Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2020, 07:52 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Houston
Posts: 6
3 A/C Units - Front and Back Units

I have a 2016 Pinnacle FLSA with 3 factory installed AC Units (I live in Texas so it's hot and a must!). Per design, the front and back units can not run at the same time and alternate. Recently the front unit won't come on unless I "trick" it. The trick is...turn the back unit on and set it down 1 degree, it will come on, cool the 1 degree and when it cycles off, the front one will usually cycle on. It's like the front unit won't come on because it thinks the back unit is running. Anyone else have this issue? Any suggestions?

All three units cool well (although after reading these forums I'm going to follow the youtube video about the barrier) so it's not a cooling problem - it's just getting the front unit to think it's ok to cycle on. This just recently started. I got up on the roof and took the cover off all three units, cleaned them up really good and no wiring, loose wires or cracked insulation/wire issues.

Thank you in advance.
rlw1210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2020, 08:06 PM   #2
Site Team
 
JFlightRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Newark, NY
Posts: 8,891
It sounds like somewhere in that power system is a control module, designed to share the power available from one circuit breaker, between two heavy loads. It may be malfunctioning. I have no idea where it may be on your rig, but maybe someone else here knows.
__________________
Every day's a learning experience, though sometimes not what we expected.

2012 Jay Flight 19RD
2016 Ford F150 XLT 2X4 SC 3.5L Eco Max Tow
2010 Tundra TRD DBL Cab (Traded)
1 Spoiled Dog
JFlightRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 11:46 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Packerbacker_TX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Austin
Posts: 333
Micro Air

Quote:
Originally Posted by rlw1210 View Post
I have a 2016 Pinnacle FLSA with 3 factory installed AC Units (I live in Texas so it's hot and a must!). Per design, the front and back units can not run at the same time and alternate. Recently the front unit won't come on unless I "trick" it. The trick is...turn the back unit on and set it down 1 degree, it will come on, cool the 1 degree and when it cycles off, the front one will usually cycle on. It's like the front unit won't come on because it thinks the back unit is running. Anyone else have this issue? Any suggestions?

All three units cool well (although after reading these forums I'm going to follow the youtube video about the barrier) so it's not a cooling problem - it's just getting the front unit to think it's ok to cycle on. This just recently started. I got up on the roof and took the cover off all three units, cleaned them up really good and no wiring, loose wires or cracked insulation/wire issues.

Thank you in advance.

3 AC units.. wow. Must be a monster of a rig to need 3. My suggestion would be to invest in a few Micro Air Soft Start modules. They're inline, easy to install and reduce the total startup wattage. I suspect this may allow you to run all 3 if it ever gets over 110'F LOL.



Good Luck
__________________
Let's go camping!
Packerbacker_TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 12:01 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Houston
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Packerbacker_TX View Post
3 AC units.. wow. Must be a monster of a rig to need 3. My suggestion would be to invest in a few Micro Air Soft Start modules. They're inline, easy to install and reduce the total startup wattage. I suspect this may allow you to run all 3 if it ever gets over 110'F LOL.



Good Luck
It is a monster....during the heat of the day both units run (given that by design only two units can run at a time) and the best it can do is keep it at 80-ish degrees inside. I'll look into the Micro Air Soft Start modules - thanks for the suggestion.
rlw1210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 12:03 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Bookemdanno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: DFW
Posts: 3,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by Packerbacker_TX View Post
3 AC units.. wow. Must be a monster of a rig to need 3. My suggestion would be to invest in a few Micro Air Soft Start modules. They're inline, easy to install and reduce the total startup wattage. I suspect this may allow you to run all 3 if it ever gets over 110'F LOL.



Good Luck

He beat me to it! I have them on both my units and I can runs both a/cís and the residential fridge on 30 amp. There not cheap, but worth it if you want all your a/cís to run!
__________________
Dan
'16 Ram 3500 MC CTD Dually, 4:10 rear
'14 Ram 2500 MC CTD (gone)
'14 287BHBE (gone)
'16 North Point 377RLBH (current and hopefully last)
Bookemdanno is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 07:11 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Missouri City, The Republic of Texas
Posts: 4,418
I would expect the gizmo that keeps the two from running at the same time would have to be removed if you install soft starts before they would work together.
__________________
Cheers,
T_

2013 F-350 CC SB 2WD 6.7PS
2013 Eagle Premier 351 RLTS
-SOLD- 2012 X23B
-SOLD- 2003 Ford Expedition 5.4, Bilstein shocks
RedHorse1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2020, 09:14 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Corinth
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlw1210 View Post
I have a 2016 Pinnacle FLSA with 3 factory installed AC Units (I live in Texas so it's hot and a must!). Per design, the front and back units can not run at the same time and alternate. Recently the front unit won't come on unless I "trick" it. The trick is...turn the back unit on and set it down 1 degree, it will come on, cool the 1 degree and when it cycles off, the front one will usually cycle on. It's like the front unit won't come on because it thinks the back unit is running. Anyone else have this issue? Any suggestions?

All three units cool well (although after reading these forums I'm going to follow the youtube video about the barrier) so it's not a cooling problem - it's just getting the front unit to think it's ok to cycle on. This just recently started. I got up on the roof and took the cover off all three units, cleaned them up really good and no wiring, loose wires or cracked insulation/wire issues.

Thank you in advance.
I use to have this exact fifth wheel and there is a relay behind the electrical panel that cycles the front and rear unit. Mine went out and I had to replace it. The trick is you have to pull the whole electrical panel out. Luckily there is enough slack in all the wires that you are able to pull the panel forward and set it on the ground. You will see the box screwed to the floor with the relay in it. You will have one romex coming from the panel and two pieces of romex leaving the box and going to the each AC unit. Make sure you turn the power off.
Chris Wendt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2020, 04:29 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Houston
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Wendt View Post
I use to have this exact fifth wheel and there is a relay behind the electrical panel that cycles the front and rear unit. Mine went out and I had to replace it. The trick is you have to pull the whole electrical panel out. Luckily there is enough slack in all the wires that you are able to pull the panel forward and set it on the ground. You will see the box screwed to the floor with the relay in it. You will have one romex coming from the panel and two pieces of romex leaving the box and going to the each AC unit. Make sure you turn the power off.
Thank you! You don't by chance remember the part number or anything for this relay do you? Or, where did you get your replacement relay?
rlw1210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2020, 04:47 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Houston
Posts: 6
I just found a similar thread: https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/f...lem-47999.html
rlw1210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2020, 04:56 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Corinth
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlw1210 View Post
Thank you! You don't by chance remember the part number or anything for this relay do you? Or, where did you get your replacement relay?
Precision circuits
630-515-9100
Called a powered shared switch
J.charest@precisioncircuitsinc.com
Hope this helps
Chris Wendt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air conditioner, thermostat

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.