RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2020, 01:31 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: beebe
Posts: 11
electrical

I have a 2009 Jayco fifth wheel and i have wired my plugin for 50amp 220v but when plugged in so far I have found that the converter has been blown and the microwave as well, call into Jayco about why this has happened and so far they don't know nor did the person on the phone believe that since its out of warranty they would help me, the question is on my trailer I have stickers that say 120/240 volt 50 amp service, on my dog bone it says 125/250v I'm wondering has anyone had this happen to them? and also I'm trying to figure out if I'm using the trailer within the perimeters of the specs on the camper why would Jayco seem to want to help me if it is covered under warranty but since its not under warranty anymore now all of a sudden the camper wont hold the load? pls advise thanks you
chief549 is offline  
Old 10-15-2020, 01:37 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Robbbyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Akron
Posts: 2,656
If you have a 50-amp receptacle (4 prongs) why did you need a dogbone adapter? Perhaps attach a picture of your outlet and describe how it was wired.

If you wired a 30-amp, 3-prong, receptacle you likely introduced 240-volts to your system. A 50-amp RV circuit is two, 120-volt circuits, not one 240-volt.
__________________
Rob R.
Akron, OH
2014 Seneca 37TS
Toads: 2019 Ford Edge ST or 2013 Ford Focus ST
Robbbyr is offline  
Old 10-15-2020, 01:41 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Route 66 Traveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 691
The experts will chime in soon, but most trailers run on 120 volts. The 50 amp plug has two 120 volt hot leads, a neutral and ground. The converter and microwave only use 120 volts, so you probably fried them with 220v.
__________________
Lee & Kathy
2017 Starcraft Autumn Ridge 266RKS (with Jayco P/N's)
2007 Toyota Tundra
Route 66 Traveler is offline  
Old 10-15-2020, 01:42 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: beebe
Posts: 11
electrical

Reason for the dog bone was due to the receptacle that I was plugging into was a 30 amp plug which was then hooked into my 50 amp cord which is electrically ok, not understanding the 220v is my main issue, having 30amp 220v or 50amp 220 shouldnt matter since the camper says it will hold 120/220v 50 amp. Jayco has no clue either which is concerning to me and to add to it NONE of my breakers popped nor did any fuse get blown and Jayco doesn't understand that either they think the breakers should have thrown and all the fuses should have blowen because thats where the protection is let me add that no outlet is bad and the GFI didnt trip
chief549 is offline  
Old 10-15-2020, 01:45 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: beebe
Posts: 11
wondering if I should jump in or wait for jayco to respond further? insurance claim or out of pocket? never done anything like this before although I have been wanting to wire 220 for awhile now.
chief549 is offline  
Old 10-15-2020, 01:51 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Robbbyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Akron
Posts: 2,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by chief549 View Post
Reason for the dog bone was due to the receptacle that I was plugging into was a 30 amp plug which was then hooked into my 50 amp cord which is electrically ok, not understanding the 220v is my main issue, having 30amp 220v or 50amp 220 shouldnt matter since the camper says it will hold 120/220v 50 amp. Jayco has no clue either which is concerning to me and to add to it NONE of my breakers popped nor did any fuse get blown and Jayco doesn't understand that either they think the breakers should have thrown and all the fuses should have blowen because thats where the protection is let me add that no outlet is bad and the GFI didnt trip
Nothing in your RV runs on 240 volts. 50-amp RV power is two, separate 120-volt lines. Unlike a residence that used both legs of 120-volts for some appliances (stoves, dryers, central air conditioners) nothing in your RV requires 240 volts and will be damaged if it receives 240 volts. Breakers won't open because they open on excess current flow, not excess voltage.

