not tie the two legs together so the OP (assuming the trailer is wired for 50A) would only have 30A on one leg and 20A on the other leg. Normally, one A/C is connected to each leg. Some even had separate thermostats so that when the front A/C reach the set point and shut off the rear A/C would then run until it reached the set point then the cycle would repeat.

If the OP's trailer is only wired for 30A then no adapter would be necessary and the A/C units would need to be toggled from one to the other. In the old days, before 50A service was readily available, some manufacturers installed timing devices between the two A/C's that would automatically toggle the A/C's every half hour or so.
That's not always the case, I know for sure on several rigs only one AC got power when using the 30amp adapter on the 50 amp cord. I have to think about it, but, if they tie both legs of the 50 amp to the 30 amp leg, then you have power unbalance in the neutral wire. I'll see what I can dig up, either way, your still only going to have 3600 watts of power available.
__________________

__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2016, 04:15 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: smithville, ont.
Posts: 1,747
Quote:
Originally Posted by norty1 View Post
I have one of those and it will not work if it is on a GFCI or the 20a and 30a are on the same phase. I use it when I can in parks that are wired for it, like Georgia sp's. They have 2-30a feeds that are correctly wired in the pedestal.

The 30a to 50a adapter puts the 30a on both 50a incoming legs so everything will work until you exceed 30a.

Running 1 ac is part of the adapting.
It won't work on a GFCI, true...but I don't know why you are having a problem when the 30 and 20 are on the same phase.
That's like saying half the breakers in your house that are on the same buss bar of one phase in the breaker panel don't work because they are on the same phase.
They are on the same phase and share the same neutral.
In your trailer your feeding half breakers with 30a and the other half with 20a of the same phase sharing the neutral.
Your just not going to get 240v and you don't need to.
__________________

__________________
2016 North Point 341RLTS
520watts of solar. Morningstar MPPT
2017 F-350 Platinum CC SRW
klassic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2016, 04:23 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: smithville, ont.
Posts: 1,747
Quote:
Originally Posted by wags999 View Post
That's not always the case, I know for sure on several rigs only one AC got power when using the 30amp adapter on the 50 amp cord. I have to think about it, but, if they tie both legs of the 50 amp to the 30 amp leg, then you have power unbalance in the neutral wire. I'll see what I can dig up, either way, your still only going to have 3600 watts of power available.
You're over thinking it.
On a 30 to 50 adapter your sending one phase 120v through two wires to the rigs breakers.. There is no "2 legs" or phases. It's all one phase. Just split by two main breakers at the trailer. The neutral will be balanced just like it is in a 30a rig.

The only time there might be trouble is having a 50a campground service receptical with both legs on the same phase and you max out both sides of your trailers 50a panel. Then you probably would over heat the neutral.
__________________
2016 North Point 341RLTS
520watts of solar. Morningstar MPPT
2017 F-350 Platinum CC SRW
klassic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 10:36 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Nashville
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by wags999 View Post
That's not always the case, I know for sure on several rigs only one AC got power when using the 30amp adapter on the 50 amp cord. I have to think about it, but, if they tie both legs of the 50 amp to the 30 amp leg, then you have power unbalance in the neutral wire. I'll see what I can dig up, either way, your still only going to have 3600 watts of power available.
The only way that could happen is if the rig was equipped with something like an Intellitec power management system. These systems detect power available vs power being consumed and turn off/on RV appliances based on a priority table programmed into the system. They are common on high end motorhomes and I suppose could be found in some 5th wheels and travel trailers.

Power unbalance in the neutral wire is of no consequences since the neutral wire of a 50A RV is perfectly capable of handling a 100% unbalanced load from a 30A shore power supply. The 30/50 adapters do tie both legs of the 50A RV together. Get out your VOM and check it out.
Hohenwald48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 12:08 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Edd505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Elephant Butte, NM
Posts: 1,190
I know nothing of amps, phases, legs, etc but I do know my 50amp 5W has two A/C units and I am able to run either on a 30amp cord but not two. If the outside is cool enough I only run one so I don't have to get out the heavy 50amp cord. Just be aware of what you are using. Want the MW? Shut down the A/C while it runs.

I also run the bedroom during the day and the main at night so I am in the opposite space and the A/C is quieter.
__________________
2017 Durango G353KRT 2006 F350SD 6.0 LB Crew
2000 F250SD SRW 7.3 LB Extended Cab Air Bags
2014 Eagle 30.5BHLT (sold)
2007 Layton 245LF (sold)

Learn from others mistakes, you'll never live long enough to make them all yourself. Eleanor Roosevelt
Edd505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 12:49 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
As to the outlet that not much air is coming out of, you might want to pull that outlet down and take a look inside as much as you can. I have found all kinds of debris in my outlets!
__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 08:50 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Springfield
Posts: 180
Got my camper back from the dealer and 2nd AC wasn't hooked up correctly and service guy said it wouldn't have cooled. Glad I got that fixed before summer.

When running either unit on fan only the low and high settings don't change the speed. Does the speed only work when in cool mode?
estesbubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2016, 05:23 AM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by wags999 View Post
After thinking about this for a while it dawned on me, you probably will have no power coming to the secondary AC while on 30 amp service. You have a single leg of power coming into your unit when on 30 amp and typically they will have the main AC on that leg...the other leg is dead. May be a moot point as to when to run which..
Don't think that is so Wags. I'm on 30 amps in a lot of parks, and I can run either AC. Just not both at the same time. I'm wired for 50 but also have a 30 amp site at home. Can run either AC there as well. Sometimes do when we are loading up for a trip. Not as often any more though after putting up my shed for the unit. Does not get near as hot in it now.
__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2016, 05:39 AM   #29
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,073
If you use a 30-50 adapter to power your 50a rig, everything gets power as it always does. Only problem is it is only 30a. Soon as you draw that the breaker will trip at the pedestal.
__________________

__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.