Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 02-08-2021, 03:48 PM   #1

Cummins Diesel Fuel Additive

Hello all. I've been banging my head against the wall researching additives for diesels in cold climates. We're heading to Kansas City this weekend with the Ram 3500 but not towing. It's projected to be -14F Saturday night, coming back home Sunday. I've read Power Service Diesel Fuel Supplement is approved by Cummins for use in their diesel engines so there's no issues about voiding truck warranty, if that ever became an issue. Since it's gonna be so cold, should I use an anti-gelling additive in my diesel while up there? We live in San Antonio so there's no need down here but it's gonna be cold in KC. I'm new to diesels so I'm trying to get advice on the subject. Thanks!
rkymntsno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2021, 04:42 PM   #2

The last thing you want is gelling, use it.
PaulB12
PaulB12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2021, 04:55 PM   #3

^^^what he said.
Old 02-08-2021, 05:18 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulB12 View Post
The last thing you want is gelling, use it.
PaulB12
So I'm assuming I want to treat the stock tank and the auxiliary tanks separately?
Old 02-08-2021, 05:32 PM   #5

14 below you might want to plug in the block heater. P.S., the weather forcast is for entertainment purposes only. I wish I could screw up my job so bad, so often and still have a job.
Old and soft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2021, 05:35 PM   #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Old and soft View Post
14 below you might want to plug in the block heater. P.S., the weather forcast is for entertainment purposes only. I wish I could screw up my job so bad, so often and still have a job.
Yep. Plan to. Well the past couple of days they've nailed it. High of 7F today. Currently at 7.
Old 02-08-2021, 05:38 PM   #7

Quote: