Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2012, 08:08 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
drfife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob_Fla View Post
Jayco' response is below.....
While I respect Jayco's expert advise, I suspect their lack of AC outlet ducts contributes to the problem you are experiencing.

Hopefully, they will realize their design flaw and add additional outlets to aid in rectifing the issue in future models.
__________________

__________________
Russell
'13 Excel Winslow 34IKE
'12 GMC Sierra 3500HD
Previous RV's: '03 MobileScout Titan 29DBS; '01 Sunnybrook Lite 2708 SLE; '99 Coleman Utah
Previous TV's: '02 Chevy Suburban 2500 8.1 4.10; '99 Chevy Express 1500 5.7
drfife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 08:12 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: "Where we Park It"
Posts: 1,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by drfife View Post
While I respect Jayco's expert advise, I suspect their lack of AC outlet ducts contributes to the problem you are experiencing.

Hopefully, they will realize their design flaw and add additional outlets to aid in rectifing the issue in future models.
I would agree, the answer sounded like "It is yours now, do not bother us, we will not change it!"
__________________

__________________
Robert & Bale the "Traveling Dog"
SOB
2012 GMC 3500HD DRW
Rob_Fla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 08:32 PM   #23
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,057
Knock wood but we have not had any problems like this yet. I hope to give it a good workout this month to see if we have any freeze up problems.
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 08:32 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
drfife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob_Fla View Post
I would agree, the answer sounded like "It is yours now, do not bother us, we will not change it!"
We have a 15K AC. We've been to Florida and many other hot, humid places. We run the AC on high, all day, every day in these areas. The only time it is on low fan is at night while we sleep.

The only times the AC freezes up is when the filter is very dirty. When I change the filter (which improves air movement and flow) the problem goes away.
__________________
Russell
'13 Excel Winslow 34IKE
'12 GMC Sierra 3500HD
Previous RV's: '03 MobileScout Titan 29DBS; '01 Sunnybrook Lite 2708 SLE; '99 Coleman Utah
Previous TV's: '02 Chevy Suburban 2500 8.1 4.10; '99 Chevy Express 1500 5.7
drfife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 05:36 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
edatlanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maplesville, AL - Home Base
Posts: 2,524
I spent last summer in Florida on the gulf coast where I am right now and my 15K unit runs on high all the time. It has never frozen up and the smaller bedroom unit hasn't either. No problems here at all.
__________________
Ed
KM4STL

2006 GMC 2500HD CCSB 4x4 Duramax/Allison, Titan 52 gallon fuel tank, Prodigy Controller, B&W Companion Hitch
2010 Jayco Designer 35RLTS, Cummins/Onan RV QG 5500 EVAP, Progressive Industries EMS-PT50C, TST Systems 507 TPMS, RV Flex Armor Roof
edatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 02:03 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: "Where we Park It"
Posts: 1,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by edatlanta View Post
I spent last summer in Florida on the gulf coast where I am right now and my 15K unit runs on high all the time. It has never frozen up and the smaller bedroom unit hasn't either. No problems here at all.
Ed,

Does you Deisgners Front A/C only have one duct line or does it have two (One on both sides like the rear one)?

Our Front A/C is a 13.5k and only has one duct line on the bed side of the room and only had one ceiling vent in the bedroom area.
I added a second ceiling vent in the bedroom area.
__________________
Robert & Bale the "Traveling Dog"
SOB
2012 GMC 3500HD DRW
Rob_Fla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 08:20 PM   #27
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Rob,
have you tried removing the grill and making sure the bolts holding the unit in are tight. I had the exact same problem in a TT I used to own..It froze up and I called my dealer who instructed me to tighten the 4 bolts in a criss-cross pattern but not too tight..Appears the bolts had gotten loose and was letting outside air in.

Tightened bolts and it never froze up again..

Tommy
tmb4971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 08:36 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
edatlanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maplesville, AL - Home Base
Posts: 2,524
I only have one vent in my bedroom and one in the bath. Both of my a/c's are hooked to the same duct line. If only one is running I get a little air on the other end of the duct. Some days, like today, the front a/c was running on and off and was enough to cool the rear as well. I am facing south.
__________________
Ed
KM4STL

2006 GMC 2500HD CCSB 4x4 Duramax/Allison, Titan 52 gallon fuel tank, Prodigy Controller, B&W Companion Hitch
2010 Jayco Designer 35RLTS, Cummins/Onan RV QG 5500 EVAP, Progressive Industries EMS-PT50C, TST Systems 507 TPMS, RV Flex Armor Roof
edatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 08:37 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: "Where we Park It"
Posts: 1,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmb4971 View Post
Rob,
have you tried removing the grill and making sure the bolts holding the unit in are tight. I had the exact same problem in a TT I used to own..It froze up and I called my dealer who instructed me to tighten the 4 bolts in a criss-cross pattern but not too tight..Appears the bolts had gotten loose and was letting outside air in.

Tightened bolts and it never froze up again..

Tommy
Tommy,

I tightened up the A/C bolts a few months back shortly after we bought our Pinnacle, they were quite loose. I have rechecked them again recently and they are still tight.

Thanks for the response and info.
__________________
Robert & Bale the "Traveling Dog"
SOB
2012 GMC 3500HD DRW
Rob_Fla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 08:41 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
edatlanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maplesville, AL - Home Base
Posts: 2,524
Rob, After about a year I started having a small water drip from my rear a/c onto the carpet. I took the grill off and tightened the 4 corner screws down a bit. The gasket the a/c sits on is approx 1 inch thick initially. The weight of the a/c had compressed it down enough that the screws weren't holding it at all. Be careful to not tighten then too much. You want plenty of cushion left. When the gasket fully compresses after a few years it has to be replaced.
__________________

__________________
Ed
KM4STL

2006 GMC 2500HD CCSB 4x4 Duramax/Allison, Titan 52 gallon fuel tank, Prodigy Controller, B&W Companion Hitch
2010 Jayco Designer 35RLTS, Cummins/Onan RV QG 5500 EVAP, Progressive Industries EMS-PT50C, TST Systems 507 TPMS, RV Flex Armor Roof
edatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.