Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2016, 06:21 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Palmyra
Posts: 125
2016 Pinnacle 36FBTS Hydraulic slide abruptly stops

My wife is cleaning the Pinnacle getting for ready for our next trip. We are experiencing an issue on the dining side ( hydraulic) slide.

Whether we use the switch in the control panel or the remote to bring in the slide, it abruptly stops. I am able to get it to resume coming in by letting my finger off of the switch / remote and then reapplying pressure.

The last time we brought it in it stopped twice. Each time it stops, we hear a clicking in the fuse panel.

Has anyone experienced this issue. We are going away for 17 days at the end of next week. I am concerned it may fail while we are away. I would appreciate hearing anyone's experiences.
__________________

__________________
2016 Jayco Pinnacle 36FBTS
vivusCraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2016, 07:06 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,045
#1 it's not hydraulic, JAYCO only uses elec. Sounds like something is causing it to bind slightly. Are you level, front to back and side to side.
__________________

__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2016, 07:11 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Palmyra
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpy View Post
#1 it's not hydraulic, JAYCO only uses elec. Sounds like something is causing it to bind slightly. Are you level, front to back and side to side.
Yes, Grumpy, absolutely level, both sides. It stops, there is a clicking sound in the fuse panel. I start the process again and it continues. It has stopped twice while bringing it in. I have so far been able to get it in.
__________________
2016 Jayco Pinnacle 36FBTS
vivusCraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2016, 07:26 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,045
2nd question are you on shore power? If not could be a low battery, they require fully charged battery to function as well.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2016, 07:37 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Palmyra
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpy View Post
2nd question are you on shore power? If not could be a low battery, they require fully charged battery to function as well.
Yea, on shore power. Good question for sure.
__________________
2016 Jayco Pinnacle 36FBTS
vivusCraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 10:01 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Mills River
Posts: 208
The clicking makes me think of an auto resetting 12 volt circuit breaker. Gets hot and trips, but then resets with a click and you can use it again.

On our old travel trailer, we had this happen with the slides. I know the Jayco is electric. On our old TT, the circuit breaker went to the hydraulic pump for the slides. It got hot and would trip, then reset after a few seconds. Went from once per slide cycle to several times. I replaced it and had no more issues. Was like $7 at the auto parts store. I have read that once they start tripping, they get weaker and weaker....
__________________
2003 GMC Serria 2500HD - Lotsa Mods.
2016 355MBQS
rsday75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 01:33 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Palmyra
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsday75 View Post
The clicking makes me think of an auto resetting 12 volt circuit breaker. Gets hot and trips, but then resets with a click and you can use it again.

On our old travel trailer, we had this happen with the slides. I know the Jayco is electric. On our old TT, the circuit breaker went to the hydraulic pump for the slides. It got hot and would trip, then reset after a few seconds. Went from once per slide cycle to several times. I replaced it and had no more issues. Was like $7 at the auto parts store. I have read that once they start tripping, they get weaker and weaker....
Thanks RSDay75. I think it is something like that. I sent an email to our RV Service folks. They mentioned in their response that it could be an undersized breaker for that circuit. Apparently, they just received a recall notice from Jayco. He was going to check if my vin# was on the recall list.

Was it difficult to replace the breaker yourself? Did it take very long to do? Our dealer is about 65 miles away so I am doing my best to limit the number of trips we make.
__________________
2016 Jayco Pinnacle 36FBTS
vivusCraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 01:49 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Mills River
Posts: 208
Took about 10 minutes to change. Most of that was getting the circuit breaker loose from the frame of the TT. It is a small thing, but our was mounted outside under the TT frame, and the selftapping screws had rusted pretty good. Actually changing the breaker is 2 nuts. Doesn't matter which way it goes. That part was less than a minute.
__________________
2003 GMC Serria 2500HD - Lotsa Mods.
2016 355MBQS
rsday75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 02:33 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Palmyra
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsday75 View Post
Took about 10 minutes to change. Most of that was getting the circuit breaker loose from the frame of the TT. It is a small thing, but our was mounted outside under the TT frame, and the selftapping screws had rusted pretty good. Actually changing the breaker is 2 nuts. Doesn't matter which way it goes. That part was less than a minute.
Thank RSDay75. So it would probably be a matter of identifying the circuit. Locating a new breaker that would work in our fw, removing the old one. Installing the new.

I will wait to hear back from our RV Service people to see what they advise.

Will keep everyone posted.
__________________
2016 Jayco Pinnacle 36FBTS
vivusCraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 05:56 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Palmyra
Posts: 125
Auto Reset 20 amp breaker blade type

I looked in the fuse box. The breaker for the troublesome slide is an Auto Reset 20 amp breaker blade type.

I talked to the RV Service. They said that is likely the culprit. It is probably going bad. I would rather not make the 65 mile drive for them to pull the breaker out and replace it.

They indicated I could find it at an auto store.

Well, so far, I have not been able to locate this kind of a breaker at the couple of local Auto stores I have called.

Also, I am a little intimidated about pulling it out. I am not sure how much force to use and the right tool to use to do it.

Has anyone replaced this kind of breaker before? If so, any insights on where I could find one that matches what we have in our fuse box would be appreciated. Also, what tools did you use? How much force did you apply?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
2016 Jayco Pinnacle 36FBTS
vivusCraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hydraulic slide, pinnacle 36fbts

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.