Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2014, 05:31 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 21
Furnace Issues

Hi all..need some help. I have a new 351RLTS, well less than a year old, and a furnace that does not work. Here's the rest of the story. The first time it didn't work the ambient temp was -10F. The fan came on and I could hear the ignitor sparking but it never caught. I checked the usual suspects: I had propane in both tanks and then checked to make sure both the fridge and stove worked. I then turned off the propane and turned on the stove to burn all the gas in the line out. Turned the gas back on slowly and tried the furnace again..same thing..cycled three times and stopped. Slept next to my black lab under every blanket I could find through the -15F night.
Took the furnace to Camping World and had it bench tested. Of course, it fired right up without issue.

Back to the trailer, reinstalled furnace, replaced gas regulator, ambient temp now +15F, nothing. Went through the same process of checking everything with no luck...

Any thoughts on what to try next? Would battery voltage effect ignition while plugged in? Is there any other circuitry I'm missing?
__________________

FiverForUs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 05:50 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 107
If I follow your procedure you tried the furnace, no go, lit the stove, all good, then drained the line through the stove and tried the furnace again with no luck. Could be no propane at the furnace when it tried to ignite. Light the stove then try the furnace without draining the line. Possible there was just not enough propane at the furnace when it tried to ignite.
__________________

__________________
Barry and Lisa
with 2 Tollers!

2016 F350 PSD
2010 Jayco 30.5 RLS
Bearles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 05:54 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 21
I cycled the furnace about a dozen times because I thought that might be the case as well. Sorry..forgot about that.
FiverForUs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 07:59 AM   #4
Lost in the Woods
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 149
Isn't is still under warrantee?

My furnace is a two stage unit and I have to put the fan on high so that it will blow the flap that starts the process of lighting. I don't know the technical terms but it won't start on low. I don't know the reasons but it works that way on mine. And it acts like yours when the fan is on low.
3330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 08:16 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Missouri City, The Republic of Texas
Posts: 3,011
Works on the bench but not in the TT? In my shade tree mechanic days (read: Youth) if I had a problem getting an engine to start I'd start with the "big 3", Fire, Fuel and Air. Something in the supply line to the furnace blocking gas flow?
__________________
Cheers,
T_

2013 F-350 CC SB 2WD 6.7PS
2013 Eagle Premier 351 RLTS
-SOLD- 2012 X23B
-SOLD- 2003 Ford Expedition 5.4, Bilstein shocks
RedHorse1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 06:00 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lander, Wyoming
Posts: 588
Did you take the furnace itself to CW or take the trailer with the furnace in it? If you took the furnace out, then as said above, it might be a blockage in the supply lines which would not have been found on the bench at SCW.
__________________
2012 GMC 2500HD D/A Crewcab
2012 Jayco Eagle SuperLite HT 26.5 RLS
2009 Crestliner Superhawk 1900
2013 Polaris Sportsman 550 EXP
2008 Polaris Sportsman 700 X2
jal0710 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 04:13 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lower NY
Posts: 50
We had two situations. One was a defective pressure regulator (furnace relay kept cycling, furnace came on for several seconds and suttoff). Second was a pinched hose, service disconnected hose and rerouted - sure was a cold nite (brand new unit).
DJsFolly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 09:46 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 21
Didn't make it up there this weekend so it will be next weekend before I can try some of these ideas out. The furnace was tested outside of the trailer so there may be an issue with the supply line. more to follow..
FiverForUs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 02:50 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Roseville, MI
Posts: 4
If furnace was removed from coach, then either blocked/kinked supply line, poor electrical ground (Gas valve needs 9 or volts greater to "open"). At near zero temps my tanks would not fully empty and auto switch over didn't change over to "full" tank. Manually switched tanks and bingo the furnace worked!
ZX14GUY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 02:34 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
We had a similar problem. Crawl underneath and look at gas line routing. Ours was kinked coming out of junction box and gas could not flow to furnace. Had to reroute line and relocate junction box.
__________________

__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.