Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2015, 06:55 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 6
Help! (kitchen light switch)

So I have a switch panel in the wall with 2 switches. One controls the living room ceiling lights, and the other the kitchen ones. The kitchen light switch isn't working.

I replaced all the fuses, but no dice.

So I got a 12 volt test light, pulled out the light switch panel, and this is what I'm looking at.

Can someone please tell me how I test if there's current? There are a total of 5 wires. 3 brown, 1 red, and 1 green.
__________________

Han Solo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 07:39 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
dalebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Waconia, MN
Posts: 433
Can you get the clip part of your test light to a ground point (Frame) of your trailer?
If you can, then probe each of the wires with both switches off and tell us which wires turn the test light on.
__________________

dalebra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 07:41 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
dalebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Waconia, MN
Posts: 433
A couple more pics would help too. 1 of the front too.
dalebra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 09:02 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
NVGun40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Eagle River, AK
Posts: 810
the brown and red wire look to be connected to a simple two position switch (on and off). The other brown green and then brown seem to be connected to a three position switch (I assume an on/off/on -- or perhaps the other switch is not to a light set/ out/off/in or something like that) Perhaps disconnect the wires from the non working lights and do a continuity test across the switch points and then go from there.
__________________
We are just a humble drinking couple with a hunting and camping problem.
2015 White Hawk 25BHS Glacier Package
2004 Dodge Ram 2500, 5.7 Hemi, 5Spd Manual
2008 Arctic Cat M1000 SnoPro
Previous: Northface tent/Komfort 5er/Jamboree MH
Lance Cabover/Prowler TT/WildernessTT/Tiltin Hiltin Cabover/Starcraft popup
NVGun40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 09:08 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
hoppers4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Port Orchard
Posts: 1,165
Those crimp on connectors can be fussy. Get a pair of pliers and squeeze them again, one by one. The connection is made by a pointy piece of metal pushing through the insulation and they don't make a very good connection. If you have power to your overhead lights, then power is present to the switches. It's either a bad switch or a bad crimp connection and I'd put my bet on the crimp connection.
__________________
Don
hoppers4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 09:14 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
dalebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Waconia, MN
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoppers4 View Post
Those crimp on connectors can be fussy. Get a pair of pliers and squeeze them again, one by one. The connection is made by a pointy piece of metal pushing through the insulation and they don't make a very good connection. If you have power to your overhead lights, then power is present to the switches. It's either a bad switch or a bad crimp connection and I'd put my bet on the crimp connection.
I agree with hoppers4. It is most likely a poor connection with those type of connectors. You can get better "Spade" type connectors that have a crimp connection instead of a piercing connection.
dalebra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 10:26 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Missouri City, The Republic of Texas
Posts: 3,006
Like NVGun says, the switch on the right looks to be an on/off switch. The one on the left may be a spring loaded switch (returns to the center when toggled). If that's the case it probably is also connected thru a remote control box. Do you have a remote?
If the switch feels loose or floppy (not spring loaded) then it's probably broken. I've had one.
Next I'd squeeze the connectors as posted above.
No luck, I'd suspect the remote controller, there are relays that could be bad and connectors that could also be bad.
You don't say what rig or year you have. That would also help with diagnosis.
Keep in touch!
__________________
Cheers,
T_

2013 F-350 CC SB 2WD 6.7PS
2013 Eagle Premier 351 RLTS
-SOLD- 2012 X23B
-SOLD- 2003 Ford Expedition 5.4, Bilstein shocks
RedHorse1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 11:54 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 6
Thanks for the replies, everyone! I'll try the tips tomorrow.

It's a 2011 Jayco pinnacle.

Thanks again, I'll keep you guys posted.

:-)
Han Solo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 12:04 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
What did you ever figure out????
__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 12:06 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,498
Ever check to make sure it wasn't turned off at the light ?
__________________

__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.