Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2011, 10:03 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 9
Did I screw up? AC/Generator Help

I apologize in advance for the length. New to RV'ing and have a 31.5RLTS Super Lite on order. Went with the 15,000 upgrade plus the 13,500 bedroom A/C. The unit has a 30 amp connection. These aren't prepped for generators so doing a portable isn't a problem and it will have more uses for me. Sales guy said a 5000w min would be required to run the unit comfortably. My confusion comes in with some of the reading I have been doing and the AMPS required to run all of this stuff. It sounds like both A/C's, TV etc will exceed 30 amps. Does this unit have a breaker box similar to a house where there are multiple different rated breakers in the box or is the max the unit will operate on, 30 amps. I thought I researched the unit head to toe before ordering and just "assumed" if the option was offered that it would handle the power required. This question applies to both being plugged into a 30 amp campground connection and generator choice. The Honda has the 6500/5500 watt 54/45 amp and 3000/2800 watt 25/23.3 amp and the Yamaha has 4500/4000 watt 37.5/33.3. Not knowing much about any of it, the Yamaha seems like it will cover the unit, the Honda 6500, way overkill, and the Honda 3000, slightly under rated. Please help......Will it even operate both A/C's when plugged into a 30 amp camp connection or will I be turning off different items as to not blow breakers?
__________________

Dakota3218 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 11:07 AM   #2
Member
 
coalrig's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Milton Ontario
Posts: 55
Does your unit have the 50 amp cord or the 30?
__________________

__________________
There's a method to the madness, disturb the method and the madness begins.
coalrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 11:30 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Terry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 4,923
First of all Dakota - welcome to the Jayco Forum! Glad you found us. If you have time, feel free to come on over to the new member area and introduce yourself.

I am not that familiar with how they wire up the 2nd air on the 5ers - but I know there are some folks out here that have that config so they should be able to answer.

If I remember correctly, I think they (the forum members) ran a separate shore cord for the second air (which requires a 50 amp pedestal and adapters). I dont see how you could run two air units on one 30 amp. You definitely could not start both up at the same time, and you would be at almost 30 amps with them running - throw in your converter and a few lights and you are over. No running the water heater on electric or using a coffee maker.

I would get a full understanding from the dealer on how the system will operate, and if necessary call and discuss directly with Jayco so you can make sure it is to your liking.

Until you find out how the power is going to play out, I think you will have to wait determine which generator is appropriate.
__________________
Terry
2009 Jayco 26BH
2004 Chevy Silverado 1500
2009 JayFlight Manual Library

Want to add a signature to your posts? --> Click Here
Terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 04:27 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Arizona in Winter, Nevada in Summer
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota3218 View Post
I apologize in advance for the length. New to RV'ing and have a 31.5RLTS Super Lite on order. Went with the 15,000 upgrade plus the 13,500 bedroom A/C. The unit has a 30 amp connection. These aren't prepped for generators so doing a portable isn't a problem and it will have more uses for me. Sales guy said a 5000w min would be required to run the unit comfortably. My confusion comes in with some of the reading I have been doing and the AMPS required to run all of this stuff. It sounds like both A/C's, TV etc will exceed 30 amps. Does this unit have a breaker box similar to a house where there are multiple different rated breakers in the box or is the max the unit will operate on, 30 amps. I thought I researched the unit head to toe before ordering and just "assumed" if the option was offered that it would handle the power required. This question applies to both being plugged into a 30 amp campground connection and generator choice. The Honda has the 6500/5500 watt 54/45 amp and 3000/2800 watt 25/23.3 amp and the Yamaha has 4500/4000 watt 37.5/33.3. Not knowing much about any of it, the Yamaha seems like it will cover the unit, the Honda 6500, way overkill, and the Honda 3000, slightly under rated. Please help......Will it even operate both A/C's when plugged into a 30 amp camp connection or will I be turning off different items as to not blow breakers?
Check with Jayco to see how they are going to wire up the system. I had a MTR HM 30 amp with 2 airs and a microwave. It had what is called a intelletec system that would alternate one then the other AC when a load was placed on the system such as a elec coffee pot or turn on the microwave. If at all possible I would get a 50 amp service and at least a 5500 watt generator. Better to spend the time now than be sorry later. Don't trust what the salesman tells you or else get it in writing.
Mel
__________________
2007 Jayco Designer 31RLTS
2007 Ford F250 Lariat Super Duty CC
2WD 6.0 Power Stroke Turbo Diesel
http://www.rvbloggersonline.blogspot.com
MHbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 04:42 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 552
Too many buyers have been the victims of the old, "Sure, It'll handle it".
A second AC will overload the 30A service with nothing else turned on. If this is a special order and the dealer isn't just adding a second unit to a trailer he has on the lot, now is the time to communicate with the appropriate people and make sure it's done right. After you take delivery and find out at the CG that you can't run something is not the time.

