Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2024, 01:42 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Shenandoah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Livingston
Posts: 14
Cabin Lights Don't work.

We use our 2021 Eagle HT 25.5 REOK on weekends out in the country.

The other day the main cabin lights wouldn't come on. They're LED, and there are 6 of them all on the same switch.

Quick troubleshooting I checked the fuses - all good. I swapped the fuse for the main cabin and the hallway light (which works), because I've had seemingly good fuses be bad.

Then I pulled the switches off the wall. There are 3 together; main cabin lights, hall light and awning lights. Swapping the lead proved that the switches were all functional.

I asked Jayco for the schematics or wiring diagrams as the trailer is 3 years old now. All they could provide were what I know as Equipment Layout Line Drawings that show where things are located but not how anything is wired. Very disappointing.

Before I start ripping into things does anyone have any information or ideas that would help.

Thanks for your trouble.
Shenandoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2024, 02:10 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
craigav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: North Texas
Posts: 3,782
Were you able to check for voltage at the switches? That is where I would start checking and if there is voltage at the switches then I would check the first light that isn't working that is closest to the switches as in most cases the lights are daisy chained starting at the first in line going to the last light in line. ~CA
__________________
2010 GreyHawk 31SS
craigav is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2024, 02:31 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
Location: Wharton
Posts: 280
Do you have the battery operated BTooth switches or are they hard wired?
__________________
2004 Fleetwood Prowler 295BHS
2023 Jayco Eagle 355 MBQS
2022 Ford F350 SRW CCSB 6.7
Nevr2late is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2024, 02:38 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Shenandoah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Livingston
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigav View Post
Were you able to check for voltage at the switches? ~CA
Yes, there is power at the switches. I haven't checked to see if the switches were momentary which would mean there's a latching relay somewhere...

And I considered that maybe things were wired like old-fashioned Christmas tree lights, but I thought I'd wait until I contacted Jayco for a wiring diagram before making that assumption. However, Jayco claims they don't have that information.
Shenandoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2024, 02:44 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Shenandoah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Livingston
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevr2late View Post
Do you have the battery operated BTooth switches or are they hard wired?
My initial thought was that they were hard-wired, but no.

I can operate them via a Jaycommand app on my phone (although I haven't tried to do that since the problem occurred), so they are most likely Bluetooth switches.
Shenandoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2024, 02:45 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
craigav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: North Texas
Posts: 3,782
[QUOTE=Shenandoah;1159715]
Quote:

Yes, there is power at the switches. I haven't checked to see if the switches were momentary which would mean there's a latching relay somewhere...

And I considered that maybe things were wired like old-fashioned Christmas tree lights, but I thought I'd wait until I contacted Jayco for a wiring diagram before making that assumption. However, Jayco claims they don't have that information.
I had a similar issue and the wiring is not in "series" like many christmas lights are, they are in parallel with both a + and - to the first light and then the next light is wired into the previous light and the next for all along the chain. Mine used wire nuts and the first light's wire nut connecting incoming wire, the light itself, and the outgoing wire (to the next light) had come loose (three wires under the wire nut). ~CA
__________________
2010 GreyHawk 31SS
craigav is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2024, 02:53 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Shenandoah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Livingston
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigav View Post
Mine used wire nuts and the first light's wire nut connecting incoming wire, ... had come loose (three wires under the wire nut). ~CA
I'll have to check, when I was swapping the switch leads one of the crimp connectors fell off and I had to replace it, so I would be surprised to find something like that.
Shenandoah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2024, 04:12 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
Location: Wharton
Posts: 280
If you have BTooth switches then the only power at the switches will be battery power. To check the switch power, go to the BMPro home page and hit the little gear in the upper right to bring up settings. Go down to Battery Levels and all the BTooth switches should be listed including light, fridge temp, tire pressure, propane, etc. Press each wall light switch and it will show battery ok if it is communicating with the node.
Nevr2late is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2024, 05:07 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
jetlag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Vanceboro
Posts: 2,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevr2late View Post
If you have BTooth switches then the only power at the switches will be battery power. To check the switch power, go to the BMPro home page and hit the little gear in the upper right to bring up settings. Go down to Battery Levels and all the BTooth switches should be listed including light, fridge temp, tire pressure, propane, etc. Press each wall light switch and it will show battery ok if it is communicating with the node.

I had the bedroom reading lights, two of them in the slide, quit one day months back while opening the slide. I had all the lights on via the #1 button on the tablet, and why I noticed. I was, am, thinking it might be a pinched wire, or come lose. Fast forward to our trip just concluded, and my wife asked which lights I had mentioned were not working. Of course, they are now working, and we have 2 switches in the bedroom to control them. Moral of the story is I never though of checking the battery levels on the Tablet, although it would show an error on the lights page if turned on. The issue may still be there, who knows, but they are working and the battery levels are all good via the phone app.
__________________
2021 Ram Laramie 3500 SRW Air ride 50Gal fuel tank.
2021 Jayco Pinnacle 36FBTS, Andersen Ultimate Hitch
jetlag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2024, 06:41 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
Location: Wharton
Posts: 280
The #1 button only controls the lights that are controlled by the node via BTooth. The lights that have hard wired wall switches or local on-light switches are not controlled by the #1 button or the node. We have several of those including all reading lights over beds or couches, all of the lights in the mid-bunk room, the lights in the bathroom, coffee bar, and next to the stove. The switches look like small black paddle switches.
Nevr2late is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2024, 01:03 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
jetlag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Vanceboro
Posts: 2,126
It may be, since I went out to confirm what you said, and the damn things are out again, however, all the camper switches are the same, battery powered and bluetooth. Each has about 6 different things they control. We do have a few hard wired buttons, such as the paddle fan. We have one in the bedroom wall and another by the bed on one side
__________________
2021 Ram Laramie 3500 SRW Air ride 50Gal fuel tank.
2021 Jayco Pinnacle 36FBTS, Andersen Ultimate Hitch
jetlag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2024, 04:11 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
Location: Wharton
Posts: 280
If the lights work using the tablet or app but not by the wall switch then you definitely have a battery issue in the switch.
Nevr2late is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2024, 03:35 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
jetlag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Vanceboro
Posts: 2,126
No, they are out totally regardless. The light icon shows a fault icon on the tablet and phone App. I think there may be a loose/pinched wire somewhere?
__________________
2021 Ram Laramie 3500 SRW Air ride 50Gal fuel tank.
2021 Jayco Pinnacle 36FBTS, Andersen Ultimate Hitch
jetlag is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
diagram, light, schematic, wiring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.