Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-17-2023, 11:44 AM   #1

Flag pole mount...

So, as a recovering engineer, I can't leave many things alone, OR I can't simply buy something that already exists. I have to reinvent the wheel for everything.

Last year during camping season, I decided that I wanted to have a telescoping flag pole, AFTER seeing a really slick mount on the back of a motorhome that went into the receiver.

I decided that I could make one, and I did, and it works pretty well. Unfortunatley, this is the only pic that I have of the actual flag mount, and this was just a "test" to make sure that it fit in the receiver.

But, I discovered that there are some campgrounds that we go to, and the rear receiver doesn't work well for the flag, because it's a back in site, and you can't see the flag.

So, I built a mount (again overengineered) for the front king pin. This was the first weekend that we were out that I had a chance to try it our. This is the result:

It clamps on with a flat piece so that the kingpin plate that the mount are one unit, so it doesn't rattle around, and I have a rattle stop for the receiver part so that it doesn't rattle at that joint either. I use that on the back when I have it back there:

A couple more images:

Attached Thumbnails
1a.jpg   1.jpg   2.jpg   3.jpg   4.jpg  

Old 07-17-2023, 11:54 AM   #2

Wow - That is certainly an engineered mount! I made one for my trailer as well but I simply copied an idea I saw online and welded up my own version with some mods that made it stronger.

Here is the picture that I used for my design. I don't have access to any of the pictures of mine right now but I have a pin that secures the pole in the sleeve and not just a set screw.

I just drop it under the tongue jack of my trailer and it supports my 20 foot telescoping flag pole with no issues....
Attached Thumbnails