Some owners wire a second unit to use the 20A service on the pedestal. That's an acceptable method, but on a new trailer, that should not be left to you to engineer and install. If they install the standard 30A Converter, it's not gonna work well. Two AC units call for 50A service, and the salesman is doing you an injustice to tell you it'll all work fine, when in reality, it isn't going to cut it. I would be talking to the sales manager at the dealership.

I'm interested to know how this turns out. keep us posted.
__________________
2010 22FB(Ret)
2013 F250 XLT
I now have a Keystone Outback, but I try to help when I can.
---------------------
Bitter Gun Owner
Bitter Clinger
Armed Infidel
Bob Landry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 07:28 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 9
Definitely calling them Tuesday morning. It is an option I added, not a special order. They just placed the order with the factory so I will get some explanations first thing. Thanks for all the input and I will let you know how it turns out.
Dakota3218 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 09:18 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wedowee AL
Posts: 262
I have an Onan 4500 watt and ... I can run two major current draws at one time. If you start a 3rd major, the unit automatically shuts down and you have to go outside and reset a buttun inside the generator unit.

A major current draw includes Air Conditioner (I have one AC unit), Microwave, Electric hot water heater, a portable space heater. Choose your poison of which two you want to run.

When I am on generator, I always switch refrig and H20 heater to propane and take them out of the equation. I can run everything else, lighting, TV, Dish box etc in addition to the 2 majors on the generator.

Also my unit has 50 AMP shore power. Same deal, when we are plugged into 30 AMP service, we are limited to 2 majors or you blow the breaker. When we are plugged into 50 AMP service, we can run everything.
__________________
F250 HD 7.3 Diesel :)
31 Ft RLS Designer 5th Wheel :D
kcconawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 10:37 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 9
Confirmed it today, it is upgraded to 50 amp service. They said it is an automatic when they do dual A/C's. Thanks for the input everyone.
Dakota3218 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 10:47 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Terry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 4,923
That is great news! You will be much happier with that config!

Just in case you are not familiar with the 50 amp service - it is much more than 20 extra amps -- it is 50 amp 120/240 volt service.

Now your typical RV only uses 120 volt service, but what this means is you get two 50 amp 120 volt feeds --- so it is a LOT more power.

So -- stay cool all summer long
__________________
Terry
2009 Jayco 26BH
2004 Chevy Silverado 1500
2009 JayFlight Manual Library

Want to add a signature to your posts? --> Click Here
Terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 07:56 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 14
I have a 31.5 RLDS with the same AC setup. It is definitely 50 amp service.

MY dealer says that you need a 6500 watt generator to power both units.

The interesting thing is that the camper came with a 30 amp to 50 amp patch cable for emergencies when 30 amp is all that is available.

That has me wondering why I couldn't run just one AC unit from a 30 amp pedestal or generator (I already own a 3000 watt Honda).

I'm sure that I could at least run the 13,500 AC in the front bedroom, and possibly run the 15,0000 unit by itself if the refrigerator and water heater are on gas like the poster above said.

The neat thing you will find out is that both AC units are connected to ONE duct system - so that if only one unit is running the air still flows to the whole camper.

Makes it nice when sleeping & you don't need both units - you can kill the one in the bedroom to keep it quiet, but still get air from the larger unit in the main living area.

You will really love your new camper - ours is awesome.....
__________________

SouthRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.