Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 02-12-2024, 06:14 PM   #1

317RLOK leveling jacks

Greetings fellow 317RLOK owners. I have a 2022 317RLOK. I wonder if somebody could help me. I am new to the 5th wheel camper scene. I had a 2500 RAM 3/4 ton truck. It swayed a bit more than I was comfortable with. I traded it on a 3500 RAM 1 ton. The 3500 sits higher than the 2500. I need to raise the front of the camper about 10 inches or so to hook it to the 3500. When I parked it, I didn't extend the leveling jack pinned extensions before unhooking the 2500. (OK, foolish I know, but as I said I am a novice, live and learn, I hope) Therefore the leveling Jacks are almost at the end of their stroke and I don't have enough jack left to raise the front to accommodate the 3500. What I was hoping to do is to lift the Jack's thereby lowering the trailer and retract the Jacks so I can drop the pinned extensions and give myself the ability to lift the front of the camper. My jack control pad does not have an option to lower and raise the entire camper in increments. Can I press the RETRACT ALL button and stop the retraction somehow, thereby controlling the extension of the Jacks? I also need to retract the rear jacks separate from the front so it sits on the tires as I do this.
How do I stop the automatic all retract function? Press RETRACT ALL again?
Dakota Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2024, 08:06 AM   #2

I don't believe you can ( or would want to) do what you are suggesting. The landing gear is below the front edge of the RV so they will never lift off of the ground. If they did, resting the weight of the RV on the front edge would crush it. You should be able to hit the retract all and then raise the front which may give you enough height once the rear drops onto the tires. If not, couple of options