Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2016, 01:00 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Tifton
Posts: 10
Ground Fault Circuit 2000 Jayco 2930 Fifth Wheel

I have a Ground Fault Circuit problem in the bathroom on a 2000 Jayco 2930 Fifth Wheel. It had worked fine then all of a sudden it doesn't work anymore. It does not have voltage coming to it. I've checked the other 110 volt receptacles throughout the camper for loose connections and even replaced one old one that wasn't make a good connection with a house type receptacle. Did not help.
Where does it get power from? I've checked all the breakers. They have 109 volts (wish it was at least 110) and good grounds. I'm plugged up at a campground. Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

mbeards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 01:40 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Elizabethtown, PA
Posts: 1,540
Did you check to see if any outdoor receptacles are tripped sometimes Jayco wires the outside recept. first then to the bathroom
__________________

__________________
2004 Jay Feather 25E
2001 Ford Expedition 4X4 EB 5.4 3.55 rear
2004 Ford Expedition 4X4 EB 5.4 3.73 rear
bedrck46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 02:34 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Tifton
Posts: 10
Thanks. I checked the outside receptacle. No power going to it either.
mbeards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 02:50 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
tnchuck100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sparta, TN
Posts: 1,174
You state there is no power to the GFCI receptacle. Correct? The GFCI receptacle can get its power from any other receptacle physically located anywhere between the GFCI location and the converter breaker panel. Usually, not always, the GFCI will have a straight run to the breaker. At this point I would check the voltage coming from each breaker. Not finding a problem there I would look at receptacles in a possible path to the GFCI. These will NOT be near a water source such as a sink or outside outlets. Those will be downstream of the GFCI.
__________________
Chuck - Sparta, TN
2012 Jay Flight 22FB, 2 x Honda EU2000i
2013 GMC Yukon XL Denali AWD

EDUCATION is what you get when you read the fine print.....
EXPERIENCE is what you get when you don't.
tnchuck100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 02:56 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: north central Iowa
Posts: 303
Sometimes a GFI outlet will fail. Does the reset button on the outlet stay in when depressed? As a next step I would probably replace the GFI outlet.
__________________
2014 Eagle Premier 361REQS
2013 Ford F350 Crew w/ 6.7 diesel
sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 03:28 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Tifton
Posts: 10
The GFCI does not have voltage coming to it. I've checked the other 110 volt receptacles throughout the camper for loose connections and even replaced one old one that wasn't make a good connection with a house type receptacle. I've already checked all connections and voltage and grounds at circuit breakers. Everything is good there
mbeards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 05:56 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
hoppers4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Port Orchard
Posts: 1,142
If the breaker is good and the output of the breaker is tight and there's no power at the input of the GFI, that only leaves one ugly option. The wire doesn't make from point A to point B.

You could start by ringing all three wires. Hook your meter up to the black wire at the breaker, run a long jumper from the other end of the suspect wire to the other lead on your meter and see what you've got. Do the same with the ground and white wire. Maybe all three aren't open and one of them will ring out. If you don't find a path through any of the three, then the wire got chopped in two somewhere.
__________________
Don
------------
2015 Greyhawk 29MV
Honda CRV toad with Blue Ox baseplate
Ready Brute Elite towbar with braking system
Hughes autoformer
TST 507 Flowthru TPMS
hoppers4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 02:58 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Tifton
Posts: 10
Yeah, the somewhere is the big question. I checked all three wires. No continuity on the black wire. I've taken all receptacles loose to check if it had come loose from them by some chance. everything was good. I did have to replace the main power cord to the camper a few days ago because the end that plugs in at the box on the campsite was bad and getting really hot. Since then this particular receptacle has not worked. It would seem odd that the black wire just broke at some unknown place in the wall. I'm not going to take the paneling off for just one receptacle. Thanks
mbeards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 08:10 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
hoppers4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Port Orchard
Posts: 1,142
Without a doubt, that's a gnarly problem. I would have to say that if one out of three wires is open, something rubbing or flexing the romex had to open it. A squirrel chewing on the wire would have a tough time getting through the copper. The replacement of your main power plug was a coincidence unrelated to the open wire problem.

I had to replace my main power plug too because I was getting really hot and showed some melting around the black/hot lead. I dissected the potted plug and found a bad crimp on black.
__________________
Don
------------
2015 Greyhawk 29MV
Honda CRV toad with Blue Ox baseplate
Ready Brute Elite towbar with braking system
Hughes autoformer
TST 507 Flowthru TPMS
hoppers4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 10:18 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,001
If there is no power supply to the GFI outlet the issue is the before it. You checked the breaker, which is good. So the issue is between the breaker and Gfi. You say you do not want to pull the fuse/converter panel and check the wire connections behind the panel. I would bet when you replaced the main power feed you wiggled the wire which was loose and now it's not making a connection.

There was a lot of talk on the forum a few years back about loose wires at the terminals . I had a loose wire connection, I tighten them all down, and a number of them were snug, but not tight.

Make sure to be disconnected from the shore power, when you pull the panel. It is a rats nest behind it.

I hate to say it, but you need to fix the issue, or disconnect the wire from the breaker. If you do have a bad wire, and you have power feed to the "short", you could have an electrical fire in the future.
__________________

Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.