Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2016, 08:24 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 15
2016 Jayco Pinnacle 38FLSA (Brakes)

Help Needed! I have a 2015 Ram 3500 Laramie DRW 4WD truck. When I plug into the trailer it shows it's attached, get brake lights, turn signals and when I press on the brake it shows it sending the signal to the brakes..
If i squeeze the controller to send max power I can just roll my trailer back as if it has no brakes what so ever.
I have 4 option's to choose from in EVIC.. Light Electric, Heavy Electric, Light Electric over Hydraulic and Heavy Electric over Hydraulic.
I only tested with Light and Heavy Electric before returning to the dealership. Will test the other two options Thursday.

Took my trailer to the dealer they couldn't find any issues.. They connected to a Ford and its got brakes, hook it back to my Ram and have no brakes....

I pulled a 2013 Keystone Raptor with this same truck for over 5k miles and never had an issue....

Any other Ram owners seeing or having the same issue? Greatly appreciate any feedback or help.. Our first trip to FL is less then 3 weeks away.
__________________

__________________
2016 Pinnacle 38FLSA
2015 Ram 3500 Turbo-Diesel, Dually, Mega Cab
Reese Titan 16K Fifth Wheel w/Round Tube Slider
RV-IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2016, 08:59 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: smithville, ont.
Posts: 1,746
I'm not a ram owner but I have that issue in my Ford
Ford says there's nothing wrong with it.
I drive it at 10 and have very little braking.
__________________

__________________
2016 North Point 341RLTS
520watts of solar. Morningstar MPPT
2017 F-350 Platinum CC SRW
klassic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2016, 10:49 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
oldmanAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: AZ
Posts: 7,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by RV-IN View Post
Help Needed! I have a 2015 Ram 3500 Laramie DRW 4WD truck. When I plug into the trailer it shows it's attached, get brake lights, turn signals and when I press on the brake it shows it sending the signal to the brakes..
If i squeeze the controller to send max power I can just roll my trailer back as if it has no brakes what so ever.
I have 4 option's to choose from in EVIC.. Light Electric, Heavy Electric, Light Electric over Hydraulic and Heavy Electric over Hydraulic.
I only tested with Light and Heavy Electric before returning to the dealership. Will test the other two options Thursday.

Took my trailer to the dealer they couldn't find any issues.. They connected to a Ford and its got brakes, hook it back to my Ram and have no brakes....

I pulled a 2013 Keystone Raptor with this same truck for over 5k miles and never had an issue....

Any other Ram owners seeing or having the same issue? Greatly appreciate any feedback or help.. Our first trip to FL is less then 3 weeks away.
Have you tried pulling the breakaway switch to set the trailer brakes with the TT battery?
__________________
Sherm & Terry w/rescues Eydie (min Schnauzer) Steve RIP (std Poodle)
2015 Jay Flight 27RLS (Camped: 102 nights '15, 90 nights '16, 70 nights '17 so far)
2006 Ford F350 6.0 PSD, Lariat, 4WD, CC, LB, SRW, auto., Camper pkg.
oldmanAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2016, 10:57 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
oldmanAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: AZ
Posts: 7,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by klassic View Post
I'm not a ram owner but I have that issue in my Ford
Ford says there's nothing wrong with it.
I drive it at 10 and have very little braking.
Are you using the Ford integrated brake controller? If so, IIRC for my '06 when you step on the TV brake pedal, trailer braking is gradually reduced as the vehicle slows down. Manually applying the trailer brakes by using the controller overrides the gradual braking reduction.
__________________
Sherm & Terry w/rescues Eydie (min Schnauzer) Steve RIP (std Poodle)
2015 Jay Flight 27RLS (Camped: 102 nights '15, 90 nights '16, 70 nights '17 so far)
2006 Ford F350 6.0 PSD, Lariat, 4WD, CC, LB, SRW, auto., Camper pkg.
oldmanAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2016, 12:01 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Salem
Posts: 324
My 12 Ram is like that. I recently read that Ram de-rates the voltage at lower speeds which would certainly cause the trailer brakes to not lock up. I do know that if I'm running at 35-?mph and hit the brakes hard for a panic stop the trailer brakes will work. It's really frustrating. I towed the same TT with both my Ram 2500 and a 2010 F150. With the F150 I could set the TBC up like you're supposed to and it was smooth and strong. The Ram feels weak until you have to hammer the brakes.
On a side not I had to take my Ram in for a recall and the dealer said there was a service bulletin for the TBC. I had them do it but haven't towed with it since. Won't know for a month or so if it changed any thing or not.
goducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2016, 06:50 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: smithville, ont.
Posts: 1,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldmanAZ View Post
Are you using the Ford integrated brake controller? If so, IIRC for my '06 when you step on the TV brake pedal, trailer braking is gradually reduced as the vehicle slows down. Manually applying the trailer brakes by using the controller overrides the gradual braking reduction.
When squeezing the controller at 10.. Very little braking
I had an 06 and an 09 that worked perfectly.
__________________
2016 North Point 341RLTS
520watts of solar. Morningstar MPPT
2017 F-350 Platinum CC SRW
klassic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2016, 09:23 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 15
oldmanAZ, Driving a Ram and using the integrated brake controller on my truck. We tested my pinnacle with a Ford on the lot and it worked flawless.. Seems to be an issue with the integrated controller that Ram uses...
__________________
2016 Pinnacle 38FLSA
2015 Ram 3500 Turbo-Diesel, Dually, Mega Cab
Reese Titan 16K Fifth Wheel w/Round Tube Slider
RV-IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2016, 11:12 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 75
I have a 2015 Pinnacle and tow with a 2015 Ram 3500 SRW. I have mine on heavy electric set at 5 and have no issues.
When setting it to heavy electric and then going back in the display it would not be indicated that it was in fact on heavy electric. It took a few tries before it stayed there. I physically have to be hooked up with the cord plugged in or it won't allow you to set the option for what braking you want
Spanky1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2016, 11:46 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 56
There is a long thread on a Ram forum about this issue and the 2015 HD trucks. Supposedly Ram is looking into it but the thread is becoming old and may have just died. I'm having similar issues with my 2015 and would like better guidance than what is being provided.

Brake Controller - DODGE RAM FORUM - Dodge Truck Forums
__________________
2016 Jayco North Point 301RETS, Pullrite Superglide 18k
2015 Ram 3500 CC SRW 6.4 Hemi w/4.10 RA
yellowdog00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 11:53 PM   #10
Member
 
Widows Son's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Broomfield, CO
Posts: 84
I have my Ram on heavy electric set at 6 on the IBC. No issues. Use max manual to test for proper hitch locking and it doesn't move. Not sure if anything is different between the 2014 and 2015.
__________________

__________________
2014 Dodge 3500HD Cummins Crew Cab, Dually, Aisin, 3.73, 4x4, Long bed, Curt Q20. Appliance White!
2015 Jayco Eagle 339 FLQS
Widows Son is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.