Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2020, 06:58 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Grand Rapids
Posts: 261
A/C - is Coleman Mach 15 a drop-in replacement for Mach 3

I need to replace the OEM Mach 3 (13,500 BTU). We only have 1 A/C, so I would like to put in the more powerful Mach 15 (15,000 BTU). It is only about a hundred bucks more than a Mach 3, I found one for less than $600.

I looked at the two installation instructions, they use the same illustrations. No pictures of the wiring, is the wiring identical?

Anything I should know before I DIY this upgrade?
__________________
2015 Eagle HT 28.5 RSTS
2013 Silverado 2500HD Duramax
DavidJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 07:30 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 10,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidJay View Post
I need to replace the OEM Mach 3 (13,500 BTU). We only have 1 A/C, so I would like to put in the more powerful Mach 15 (15,000 BTU). It is only about a hundred bucks more than a Mach 3, I found one for less than $600.

I looked at the two installation instructions, they use the same illustrations. No pictures of the wiring, is the wiring identical?

Anything I should know before I DIY this upgrade?
You need to be sure they both use the same ceiling assembly & control box. I would call AIRXCEL tomorrow and ask them to be sure. If they are both the same all you will need to buy is the unit. It will be plug & play
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 07:42 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Grand Rapids
Posts: 261
Both units use the same part number for ceiling assembly (from the installation manuals on the website).
__________________
2015 Eagle HT 28.5 RSTS
2013 Silverado 2500HD Duramax
DavidJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 07:48 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 10,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidJay View Post
Both units use the same part number for ceiling assembly (from the installation manuals on the website).
Then it will be a simple swap. The control box comes with the ceiling assembly which you won't need as long as it matches your current model #. Only hard part will be getting the old one off the roof and the new one on the roof. Just be sure you don't over tighten the hold down bolts and flatten the gasket.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.