Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2016, 09:15 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: San Diego
Posts: 170
DirecTV Connection Question

We have 2015 Pinnacle 36FBTS and have DirecTV at home with Genie and extra receivers, all wired. We are installing a dish on the roof of the trailer. Our plan is to disconnect the home devices and move them to the trailer when we travel My question is, do we have to install cables from the satellite to all 3 TV locations (living room, bedroom, outside) or are they pre-wired from the factory? Our trailer is in storage and we have not been able to go see what connections it has.
__________________

__________________
2015 Pinnacle 36FBTS
2015 RAM 3500 DRW, Laramie Longhorn, Aisin Transmission, MegaCab
bethcb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 10:06 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
blujay40's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 609
Quote:
Originally Posted by bethcb View Post
We have 2015 Pinnacle 36FBTS and have DirecTV at home with Genie and extra receivers, all wired. We are installing a dish on the roof of the trailer. Our plan is to disconnect the home devices and move them to the trailer when we travel My question is, do we have to install cables from the satellite to all 3 TV locations (living room, bedroom, outside) or are they pre-wired from the factory? Our trailer is in storage and we have not been able to go see what connections it has.
Although coax cable is generally compatible with most any type of signal a receiver uses (TV/cable, satellite, antenna), the other components used when manufacturing your RV are generic in nature or are tailored to be used with the pre-installed antenna or a standard cable connection and "can" introduce issues when being used with "proprietary" signals and power requirements that DirecTV uses with their newer Genie SWM (Single Wire Multiswitch) setups. Things such as non power passing splitters and amplifiers are the usual culprits that cause issues. All I can suggest is to try it and see, but don't be surprised if it doesn't work like you want it to, or at all.

I use my Genie and two other receivers from our house in our TT. Because of the components used in our trailer when manufactured, I ended up having to install all new coax runs using compatible components with the SWM technology before it all worked like it should. I felt that was a better option than trying to track down and modify the existing coax setup and possibly affect/break the cable/sat/antenna setup that came from the factory just to get my DirecTV to work right.

Good Luck!
__________________

blujay40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 11:42 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: San Diego
Posts: 170
Thanks for the fast response. If it doesn't work, we can run extra cables or a less expensive option ($100) is to convert the receivers to wireless.
I know the Pinnacle is "wired for satellite," just not sure if it goes to all 3 TV places.
__________________
2015 Pinnacle 36FBTS
2015 RAM 3500 DRW, Laramie Longhorn, Aisin Transmission, MegaCab
bethcb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 11:54 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: sadorus
Posts: 54
We have the FBTS and the same directv set up you do. We purchased a Winegard carry out 2 dish. I did not want the hassle of carrying a receiver from the house then back in and doing all of the connections. Also,having to reprogram the receiver for the different satellite dish. I called Directv and they sent out a tech to install a compatible receiver for my portable dish. It sets on the counter above the fireplace. He did have to install some "gizmo" where the antenna booster switch is. He did change the remotes to operate on RF. All of the tvs get the same channel and do not get my home local channels because of my dish. I can put tvs on Directv and another on antenna at the same time. I think it costs me about $24. A month for the additional receiver. They do let me turn it off during the winter and then back on in the spring to save some money. Hope this helps.
R&TB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 12:05 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: San Diego
Posts: 170
We actually don't mind moving the genie and the remotes to the RV and that way we also have all the DVR recordings from home to watch when on the road. How involved is the programming each time you move the genie? I thought we could just plug it in w the cable, HDMI and power cords.
__________________
2015 Pinnacle 36FBTS
2015 RAM 3500 DRW, Laramie Longhorn, Aisin Transmission, MegaCab
bethcb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 12:15 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: sadorus
Posts: 54
I think it is just a matter of using the remote and going to the directv settings and changing it to the dish you have on the FBTS. Then changing it back to what you have at home when you bring it back in. You might want to contact directv to make sure your current receiver is compatible with the dish on your trailer. I think that was another reason I got another receiver.
R&TB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 12:24 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
blujay40's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 609
Quote:
Originally Posted by bethcb View Post
How involved is the programming each time you move the genie? I thought we could just plug it in w the cable, HDMI and power cords.
If you are using the C41 type "mini" receivers (wired or wireless) at the remote TV's then you only need to check to make sure the Genie is setup with the new dish. Depending on what LNB you have at home, you may or may not need to repeat the satellite setup. If you do, it is not difficult to do.

Grab the remote and go to .....Menu, Settings, Satellite, Repeat Satellite Setup.

According to the online installation manual I found, you need to make sure the drop down menus read as follows: 01:SWM and 17:Slimline 3S (SWM). "Continue" thru the prompts and you can skip the remote setup because you should be taking those with you as well since they are already programmed for each receiver. At that point, you should be ready to go.

NOTE: You might also want to check the current settings before moving the Genie and write down the current settings in case you need to change them when you move the receivers back to the house.
blujay40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 12:29 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
blujay40's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 609
Quote:
Originally Posted by R&TB View Post
I think it is just a matter of using the remote and going to the directv settings and changing it to the dish you have on the FBTS. Then changing it back to what you have at home when you bring it back in. You might want to contact directv to make sure your current receiver is compatible with the dish on your trailer. I think that was another reason I got another receiver.
They just need to make sure they get a rooftop RV dish that is SWM compatible, otherwise the Genie will NOT work. The only roof mounted dish that is SWM compatible that I know of is.....

Winegard TRAVLER Auto Satellite DIRECTV SL3 Dish w/ SWM (SK-SWM3) from Solid Signal
blujay40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 12:48 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: San Diego
Posts: 170
Yes, that is the dish we r buying. I just ordered a cable schematics from jayco.
bethcb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 12:29 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: SW Washington
Posts: 972
When you get the schematics from Jayco. Would you update this thread with what you find out. I have a Eagle on order and am going to put the same Winegard unit on the roof and have been trying to figure out how I am going to wire it?
__________________

__________________
2009 F350 CC LB 4WD
2017 Jayco 355MBQS
Rustysocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.