Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2020, 02:35 PM   #1
Member
 
torilynn79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: N/A
Posts: 30
Unhappy Fireplace outlet not working in 2018 Pinnacle

Our fireplace quit working in our 2018 Pinnacle, so hubby determined the outlet was not working. He is baffled, because the tv and fireplace are both on the same breaker and the tv works. He took the outlet apart and the wires were not fried and he replaced it with a new outlet box and still nothing. Any ideas for possible causes for there being no power going to the outlet?
torilynn79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2020, 02:40 PM   #2
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: James Island, SC
Posts: 18,642
Check the wires on the tv outlet.. Maybe just a loose push on connector. It is likely fed from that wire if they are nearby. Get a VOM. It will pay for itself in lack of frustration.
__________________
Moderator
2011- 351RLTS Eagle, MorRyde suspension/pin box,
2017- F350 6.7 PSD Lariat FX4,SRW, SB,CC
Hughes PWD SP-50A, TST TPMS
Gator roll-up bed cover
B&W Turnover ball, Andersen Ultimate 3220
Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 06:51 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
DonaandDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Kingston
Posts: 1,204
I don't think the outlet is your problem. Run an extension cord to the fireplace. If the fireplace works then trouble shoot the wiring on the outlet.

__________________
Don & Donna Stout

E-9 Anchor Clanker
Full timers since 2010
2017 North Point 381 DLQS
2015 F-250 6.7 w/Timbrens
DonaandDon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 07:35 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
SloPoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Sandy Utah & Kingman AZ and in our Seneca everywhere else.
Posts: 2,497
On our Seneca - the TV and Fireplace are on different circuits. Our fireplace is on it's own separate breaker, the TV is on the Inverter powered circuit. (yours could be different, but Jayco has a habit of doing similar things on it's stuff)
__________________
Steve & Stacy along with Ned and Ellie (well behaved Fur-kids) in our 2015 Seneca 36FK pulling a 07 Toyota FJC and 99 Yamaha Kodiak 400 on a custom 27' trailer w/ fresh 2021 Coors Light in the fridge. ( 3 lines per the forum rules)
SloPoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 07:52 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Saint Clair Shores
Posts: 97
Maybe problems with the Ground fault circuit
Donna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 08:02 AM   #6
Member
 
torilynn79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: N/A
Posts: 30
The only ground faults are in the bathrooms that we could see and we reset those.
torilynn79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 08:04 AM   #7
Member
 
torilynn79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: N/A
Posts: 30
Yep, we did check the fireplace with an extension cord. It's definitely the outlet.
torilynn79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 08:28 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Bowmanville
Posts: 202
Is there a reset button on the unit?
Jeffur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 08:43 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 7,454
There has been a number of posts in the past where people have noted that their fireplace is on its own independent circuit breaker.

Are you connected to a 30 or 50 amp service? If 30 amp service, what are you using for a "Dog-bone"? It might not be tying power to both power feed legs into the 5ver. Anything else not working? Are both AC units working?

You probably already did this, double check every circuit breaker, flip it off & on, sometimes it is hard to tell if they are tripped.

I would contact Jayco with your vin # and ask for the 120 volt power schematic. That will tell you exactly where it is feed from. With a multimeter, you can test the power at the wire leads, and work your way back to the problem.
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 08:43 AM   #10
Member
 
