Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2017, 06:07 PM   #1
Member
 
360Bridges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 74
Internet Cable - Where do I bring it in?

We have internet cable being installed as we will be where we are for several months... My question, where or how should I have the installer bring the cable into the RV, a window, a hole, or? How did you route your cable inside? I was considering up into the laundry closet but Im not sure how or where the wiring is routed to get up there. We use DTV Sattelite for TV... the cable for internet is via Xfinity/Comcast.

THANKS!

#Cable Installation for Internet
__________________
Greg & Shana Bridges (Seattle Area)
2012 Jayco Pinnacle REQS Rear Entertainment Quad Slides
F/T
360Bridges is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 06:28 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,036
Some RV owners will use one of these with satellite antennas and temporary through a window;
https://www.amazon.com/Valley-Enterp.../dp/B001WAPIRW
abarkl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 06:38 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
clarche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 110
I would not drill a hole for a temporary setup. Go with the window connection with the flat wire adapter as mentioned above.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
clarche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 06:49 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Abilene
Posts: 579
Quote:
Originally Posted by abarkl View Post
Some RV owners will use one of these with satellite antennas and temporary through a window;
https://www.amazon.com/Valley-Enterp.../dp/B001WAPIRW
That's a good solution.
I've used those before for sat TV.

If you have a power cord entry that isn't a shore power connection, you can fish the coax through along side the power cable too.

Good luck.
Vaquero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 06:50 PM   #5
Site Team
 
Mustang65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clearwater, FL area
Posts: 5,196
A few years ago I had opted to get internet cable from the local cable company. The CG's AP was old and out of range. We will not discuss the cost for the install/service. I used the existing cable that is installed in the TT. I put a cable splitter just before the TV amp by the media center and connected a 4' piece of coax to the splitter and had the cable company connect the cable router to it. They were a little hesitant, but agreed to do it. I hooked my Wi-Fi router to their cable modem and accessed the Internet through the Wi-Fi router. The tech even did a data test on the circuit (I believe he wanted to prove me wrong) and was happy with the results. He then said he was going to do his future RV installs this way.... less work... more time for coffee. The cable/OTA TV signal was unaffected.

I now use the EnGenius ENS202EXT Wi-Fi signal extender, good for 1.5 miles, line of site.

Sorry, just noticed you use sat tv, if it uses the prewire... ignore all this.

Don
__________________
2013 Jayco Eagle 284BHS
2012 Ford F150XLT, EcoBoost w/3.73,Max Tow Pkg.
Our Solar Album https://www.jaycoowners.com/album.php?albumid=329
Mustang65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 07:05 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Denver
Posts: 1,578
Maybe research diplexers.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diplexer

You can run your satellite signal, AND your comcast signal through the same cable if done properly.

If you have the option - easy mode is to lose the satellite, pay comcast a little more and get your TV and Internet from the same provider during this period. Does comcast even offer internet service in areas where they don't also offer cable TV?

Then, as I mentioned in that other thread where you asked the same question - you just use the existing connector on your camper to bring both signals inside in the same cable, no holes, no weird adapters, or thingies in the window (over winter no less). Just add a splitter at that point and you can run your cable modem off one leg, your TV's off the other.

If you are dead set on having 2 seperate service providers, look into the diplexers or fish a new wire I guess. Sounds like too much effort honestly to go that route.
__________________
2016 27BHS Elite
2012 F-150 EcoBoost / Max Tow (Sold)
2017 'Blue Jeans' 6.2 F-250 Lariat 4.3 gears.
bansai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 07:12 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
twadd10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Rainbow City
Posts: 135
I work for an ISP. Normally we just run cat5 cable into the basement storage area and plug the modem/router into an power outlet there ( that is if the cx is only using wifi ). That makes for an easy clean install without making permanent holes. Also around the bottom corner of a slide seal works if your careful fishing the wire through.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920A using Tapatalk
twadd10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 07:13 PM   #8
Member
 
360Bridges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 74
Thanks all!

We did not know those flat coax cables existed that will be the way we go! We are going to try to run the cable to the garage and set the router there, we should be able to obtain a strong enough signal through there.

THANKS GUYS!
__________________
Greg & Shana Bridges (Seattle Area)
2012 Jayco Pinnacle REQS Rear Entertainment Quad Slides
F/T
360Bridges is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 09:05 PM   #9
Member
 
Rjhuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Urbana
Posts: 43
Why not just bring the cable in through the slid out seals?
That's what I do when I need an additional cable connection.
Rick
__________________
Rick & Debbie; Brandy & Schnoodle (Dexter & Fritz R.I.P.) the Doxie "Kids"
2015 Jayco Pinnacle 36RSQS 5'er
2018 GMC Sierra Denali 3500HD, 6.6L Diesel Dually; B&W Companion 5'er hitch
ScanGauge, TST 507 TPMS
Rjhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2017, 10:38 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
taviking22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 272
When we summer-over at our location in Alaska, our ISP/TV's Cat 5 cable is slipped through the bottom of our entertainment slide's gasket to an interior cabinet with an outlet. No drilling, etc. Works for us!
__________________
taviking22

'06 2500 Silverado 4X4, Duramax LBZ Diesel, Firestone air bags
'08 Tracker Pro Guide V-16 Boat
'12 Pinnacle 31RLTS
taviking22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2022, 07:30 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Bend
Posts: 1
Where do I bring in internet cable in my Jayco Pinnacle?
OrDot37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2022, 07:45 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 13,668
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrDot37 View Post
Where do I bring in internet cable in my Jayco Pinnacle?
Which floorplan? As was mentioned early in this thread the flat cable for windows can be used numerous places, through a slide seal being the easiest.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2022, 09:47 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
kirkelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: ridgecrest
Posts: 1,014
Are you getting cable tv installed with broadband internet? If so and if your TT is equipped with coax, the installer will install a cable modem/cableTV CONVERTER (one box) using your internal factory coax. It will get a little tricky if you are using both sat tv and broadband internet. If this is the case, then I would follow instructions from the ISP poster. Install the cable modem and your WiFi router in your basement. Your WiFi will work just fine sitting in the basement. What year and model travel trailer do you have
kirkelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.