Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2019, 11:48 AM   #41
Senior Member
 
hoppers4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Port Orchard
Posts: 1,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunflake View Post
The other one on the combustion side, the round one.
Jmac000 indicated that was an ROS which would be used as an overtemp safety. I think you're both talking about the same thing but with a different name. At any rate, if that thermostat opens, it shuts the furnace down for safety.
__________________
Don
hoppers4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2019, 12:09 PM   #42
Senior Member
 
Sunflake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Tooele
Posts: 187
Actually they are different in application only. On your furnace at home the high limit detects overheating in the heat exchanger. The roll out switch detects flames that roll out of the burners. Hope the diagram helps it’s kind of hard to read but on that furnace there isn’t a roll out switch.
Sometimes I take for granted people know how the furnace works. I’ve been a HVAC tech for 16 years. Let me know if you need something explained better.
__________________
Patrick
HVAC Tech

2007 Dodge Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins
2016 Jayco Jay Flight Elite 27BHS
Sunflake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2019, 12:13 PM   #43
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: san marcos
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama View Post
I have searched the forum and can not find where anyone had the problem I am having with the furnace in my 2018 Eagle 293RKDS.


I turn the furnace on and the blower starts. After a few seconds the burner ignites and goes out in a second or two. The blower stays running then after about 30 seconds the burner ignites and goes out in a second or two. The blower never turns off and the gas never burns longer than two seconds. I have let it run for 15 minutes and it keeps repeating this cycle.

Propane tanks were about 1/2 full so I filled the tanks. That did not change anything. The three burners on the stove all burn blue when on at the same time, so I have good flow of propane.


The furnace has worked fine till now. Anyone had this problem? If so what was the fix. I took the wall down in storage area and found the furnace. They did not leave much room for 6'4" man to work!
mine did that, I exchanged the propane tank and still, it has to get the propane through the tube, takes several minutes, was a loose connection, now my burners and out door grill works
arobinson6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2019, 07:40 AM   #44
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Tallahassee
Posts: 94
Jim, my 321 RSTS has the same symptoms and the service tech FINALLY pulled the furnace and circuit board. Same water/moisture issue as you had. How did it get wet in the first place and how did you ensure water intrusion doesn't happen again. Thanks.
__________________
2018 Eagle 321 RSTS
2018 GMC 3500HD Duramax LB DRW

Hog3loves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2019, 08:34 AM   #45
Senior Member
 
Jim Smyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Central Florida & SE Kentucky
Posts: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hog3loves View Post
Jim, my 321 RSTS has the same symptoms and the service tech FINALLY pulled the furnace and circuit board. Same water/moisture issue as you had. How did it get wet in the first place and how did you ensure water intrusion doesn't happen again. Thanks.

I bought the unit used but it was at most a year old when I got it. Furnace worked correctly when we bought it so I assume this problem developed while I owned it. When I unhooked the furnace and spun it 90 degrees it looked like someone was inside of the heater already due to the way it was sealed up. Sloppy clear caulk around the control board access panel. However that may have also came from the factory that way.


I am pretty good with mechanics and figuring stuff out. But for the life of me I cant understand how any moisture could have gotten to where it was. That inside area where the circuit board lives is totally sealed. Where I found the moisture was directly under and in the middle of the circuit board and about the size of a quarter. Now the circuit board only sits like 1/8" above the bottom of the shroud but its positioned where it cant really move or bend down if you will.

But the fluid was definitely going from the bottom of the shroud and touching the bottom of the board right in the middle. There was green corrosion where this moisture was touching the board and I assume shorting the board out. I dont see any way that moisture could have gotten there but it was with no evidence of it running down and over or under any other part of the board.


I cleaned the board off and theres no burn marks or any other things that give me suspect that it wont work again. So I put it in the box the new one came out of and have it stashed away for if/when this new one goes out. Its worth a try to see if it works again. So I am completely baffled to how the moisture got in there. The exhaust is in the same area so maybe either moisture/condensation from it wicked down into there or maybe rain somehow got wicked in there. Thats my only guess and I have no solutions on how to stop it from happening again.
__________________
2018 Ford F350 6.7
2017 Jayco 28.5 RSTS
Jim Smyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2019, 09:34 AM   #46
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Tallahassee
Posts: 94
Thanks, Jim, for your answer. The tech said it was from washing it and water squirting in the exhaust. I bought it new and have NEVER washed it. (Every bug spot is a souvenir from our Alaska trip. So I discounted that excuse of how water got in.) That leaves rain coming in sideways, which is believable since we've experienced two hurricanes passing by here in the FL panhandle, or the significant rain/wind event while camping outside of Glacier NP. It's possible, but with so many people having the same issue, I'm NOT convinced that the moisture wasn't there already at the time of our purchase. You would think, however, that the heat generated in the furnace would evaporate any moisture in there. ???
__________________
2018 Eagle 321 RSTS
2018 GMC 3500HD Duramax LB DRW

Hog3loves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 04:25 PM   #47
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Loganville
Posts: 59
I got my heater fixed and just closing this out for anyone in the future who may read this. Problem turned out to be a broke wire connection on the furnace. Simple fix if you can get to the wiring connections on the furnace.
__________________
2018 Jayco 293RKDS
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L
B&W Companion
Bama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2019, 04:57 AM   #48
Senior Member
 
Jim Smyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Central Florida & SE Kentucky
Posts: 348
If anyone has had the problem like me with water intrusion on or under the circuit board. The furnace manufacturer has a kit and new board free of charge. Its a easy install which mounts the board in the same area and rather than being flat on the bottom its now on a 45 degree angle so water cant lay on it or under it. Was a easy fix with drilling 1 hole for one screw and then using a tie wrap.



Here is the video that helped me identify and correct my problem.


__________________
2018 Ford F350 6.7
2017 Jayco 28.5 RSTS
Jim Smyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2020, 05:10 PM   #49
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: York
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoppers4 View Post
Also, you have to put the cover back on with the extension tube or the burner won't stay lit. I also discovered this after a bit of troubleshooting. You don't have to put the screws back in, but just install the cover with the extension tube for a quick test.
I signed up for an account just to thank you. I had to replace the sail switch in my heater. I didn't put the outside pipe back on as I was still troubleshooting the unit. I've spent days checking the gas etc. It would ignite then only produce a flame for about 3 seconds..turn off, then repeat for as long as long as I kept it on.

I butted the outside extension tube up as you suggested and it worked the 1st time!
Taterbug23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2020, 06:39 PM   #50
Senior Member
 
SeventyGTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Kingman, Az
Posts: 371
Ours was doing the same thing and it ended up being the regulator at the tanks was bad. It was putting out too much pressure
__________________
2017 Jayco Eagle 28.5RSTS
2016 Ram 2500 SB Longhorn 6.7 4x4
5th Wheel Prep/Auto Level
Andersen Ultimate w/Andersen Bed Shaft
SeventyGTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.