Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2020, 04:41 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Leipsic
Posts: 4
Electric outage and residential refrigerator?

I have a 2016 Jayco Pinnacle. Yesterday while we were gone eating lunch, our power went off or there was a power surge. We did not notice the power had been off until my wife noticed the microwave was all 0's and the fridge had some weird code and could not be reset. The inverter seemed to be working properly, but the fridge was not working because there was no light in the fridge or the freezer. I checked the breaker box and nothing had been tripped. The book for the fridge was absolutely no help, so I called my dealer. He said I needed to find where the fridge was plugged in. He suggested that it was probably under the stove. After removing the drawer, I located where the fridge was plugged in. I'm not sure why I unplugged the fridge, but I did. Then, when I plugged it back in, the fridge beeped and started working as normal. When the fridge came back on, the main fridge was still at 38 degrees where it is normally set. The freezer, however, read 35 degrees when it is normally set at 0 degrees. The freezer only took about 30 minutes to get back to 0 degrees. It has been working properly since. A couple questions: Why didn't the inverter keep the freezer at the set temperature? Should the breaker have been tripped if there was a power surge? I would appreciate any input anyone may be able to give me.
__________________

Ed Bratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 05:20 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Leipsic
Posts: 4
The fridge was plugged in. I unplugged it and then plugged it back in.
__________________

Ed Bratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 05:22 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 8,285
The fridge didn't like the surge, had nothing to do with the inverter.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 05:24 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Leipsic
Posts: 4
I have a 50 amp surge protector on the outside pedestal.
Ed Bratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 06:01 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 8,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Bratt View Post
I have a 50 amp surge protector on the outside pedestal.
But after you unplugged and reset the fridge it worked. It didn't like whatever happened. If it involved the INVERTER the fridge would still be off.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 06:12 PM   #6
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 489
If you don't have surge protection at the pedestal I strongly suggest that you get it.
__________________
2018 Jayco Greyhawk 29MVP
2019 Jeep Sahara Unlimited
2011 Cyclone 3010 Toy Hauler- Sold
2014 Chevy Silverado Duramax LML -Sold
CAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 08:54 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
RetiredOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ocean County
Posts: 1,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAG View Post
If you don't have surge protection at the pedestal I strongly suggest that you get it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Bratt View Post
I have a 50 amp surge protector on the outside pedestal.
????

Quote:
The fridge was plugged in. I unplugged it and then plugged it back in.
Sometimes, a momentary electrical blip will cause gremlins and make things stop working or act up, where a longer duration outage will cause them to just reset and go on.. that's why when you unplugged it and plugged back in, it reset back to normal.
__________________
----------------

2019 Redhawk 24B

RetiredOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2020, 07:13 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Mopar_Earl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Saint Thomas, PA
Posts: 1,777
Is your protection surge only or it also open up for low/high voltage? If it's surge only, you may of had a brownout or high voltage condition which put the fridge into alarm. If you don't have full protection, I strongly recommend you get a device that does it all, like an EMS.


Earl
__________________
2017 Eagle 293RKDS, factory ordered, lots of mods and upgrades.
2018 Ram 3500 crew cab long bed SRW diesel 6spd Aisin 4wd Tradesman.
B&W Ram puck 5th wheel
Line-X premium
Mopar wheel to wheel steps
Mopar_Earl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2020, 09:55 AM   #9
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetiredOne View Post
????


Sometimes, a momentary electrical blip will cause gremlins and make things stop working or act up, where a longer duration outage will cause them to just reset and go on.. that's why when you unplugged it and plugged back in, it reset back to normal.
Yep, I think we posted pretty close to the same time and his comment was not there. And you can ignore my posting time because my time is not set to my time zone. I was not up at midnight to post.
__________________
2018 Jayco Greyhawk 29MVP
2019 Jeep Sahara Unlimited
2011 Cyclone 3010 Toy Hauler- Sold
2014 Chevy Silverado Duramax LML -Sold
CAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2020, 09:58 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Mopar_Earl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Saint Thomas, PA
Posts: 1,777
Did you email or call the manufacturer to see what the code meant since it wasn't in the owners manual. A Google search of the code will probably give you an answer as well.


Earl
__________________
2017 Eagle 293RKDS, factory ordered, lots of mods and upgrades.
2018 Ram 3500 crew cab long bed SRW diesel 6spd Aisin 4wd Tradesman.
B&W Ram puck 5th wheel
Line-X premium
Mopar wheel to wheel steps
Mopar_Earl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2020, 10:04 AM   #11
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mopar_Earl View Post
Did you email or call the manufacturer to see what the code meant since it wasn't in the owners manual. A Google search of the code will probably give you an answer as well.


