Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2022, 03:41 PM   #1
MDC
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Prattville
Posts: 33
Eternabond around roof A/C opening

I am swapping out my AC unit and was thinking about using eterna bond tape around the opening in the roof before I install the new unit. Wondering if the overlapping joints would cause the AC gasket to not seal at those joints. Any experience is appreciated.
__________________
2015 Jayco Pinacle 38FLSA
2019 Ford F350 6.7 SRW 4WD LWB
MDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 07:09 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: AL
Posts: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by MDC View Post
I am swapping out my AC unit and was thinking about using eterna bond tape around the opening in the roof before I install the new unit. Wondering if the overlapping joints would cause the AC gasket to not seal at those joints. Any experience is appreciated.
I applied Eternabond to our last two units. I did the full perimeter of the roof and the slide out roof. I don't think I'll use it around the equipment and vents. I do not want to remove it (when something fails, gets damaged, or wears out). I really like the Eternabond caulk, too! I use it instead of Dicor. It is much more durable. When I do an AC, I won't use Eternabond around it. I think you can, but you will be in for a big job when the time comes to remove it. It is great stuff!
__________________

2014 Somerset Niagara (sold)
2016 Jay Feather 23RBM (sold)
2021 Jay Flight 29RKS
2012 RAM 1500, 5.7 Hemi
Equalizer 14K WDH
Timbrens 7K, TufTruck XHD Springs
gunafulltime is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 04:27 AM   #3
MDC
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Prattville
Posts: 33
Just want to put it around the opening before I reinstall the new ac not around the roof and gasket after installed. Just concerned about the over lapping joints and the gasket sealing over those
__________________
2015 Jayco Pinacle 38FLSA
2019 Ford F350 6.7 SRW 4WD LWB
MDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 05:08 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: AL
Posts: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by MDC View Post
Just want to put it around the opening before I reinstall the new ac not around the roof and gasket after installed. Just concerned about the over lapping joints and the gasket sealing over those
Ok. You are considering using it around the perimeter of the AC opening in the roof before you set the AC. Is that correct?
__________________

2014 Somerset Niagara (sold)
2016 Jay Feather 23RBM (sold)
2021 Jay Flight 29RKS
2012 RAM 1500, 5.7 Hemi
Equalizer 14K WDH
Timbrens 7K, TufTruck XHD Springs
gunafulltime is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 06:03 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 12,540
I would not use it there. The surface of the tape is shiny and I don't think the a/c seal ring would seat correctly.

What are you trying to accomplish? There are no joints around the a/c opening that need to be sealed before installing the a/c
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 06:16 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Newburgh
Posts: 4,411
I agree with Grumpy. I believe it would affect the seal created by the AC gasket....
__________________
2022 33RBTS
Progressive Industries EMS - Hardwired
Equalizer 4 Point WDH
2021 Ford F350 7.3
Air Lift Rear Bags w/ On Board Compressor (Pending)

2016 28BHBE - (Traded and Missed already)
Marcm157 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 06:18 AM   #7
MDC
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Prattville
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpy View Post
I would not use it there. The surface of the tape is shiny and I don't think the a/c seal ring would seat correctly.

What are you trying to accomplish? There are no joints around the a/c opening that need to be sealed before installing the a/c
There was a roof vent installed previously and I wanted to make sure the old screw holes are sealed
__________________
2015 Jayco Pinacle 38FLSA
2019 Ford F350 6.7 SRW 4WD LWB
MDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 06:19 AM   #8
MDC
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Prattville
Posts: 33
Yes
__________________
2015 Jayco Pinacle 38FLSA
2019 Ford F350 6.7 SRW 4WD LWB
MDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 06:28 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 12,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by MDC View Post
There was a roof vent installed previously and I wanted to make sure the old screw holes are sealed
Installed numerous a/c's after removing the vent and never had any issues. The gasket should be wide enough to extend beyond the screw holes.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 06:28 AM   #10
MDC
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Prattville
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunafulltime View Post
Ok. You are considering using it around the perimeter of the AC opening in the roof before you set the AC. Is that correct?
Yes. Applying to top perimeter before I install the new ac unit. I added a second ac unit. The opening is in the bedroom. My trailer only came with one ac. I am putting in a second one. The opening was factory prepped for a ducted ac unit. Originally had a ceiling vent. I am concerned about sealing where the ceiling vent screws were.
__________________
2015 Jayco Pinacle 38FLSA
2019 Ford F350 6.7 SRW 4WD LWB
MDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 07:12 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: AL
Posts: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by MDC View Post
Yes. Applying to top perimeter before I install the new ac unit. I added a second ac unit. The opening is in the bedroom. My trailer only came with one ac. I am putting in a second one. The opening was factory prepped for a ducted ac unit. Originally had a ceiling vent. I am concerned about sealing where the ceiling vent screws were.
10-4.
I would not use the tape for this application. As others said, the roof membrane's surface is a better seal between the gasket and the a/c frame. I would stick with the "stock" application of the a/c installation.