If your outlet was three prong, and you have 2 hot leads wired to it and one neutral, you fed 240 volts into your rig. A 30-amp outlet wired properly has only ONE hot lead, one neutral, and one ground.
__________________
Rob R.
Akron, OH
2014 Seneca 37TS
Toads: 2019 Ford Edge ST or 2013 Ford Focus ST
Robbbyr is offline  
Old 10-15-2020, 01:53 PM   #7
Lost in the Woods
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ocean County
Posts: 2,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by chief549 View Post
Reason for the dog bone was due to the receptacle that I was plugging into was a 30 amp plug which was then hooked into my 50 amp cord which is electrically ok, not understanding the 220v is my main issue, having 30amp 220v or 50amp
Who wired that 30 amp receptacle? If it was wired like a 3 prong dryer outlet (120 volt each leg), that's your problem.
RetiredOne is offline  
Old 10-15-2020, 01:57 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Joan617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Las Cruces (soon...)
Posts: 730
Jayco is tough enough to work with when under warranty so don't expect to get much help. You're better off with a local RV tech. Any RV park will be able to recommend one.
Angus
__________________
Joan & Angus Campbell
Building in Las Cruces, NM
2019 Pinnacle 36SSWS
2019 F350 DRW Lariat CC Long Bed Diesel "Sheila"
3 Chihuahuas and 4 cats
We don't camp, we don't glamp, we LIVE.
Joan617 is offline  
Old 10-15-2020, 02:03 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Mopar_Earl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Saint Thomas, PA
Posts: 1,946
Sounds like you have a 3 prong 240v dryer/welder outlet with 240 on it. That means you put 120v on the neutral. Wire your outlet to 30a 120v or install a 4 prong 50a 120/240 outlet. Or stick with a 120v wall outlet to power the unit.


Earl
__________________
2017 Eagle 293RKDS, factory ordered, lots of mods and upgrades.
2018 Ram 3500 crew cab long bed SRW diesel 6spd Aisin 4wd Tradesman.
B&W Ram puck 5th wheel
Line-X premium
Mopar wheel to wheel steps
Mopar_Earl is offline  
Old 10-15-2020, 02:45 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
triplebvalp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Valparaiso
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by chief549 View Post
Reason for the dog bone was due to the receptacle that I was plugging into was a 30 amp plug which was then hooked into my 50 amp cord which is electrically ok, not understanding the 220v is my main issue, having 30amp 220v or 50amp 220 shouldnt matter since the camper says it will hold 120/220v 50 amp.
Chief549 ... there's your problem. You apparently plugged into a 30 amp 220VAC outlet, probably wired for a dryer or welder. By doing so, you put 120 VAC on a ground lug or neutral lug to the converter.

Jayco doesn't have a "dog in this hunt" whether it was in warranty or not.
__________________
2017 Eagle HT 27.5RKDS (Traded)
2020 Montana High Country 295RL
10th Anniversary Edition
2019 Silverado 3500HD - Duramax - SRW - 4WD - CC - LTZ - 8' Bed
Reese M5 20K
triplebvalp is offline  
Old 10-15-2020, 04:46 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Nature Ist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 309
Hopefully you weren't also powering your water heater, refrigerator (on electric) or anything else that uses 110V when plugged into that set-up
__________________
2020 Eagle HT 30.5 CKTS (16" wheels, spring shackles set on lower hole of frame, SumoSprings TSS-107-40, standard kingpin, B&W Companion slider)
2019 F250 SRW SuperCab 4X4 SB 6.2 (10,000# GVW) 3.73 Axle 18" wheels TST-507 TPMS
Nature Ist is offline  
Old 10-15-2020, 06:05 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Port Charlotte FL/Hinsdale MA.
Posts: 781
Quote:
Originally Posted by chief549 View Post
wondering if I should jump in or wait for jayco to respond further? insurance claim or out of pocket? never done anything like this before although I have been wanting to wire 220 for a while now.
Please explain wiring for 240. Your rig is either 30 amp @ 120 3 wire or it is 50 amp 240 volt 4 wire. Which do you have???? why did you wire anything? 220 230 240 250 are all names for the same thing. It is actually 240 volts. 110, 115, 120 are the same. Actually 127.
__________________
Retired Master Electrician and Building Inspector.