torilynn79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: N/A
Posts: 30
Do you mean a reset on the fireplace itself? No, but we plugged the fireplace into an outlet at our home with an extension cord and it works. We need to know where where the outlet that doesn't work is fed from. The next thing we are going to end up doing is pulling the fireplace out and that is LOTS of work. I will tell you this, we have called a Jayco dealer(the one the RV was purchased at) twice and their serviceman was a know-it-all snotty jerk. We will never purchase another Jayco product again. This unit is made so incredibly cheap it's unreal...very unhappy! The heater also went out on one of our recliners. Grrrrrr......
torilynn79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 10:35 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Boiling Springs
Posts: 424
If your tv and fire place are plugged into the same outlet (which I find hard to believe) simply plug the fire place into the socket that the tv was plugged into and see if it works. If it does than your outlet is bad. Normally the fire place has a dedicated plug due to the amps it draws.
__________________
RipinSC
2019 Eagle FW 321RSTS
2015 GMC 2500 HD 6.0 Gas
RipinSC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 10:42 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Boiling Springs
Posts: 424
Sorry, I see your post said it is on the same feed as the tv and same breaker. The connection from the tv outlet to your fire place may have disconnected. Kill the power and pull the tv outlet out. The wires to your fire place should be connected in that box. Not unusual to have loose wire in a wire nut.
__________________
RipinSC
2019 Eagle FW 321RSTS
2015 GMC 2500 HD 6.0 Gas
RipinSC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 10:48 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
SloPoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Sandy Utah & Kingman AZ and in our Seneca everywhere else.
Posts: 2,497
Quote:
Originally Posted by torilynn79 View Post
Do you mean a reset on the fireplace itself? No, but we plugged the fireplace into an outlet at our home with an extension cord and it works. We need to know where where the outlet that doesn't work is fed from. The next thing we are going to end up doing is pulling the fireplace out and that is LOTS of work. I will tell you this, we have called a Jayco dealer(the one the RV was purchased at) twice and their serviceman was a know-it-all snotty jerk. We will never purchase another Jayco product again. This unit is made so incredibly cheap it's unreal...very unhappy! The heater also went out on one of our recliners. Grrrrrr......
ON ours:
Lift up on the glass front.. the entire front cover comes off just by lifting it out of the slots it is set in.

Look at the top for screws and bottom has two screws. remove those 4 screws and the entire unit comes right out of the wood frame mantle. It was really easy on ours.
__________________
Steve & Stacy along with Ned and Ellie (well behaved Fur-kids) in our 2015 Seneca 36FK pulling a 07 Toyota FJC and 99 Yamaha Kodiak 400 on a custom 27' trailer w/ fresh 2021 Coors Light in the fridge. ( 3 lines per the forum rules)
SloPoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 11:01 AM   #14
Member
 
torilynn79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: N/A
Posts: 30
Ok...will tell hubby...thanks.
torilynn79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 11:01 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Grand Rapids
Posts: 57
1. try a different outlet for fireplace.


2. if working then the outlet is probably NOT on the same as TV. Do you have a VOmeter? start checking.
mazboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 12:24 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Port Charlotte FL/Hinsdale MA.
Posts: 1,032
I'm gonna stir the pot. Some RV's with a 30 amp service have the Micro and the Fireplace on the same circuit. There is a control relay to prevent them both being on at the same time. Some you must flip a switch to choose. Some have automatic circuitry to do this. Better check with Jayco.
__________________
Retired Master Electrician and Building Inspector.

2011 Keystone Sprinter 323 BH
Cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 12:30 PM   #17
Member
 
torilynn79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: N/A
Posts: 30
Well now...that's interesting...lol. Will check into this as well...Thanks.
torilynn79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 01:11 PM   #18
Member
 
torilynn79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: N/A
Posts: 30
Tried lifting up on the fireplace glass and it does not move. Anyone else taken out the fireplace in a pinnacle?
torilynn79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 05:41 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
AKRUEBBE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Preferred RV Resort, Pahrump, NV
Posts: 2,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by torilynn79 View Post
Tried lifting up on the fireplace glass and it does not move. Anyone else taken out the fireplace in a pinnacle?
I had to remove the wood trim just above the fireplace to get the glass front out.
__________________
AL & JANET KRUEBBE
2019 PINNACLE 37RLWS
2018 NORTH POINT 315RLTS (TRADED)
2017 RAM 3500 DRW DIESEL/AISIN 4.10 AIR BAGS
B&W COMPANION TURN OVER BALL HITCH
Formerly from Sequim, WA
AKRUEBBE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 07:35 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Way down here........FL
Posts: 2,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by torilynn79 View Post
Tried lifting up on the fireplace glass and it does not move. Anyone else taken out the fireplace in a pinnacle?
Mine is a 2016, if I remember correctly there is 1 screw at the top on each side. Then it will come right out.

More than likely a wire came loose in the wiring that feeds the fireplace outlet. Thatís what happened to mine when new.
__________________
Jack

2016 Pinnacle 36 KPTS
2016 F350 Lariat CC LB dually 6.7
jasum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.