Even though I know the gasket will likely cover them, the holes would bother me, too. I would fill them with Eternabond caulk. They actually sell a small tube that would be perfect for this. Fill them as well as you can. Use your finger to press the caulk into the holes. Smooth off the excess to eliminate raised caulk that could interfere with the seal. I did something similar when I installed the Winegard ConnecT 2.0.

Full disclosure, I am an over-kill guy when it comes to sealing my unit.
__________________

2014 Somerset Niagara (sold)
2016 Jay Feather 23RBM (sold)
2021 Jay Flight 29RKS
2012 RAM 1500, 5.7 Hemi
Equalizer 14K WDH
Timbrens 7K, TufTruck XHD Springs
gunafulltime is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2022, 07:39 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Lithia
Posts: 4
MDC
If you don't mind me asking what unit are you putting in (make and model)
I'm thinking of putting one in my self
Thanks
Buzzsaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2022, 12:42 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by MDC View Post
I am swapping out my AC unit and was thinking about using eterna bond tape around the opening in the roof before I install the new unit. Wondering if the overlapping joints would cause the AC gasket to not seal at those joints. Any experience is appreciated.
I did exactly what your talking about when I installed my 2nd AC. Small tear in membrane when I removed the vent. Installed tape around perimeter of opening, no problems, no leaks.
Gruby1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2022, 01:57 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Richmond
Posts: 22
Did our roof that way. It hasn't changed or lifted in several years so far.



It didn't need it, I just liked the idea of extra protection.
I check it once a year just to be careful.
JimHanus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2022, 02:00 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 12,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimHanus View Post
Did our roof that way. It hasn't changed or lifted in several years so far.



It didn't need it, I just liked the idea of extra protection.
I check it once a year just to be careful.
He's talking about "under" the air-conditioner gasket. What you did is the perfect way to be pro active against leaks.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2022, 03:39 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Plano
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpy View Post
Installed numerous a/c's after removing the vent and never had any issues. The gasket should be wide enough to extend beyond the screw holes.
What did you do about the amperage limitations when you installed the second A/C. Were you already 50 amp?
Onyrlef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2022, 03:45 PM   #17
MDC
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Prattville
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buzzsaw View Post
MDC
If you don't mind me asking what unit are you putting in (make and model)
I'm thinking of putting one in my self
Thanks
I installed the same model I had as the original. Coleman Mach 8. It took me about 2 years to find one. 15k heatpump.
__________________
2015 Jayco Pinacle 38FLSA
2019 Ford F350 6.7 SRW 4WD LWB
MDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2022, 04:33 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 12,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onyrlef View Post
What did you do about the amperage limitations when you installed the second A/C. Were you already 50 amp?
The ones I did were on units without a/c originally, however several on JOF have put them on 30 amp units and just ran a separate power cord so they could plug into the 20 amp in the pedestal.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2022, 05:18 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Plano
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpy View Post
The ones I did were on units without a/c originally, however several on JOF have put them on 30 amp units and just ran a separate power cord so they could plug into the 20 amp in the pedestal.
Thanks, mulling over adding a 2nd non-ducted rooftop or a mini-split on the rear wall to Alante 31L. Not sure If the Alante is wired for a second A/C where the bedroom vent is , but regardless I'd have to either change out the distribution panel to up it to 50 amp or run a separate pigtail. I'm thinking I could run two 30's off the 50 amp park service with an inline 20 amp breaker on the secondary 30 amp leg. There is such an animal as a 50 amp male which splits into two 30 amp females.
Onyrlef is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.