Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2015, 10:03 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
hoppers4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Port Orchard
Posts: 1,167
What tnchuck100 said. The converter box is the same unit that the fuses and breakers are on.
__________________

__________________
Don
hoppers4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2015, 10:11 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Upperco, Md.
Posts: 802
Your converter box is usually very close or behind your electric panel and fuses. One of your 120 electric breakers feeds power to your converter. there should be a schematic on your electric panel that tells you what each breaker feeds. One should say converter. Normally that breaker feeds only the converter. Other breakers may have multiple uses or a couple different outlets on one breaker. AC is on its own breaker. Microwave has its own breaker. Look your electric panel over close!!
__________________

Ela1948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2015, 10:55 AM   #23
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Toronto
Posts: 18
Ok I understand . Just terminology differences I guess. Right inside my door there's a black box approx 6 x 10 that has all my breakers in it and just below it there's another box about 4 inches away that is about 3 x 10 that has all my fuses in it. I took the 6 x 10 box out of the wall and it has lots of wires going in but I saw no in line fuses there. I have not taken the box with the fuses out of the wall yet. Could the in line fuses be inside the 6 x 10 box? I'm sorry I'm such a pain but trying to learn here
bevisdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2015, 11:57 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
tnchuck100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sparta, TN
Posts: 1,174
Are any of the fuses you are seeing the automotive blade style?
If so, are two of them green (30 amp)?
If yes, is one marked identifiably as reverse polarity protection?
If yes, have you checked it for continuity, not just visually?

This is not likely to be an inline fuse and should not require removal of anything.

I feel 90% sure this is the problem.
__________________
Chuck - Sparta, TN
2012 Jay Flight 22FB, 2 x Honda EU2000i
2013 GMC Yukon XL Denali AWD

EDUCATION is what you get when you read the fine print.....
EXPERIENCE is what you get when you don't.
tnchuck100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2015, 12:05 PM   #25
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Toronto
Posts: 18
Ok i will check it tonight. thank you very much. There are quite a few fuses most seemed to be blue and red but will check
bevisdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 07:36 PM   #26
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Toronto
Posts: 18
Ok I found the converter box and all 3 fuses were blown. I changed them and thought ok problem solved. I even changed the 20 amp fuse on the panel for my furnace. Still won't fire. The blower comes on I can hear the igniter click but no fire. I have propane to the stove. Now what? getting frustrated. Keep in mind everything worked 3 days ago. Help please !!!
bevisdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 07:50 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
tnchuck100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sparta, TN
Posts: 1,174
First, has the electrical issue been resolved? You do have lights with the battery disconnected and shore power on.
__________________
Chuck - Sparta, TN
2012 Jay Flight 22FB, 2 x Honda EU2000i
2013 GMC Yukon XL Denali AWD

EDUCATION is what you get when you read the fine print.....
EXPERIENCE is what you get when you don't.
tnchuck100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 08:50 PM   #28
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Toronto
Posts: 18
I'm thinking no because when this all started (when the batteries were dead) the only thing that worked with the 120V was my tv and microwave. Should I disconnect the batteries and check again ??And if the answer is no they don't work what should I do?
bevisdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 05:36 AM   #29
Senior Member
 
tnchuck100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sparta, TN
Posts: 1,174
I believe the furnace and the electrical problem are two separate issues.

Let's deal with each one at a time. What were the fuses you replaced? Were they as I described? 30 amp?

With all the blown fuses replaced leave the battery disconnected and connect your shore power. Do you have lights?
__________________
Chuck - Sparta, TN
2012 Jay Flight 22FB, 2 x Honda EU2000i
2013 GMC Yukon XL Denali AWD

EDUCATION is what you get when you read the fine print.....
EXPERIENCE is what you get when you don't.
tnchuck100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 07:04 AM   #30
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Toronto
Posts: 18
I replaced the 3 fuses (all 30 amp) on the wires leading into my converter box and the 20 amp fuse for my furnace on the panel. It was not a 30 amp

Still didn't fire.

Right now everything in my camper works, lights etc except the furnace.

I will disconnect the batteries tonight to see if I have lights from the shore power but like I said before when my batteries were dead I did not.

I will post about 8 pm tonight with those results
__________________

bevisdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.