Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-26-2017, 12:01 PM   #1

Black Tank Flush Hose

So I'm new to camping with RV's and I'm watching some youtube videos. One in particular shows the process of emptying and flushing the black tank. The person in the video had two separate hoses (white/fresh & orange/black) they used. Instead of using the same white hose to flush, they disconnected and used orange hose for flushing the black tank. Being a newbie, I ordered two hoses to do the same thing.

The orange hose came with a separate screw on black back flush valve to prevent something from coming back. I'm not clear on what you'd need that for but it's on there just in case. So I used this a few times to flush my black tank and I'm thinking about the process.

* Attach hose
* Turn on water
* Fill/flush black tank
* Turn off water
* Disconnect hose

Based on this, I'm wondering WHY I need two hoses? Obviously the black tank is dirty but the water used to flush is clean and coming through a clean line. The only way water MIGHT come back out is to overfill the black tank and I think that's more of an issue than what might come back out the flush connection. That said, all you're doing is adding water to a tank to flush it. The result is debris out the pipe and down the drain. Why not just use the same white hose you use for city water? It's not like anything dirty is touching the hose.

Bonus question/related: When I empty the black, I flush with clean water (black flush). Once it runs clear, I dump the galley (gray) behind it to flush that. I have rubber gloves but wonder if those are overkill as well. I'm touching the outside of the hose and stuffing it in the back bumper. Do I still need gloves?
Old 09-26-2017, 12:14 PM   #2