Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2013, 07:33 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 33
Cable TV Problem

I own a Jayco 365 BHS and this is our maiden voyage with this new unit. I am having a cable TV problem. We are at a campsite and the signal is good up to our unit however picture on all TV's is grainy and not clear> All TV's are programed for cable. Any suggestions would be helpful.
__________________

Trynforpar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 07:44 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
RoyBraddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,396
When on CABLE make sure the black push button on the antenna panel is OFF (no light on). This is only ON when using the OTA BATWING antenna on the roof.

Perhaps this is ON and killing your cable signal somewhat. You also must be in CABLE MODE on the TV menu settings (Not ANTENNA) and scan in the camp ground cable TV signals... Sometimes it is the camp ground. For a quick check to make sure it isn't you inside cables etc just run the RG cable in thru your door and connect directly to your TV SET bypassing everything inthe trailer. Might give you a clue as to what is happening.. If it is a bad picture hooking up directly to the pedstal CABLE connections not much you can do unless the RG extension cable you are using is bad


Hope this helps...

Roy Ken
__________________

__________________
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA
RETIRED DOD DOAF DON CONTRACTOR Electronics Tech 42YRS

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 06:03 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 33
Cable Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyBraddy View Post
When on CABLE make sure the black push button on the antenna panel is OFF (no light on). This is only ON when using the OTA BATWING antenna on the roof.

Perhaps this is ON and killing your cable signal somewhat. You also must be in CABLE MODE on the TV menu settings (Not ANTENNA) and scan in the camp ground cable TV signals... Sometimes it is the camp ground. For a quick check to make sure it isn't you inside cables etc just run the RG cable in thru your door and connect directly to your TV SET bypassing everything inthe trailer. Might give you a clue as to what is happening.. If it is a bad picture hooking up directly to the pedstal CABLE connections not much you can do unless the RG extension cable you are using is bad


Hope this helps...

Roy Ken
Thanks for the response. I actually saw a light on in the cabinet and never thought it had anything to do with the cable. Thanks again.
Trynforpar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 07:10 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
krackeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 843
Like RoyBrady said. I have found that 2 different things happen with cable and campgrounds. First, it may be your cable coming from the box to your TT. They don't seem to last 2 long exposed to the weather. Second, it may be the cg cable box. Also exposed to the weather. If a new cable doesn't work, contact the cg to have them check their box. Also, re-scan everytime you go. Doesn't take long and if they added or deleted any channels, it will take care of that. LCD and LED tv's don't have the greatest picture without an HD signal. When I scan, I always mark the local HD stations as favorites, because their picture is so much better than the others. If the cg has cable, you will always get a few HD stations. I get 5 or 6 where I stay.
__________________
2012 Jayco 32 TSBH
Stored in Myrtle Beach/Surfside SC
2006 Tundra DC with tow package
No TV since Tundra can't do it

krackeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 03:30 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,037
All it takes is a loose connection some where to cause problems. I would pull all the face plates and check the connection on the back to be sure they are tight.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 04:00 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 124
I have a 2013 Jayco. On my faceplate there are two Jacks. To receive either Cable or over the air signals the jacks are connected with a short jumper cable. IF you want to use Dish services you remove the short jumper cable.
bad99ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 06:43 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: "Where we Park It"
Posts: 1,070
We had poor picture when using park cable, got a booster from Radio Shack and put on the antenna signal, problem solved, now the cable signal picture is clear.
We now have Dish Satellite that we use too, but if we want local weather we just switch to the cable feed then back to the satellite.
__________________

__________________
Robert & Bale the "Traveling Dog"
SOB
2012 GMC 3500HD DRW
Rob_Fla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.