Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-07-2020, 03:36 PM   #1

Help for winter. New owner

New fifth wheel owner. Winter
Hey everyone. My names Curtis. My wife and I purchased a 2008 jayco eagle in the summer. We plan to try stay in it all winter with shore power available. Do t get me wrong I’m still learning this rig from top to bottom. I want to build a skirt for it very soon as it’s already hitting close to 0 during the night. I’m so lost. My other huge worry is the furnace and carbon monoxide. I’ve bought 3 detectors and scattered them around. Alternative heat would be great. I got from a friend from his food truck about 13 4x8 sheets of foam/insulation. Winters in Ontario are rough so I’m not sure if that will be ok. Thanks for any advice at all Jayco eagle 2008 291RLTS
Curtis20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2020, 05:40 PM   #2

Not to rain (more likely snow) on your parade but I'm not sure there is any way to keep this RV comfortable and avoid frozen plumbing that's not going to be costly as far as heating. Unless this rig was built with one heck of a thermal package (floor, walls, ceiling, underbelly) you're going to be losing a lot of heat. In looking at average temperatures you could have 2 or 3 months where the temperature never gets above freezing. Are you going to be heating with electric or propane? Propane weighs 4.24 lbs per gallon and 1 gallon will provide about 3 hours of heating, so a 30 lb tank will provide about 21 hours of constant furnace operation so your need for propane will depend a lot on how well the RV holds that heat. Maybe you can stretch that out to 4 or 5 days, it still means 30 lbs per week uninterrupted. Do you have a reliable supply?

2018 Jayco 28RLS
2012 F-250 6.2L 3.73
Equalizer Hitch
Yamaha 2400ISHC
2edgesword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2020, 05:41 PM   #3