Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 02-19-2016, 07:18 AM   #1

5th wheel hitch

Not sure how to ask. I purchased a new Jayco 31.5 FBHS back in 2012. It is my first experience at towing a 5th wheel thus I have no experience to compare too. I have the Reese Revolution on the 5er and a Reese hitch (nothing fancy just what the dealer sold me) in the bed of my truck. What I’ve learned is: The ride is smooth when on a smooth road. When on a “wavy” road, I get beat up. (By wavy, I don’t mean rough, or potholes, etc just not smooth and level) One twenty mile stretch of county blacktop road near my home that I did travel on, I now travel six miles out of the way to avoid.

My question is: Is there a different type of hitch I can install in my tow vehicle to absorb some of the shock?
Shorty Cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2016, 07:23 AM   #2

What is the tow vehicle?
2015 Jayflight 28 BHBE (sold)
2009 Jayflight 26 BH (sold)
hboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2016, 07:37 AM   #3

It is a Duramax.
Old 02-19-2016, 12:36 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shorty Cox View Post
Not sure how to ask. I purchased a new Jayco 31.5 FBHS back in 2012. It is my first experience at towing a 5th wheel thus I have no experience to compare too. I have the Reese Revolution on the 5er and a Reese hitch (nothing fancy just what the dealer sold me) in the bed of my truck. What I’ve learned is: The ride is smooth when on a smooth road. When on a “wavy” road, I get beat up. (By wavy, I don’t mean rough, or potholes, etc just not smooth and level) One twenty mile stretch of county blacktop road near my home that I did travel on, I now travel six miles out of the way to avoid.

My question is: Is there a different type of hitch I can install in my tow vehicle to absorb some of the shock?