Earl
What code? Maybe I missed it, as that happens and we have proof readers on the site, but I don't see a comment about a code.
__________________
2018 Jayco Greyhawk 29MVP
2019 Jeep Sahara Unlimited
2011 Cyclone 3010 Toy Hauler- Sold
2014 Chevy Silverado Duramax LML -Sold
CAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2020, 10:07 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Mopar_Earl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Saint Thomas, PA
Posts: 1,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAG View Post
What code? Maybe I missed it, as that happens and we have proof readers on the site, but I don't see a comment about a code.
Op stated fridge had a weird code. Said it wouldn't clear until he unplugged the fridge. Said the book was no help. I just checked to be sure, it's in the original post.


Earl
Mopar_Earl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2020, 10:09 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
RetiredOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ocean County
Posts: 1,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAG View Post
What code? Maybe I missed it, as that happens and we have proof readers on the site, but I don't see a comment about a code.
He's referring to the OP stating the fridge was throwing a code. From the OP:

Quote:
We did not notice the power had been off until my wife noticed the microwave was all 0's and the fridge had some weird code and could not be reset.
Knowing which code it threw would help with the troubleshooting.
__________________
----------------

2019 Redhawk 24B

RetiredOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2020, 10:12 AM   #14
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 489
OK. Sorry I do see that now. The code would be helpful, or maybe not.
__________________
2018 Jayco Greyhawk 29MVP
2019 Jeep Sahara Unlimited
2011 Cyclone 3010 Toy Hauler- Sold
2014 Chevy Silverado Duramax LML -Sold
CAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2020, 10:14 AM   #15
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetiredOne View Post
He's referring to the OP stating the fridge was throwing a code. From the OP:


Knowing which code it threw would help with the troubleshooting.
Thanks for the help but I did find it on my own. My question was to Morpar. We figured it out.
__________________
2018 Jayco Greyhawk 29MVP
2019 Jeep Sahara Unlimited
2011 Cyclone 3010 Toy Hauler- Sold
2014 Chevy Silverado Duramax LML -Sold
CAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2020, 05:57 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
2naEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: McCalla, AL
Posts: 1,069
Pretty much the same thing happened to me one time. I turned off the inverter unplugged the trailer waited for a couple of minuted and turned everything back on and all was good.
I have all the surge protection. Some times stuff just happens.
__________________
2017 North Point 315RLTS
Disc Brakes/Joy Rider Shocks/SRE4000/EMS-HW50C/TST507
2020 F350 CCSB SRW
50 gal aux tank/Rancho 9000xl/air bags/Hellwig Big Wig Sway Bar/Trailer Saver BD5
2naEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2020, 06:05 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
2naEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: McCalla, AL
Posts: 1,069
I have also had my inverter throw a fault code a couple of times also after a short power outage.
__________________
2017 North Point 315RLTS
Disc Brakes/Joy Rider Shocks/SRE4000/EMS-HW50C/TST507
2020 F350 CCSB SRW
50 gal aux tank/Rancho 9000xl/air bags/Hellwig Big Wig Sway Bar/Trailer Saver BD5
2naEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 06:51 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Bowmanville
Posts: 98
The fridge does not run on the inverter while the unit is plugged into the shore power pedastel. The inverter’s internal circuitry allow the ac current to bypass the unit and go straight to the outlet. Any surge at the post will affect everything in the 5th wheel.
Jeffur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 10:11 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Vicr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Snohomish
Posts: 933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffur View Post
The fridge does not run on the inverter while the unit is plugged into the shore power pedastel. The inverter’s internal circuitry allow the ac current to bypass the unit and go straight to the outlet. Any surge at the post will affect everything in the 5th wheel.

X2. And yes the fridge needed a reset after the power event.
Vicr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 02:31 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Hot Springs
Posts: 15
If you don't have a EMS energy management system get one. We use a 50 amp Progressive portable that plugs into the pedestal. It will shut the power off for multiple reasons like a leg drops, low or high voltage. Also when power is first applied it checks the voltage and for improper wiring. Only when it checks ok it allows power to the unit. It is also a surge protector but it will sacrifice itself rendering the unit inoperable.



Things like microwaves, TV'S and residential refrigerators are susceptible to be damaged from voltage fluctuations.


My 2 cents.
__________________

db7512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×