Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-10-2017, 01:45 PM   #1

Help With Swivel Wheel Trailer Fabrication

Has anybody built a swivel wheel trailer? Or does anybody have a swivel wheel trailer I can get some good pictures of? I'm a pipefitter/welder by trade and can build one, just interested in how they designed the hitching and the ability to lift up and out of the way when not in use. I'll be traveling to Iowa from Texas sometime this year and would like to take my golf cart on the back of my 377RLBH without breaking out $2k... It's got to be less than a thousand dollars worth of material. Thanks in advance!
Old 04-10-2017, 01:58 PM   #2

"Swivel Wheel" and "Trailer" strike me as a contradiction.

I know I would want the safety of fixed wheels on anything I'm towing down the road at double-nickels or better.

I use 3-point implements routinely to mow and keep the dirt road and driveways pleasant. Those implements require casters at the rear because of the way they hitch to the tractor.

What you are proposing would require a fixed attachment to the tow vehicle. The trailer's tongue would have to slide into the receiver with no possibility of left-right movement at the attaching point. But you would still have to provide up-and-down flexibility so that the rig wont break when traveling on non-level ground.

I guess there is a good reason that there are plenty of small utility trailers with a regular ball coupler and fixed axle?

Sitting in The Cheap Seats.
And proud of it!
mike837go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 02:13 PM   #3

Not what you are asking about, but I just sold one of these. I wasn't using it anymore..

1090 lb. Capacity 40-1/2 in x 48 in Utility Trailer

Less than 300 bucks for the trailer a nice wood top and some anchor points. I towed extra camping gear on it when we had our SUV.