Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2016, 11:38 PM   #41
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: St. Augustine FL
Posts: 17
Limited to about 200 watts? Uh oh...

I'd heard that the solar prep on some 5th wheels was limited, so when I was at the Tampa show I asked the Jayco employee that was there about limits that there may be in regards to the number of panels or amp/watts on the solar prep due to the wiring or any other factors. He said he wasn't sure but could call the engineer that did the design work and get an answer. He met up with us about 15 minutes later and said he'd spoken to the engineer and was told that the system could handle whatever we wanted. I specifically mentioned 400-600 watts of panels.....his reply was something along the lines of "Yep, no problem".

Sounds like I need to check again and verify that, lol.
__________________

kmergen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2016, 07:05 AM   #42
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 781
Quote:
Originally Posted by klassic View Post
???
It goes direct from the panels to the battery?
Yep. Not very well thought out\engineered.

More of a marketing ploy, if you ask me.

I would not want to charge my batteries uncontrolled and I sure would have liked to run more than (two) 100 watt panels.

These were the limits I found in the marketing literature. It was not specific which models or make any exclusions either.
__________________

__________________
2016 Jayco Eagle 330RSTS = "Madame Maxime"
Maxxis M8008 E rated Tires and 16" Wheel Upgrade
Dual A/C 15K BTU, 14K Equalizer WD hitch with SC
King Bed with Java Interior, (2X) Yamaha EF2000isV2
2012 Ram 4500, 6.7L Cummins Turbo Diesel, MegaCab = "Hagrid"
8'x12' BMCM Stake Bed, Cabin Chassis, 2WD
360 degree Virtual Tour
Fairenatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2016, 09:02 AM   #43
Senior Member
 
Kahoneys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: LaCrescent, MN
Posts: 392
my connection and literature says max of 20 watts not 200!!
__________________
2016 Northpoint 377rlbh
2016 Chevy 3500HD LTZ Diesel
Pullrite Super Glide
Beautiful Wife and Beautiful 4 YO Daughter
Kahoneys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2016, 09:26 AM   #44
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: smithville, ont.
Posts: 1,746
Are we talking about the roof connection? Or the side connection?
Where is this literature?
__________________
2016 North Point 341RLTS
520watts of solar. Morningstar MPPT
2017 F-350 Platinum CC SRW
klassic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2016, 02:27 PM   #45
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: smithville, ont.
Posts: 1,746
I went to the rig for a look.

The GoPower label fixed to your back wall is the cut out template for the controller that you NEED for the solar panels (if your using the ultra over priced GoPower kit) Read the bottom yellow sentence on the label.

The 8ga wires are hanging behind the wall. *Second picture*
The 8ga white (negative) goes to the converter negative ground, I'm assuming (I don't feel like following it)
The 8ga red (positive) goes to the battery power area and is attached to the breaker. *center of bottom picture*

I don't know how long the wire coming from the roof is but I assume 20', it should handle at least 20-30 amps. Someone on here that is solar savy can verify.





__________________
2016 North Point 341RLTS
520watts of solar. Morningstar MPPT
2017 F-350 Platinum CC SRW
klassic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2016, 04:33 PM   #46
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: North Greenbush, NY
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kahoneys View Post
I am of the understanding that the wire plug on the roof goes directly to the converter to trickle charge the battery.
No. You can't do that. The panels HAVE to go to an inverter. My panels put out 39.4V DC, with an amperage based on solar input. The inverter converts it to 12V DC to charge batteries. The cables vale to go CLOSE to the batteries, but they cannot connect direct.
Fire_Instructor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2016, 07:21 AM   #47
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: North Greenbush, NY
Posts: 642
Another question for the 377RLBH owners...

Have any of you installed, or found the need to install JT Strongarms (or similar product) to minimize movement?
__________________

Fire_Instructor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.