2011 Keystone Sprinter 323 BH
Cavie is offline  
Old 10-15-2020, 07:24 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: smithville, ont.
Posts: 2,346
Sounds like this is 100% your fault Chief.
__________________
2016 North Point 341RLTS
520watts of solar. Morningstar MPPT
4 6volt 235ah Surrette batteries
2017 F-350 Platinum CC SRW
klassic is offline  
Old 10-15-2020, 07:48 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 9,841
Quote:
Originally Posted by chief549 View Post
I have a 2009 Jayco fifth wheel and i have wired my plugin for 50amp 220v but when plugged in so far I have found that the converter has been blown and the microwave as well, call into Jayco about why this has happened and so far they don't know nor did the person on the phone believe that since its out of warranty they would help me,
I doubt even if you were still under warranty would they get involved since you wired the outlet and that is where the problem is. It has nothing to do with the trailer itself.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is offline  
Old 10-24-2020, 01:19 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: beebe
Posts: 11
The wiring is right the issue after asking and asking the answer is since I had a dog bone installed now the dumb thing after that came when jayco said ifnit was under warrenty it would b covered but since it’s not they won’t cover it lol WHAT A JOKE and all the manufactures install the same sticks that say the same things and with no explanation. Very frustrating
chief549 is offline  
Old 10-28-2020, 12:11 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Thiells
Posts: 64
not 220 volt it is 50amp 110
nynethead is offline  
Old 10-28-2020, 12:59 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: DingmansFerry
Posts: 5
120/240

Hopefully the inverter/charger blew and stopped there...... like all threads indicate .... ALL RV electrical is 120v and either 30 amp or 50amp service.... throwing 120v on both legs into RV was a mistake... again... hopefully fingers crossed the inverter took the hit and stopped there ... good luck ....
Swansong is offline  
Old 10-28-2020, 01:19 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Port Charlotte FL/Hinsdale MA.
Posts: 781
Quote:
Originally Posted by nynethead View Post
not 220 volt it is 50amp 110
I am a Master Electrician. 50 amps RV is 120/240 volts! 4 wire. Just exactly like the service panel at your house and just exactly as your 50 amp electric range. It is made up of two 120 volt legs that are 180 degrees out of phase with each other. 240 volts L1 to L2.

RV 30 amp is 120 volt 3 wire.
__________________
Retired Master Electrician and Building Inspector.

2011 Keystone Sprinter 323 BH
Cavie is offline  
Old 10-28-2020, 01:20 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
WeRJuliian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Sarasota
Posts: 741
I would stop, at this point, and contact a qualified electrician, to wire an outlet correctly, and advise you on how to hook it to the RV.

Then you may need to get an RV tech to replace your converter, if it fried.

With all due respect to the undoubted experts on this board, this is the kind of thing that can't be fixed by endless back and forth messages, and the resulting confusion and misinterpretation.

When it comes to electrical matters...if you are not confident that you know how to do it, then don't.
__________________
IanP, the man from Scotland
Julie, the Lady From Little Rock

Jay Feather 19XUD, pushing a Jeep Grand Cherokee
WeRJuliian is offline  
Old 10-28-2020, 01:27 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Port Charlotte FL/Hinsdale MA.
Posts: 781
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swansong View Post
Hopefully the inverter/charger blew and stopped there...... like all threads indicate .... ALL RV electrical is 120v and either 30 amp or 50amp service.... throwing 120v on both legs into RV was a mistake... again... hopefully fingers crossed the inverter took the hit and stopped there ... good luck ....
I will say it again. 50 amps is 120/240 volts 4 wire. 240 volts across L1 and L2.
30 amps is 120 volts 3 wire. newbies need to learn this before they get hurt!

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/09...c=1&pldnSite=1

https://www.technorv.com/articles/ho...Q63nbGg0ktkmuc
__________________
Retired Master Electrician and Building Inspector.

2011 Keystone Sprinter 323 BH
Cavie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.