Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 02-16-2013, 11:00 PM   #1

jlhende

I'm new at this...
2013 pinnacle 36RLQS pulled by a 2013 Chev crew cab 4x4 diesel 6.6,3.73 swr with engine braking....5r is 11,700 unloaded with a GVWR of 15950. Truck has GCWR of 24,500 lbs. with max tow of 15,800 lbs. and max pin of 3,000 lbs. Can't imagine ever having cargo in excess of 2500 lbs. Both the rv dealer and chev dealer tell me this is a safe match. Would like some experienced 5 towers opinions before I purchase the Pinnacle. Already have the truck. Thanks.
jlhende is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 06:00 AM   #2

We have a Pinnacle 35LKTS and the "Yellow - As Built" sticker on the entry door and outside on the Front Left Side which is the Goverment Required "As Built Weight" at Jayco (includes caculated Propane Bottle's full) is 12,981 lbs.

The Jayco brochure shows our Pinnacle's "Unloaded Vehicle Weight" at 11,565 lbs, quite a difference from the Yellow "As Built" Label Weight at 12,981 lbs.
The factory brochure weight is the base line weight with no options, ours does have Dual Pane windows, 2 A/C units, Mor Ryde Hitch, 12 Cu Ft 4 Door Refig, Central Vac, Generator Prep and such.
All of these options add weight to the Jayco brochure base weight which is no options at all, only standard items like 1 A/C Unit, standard 10 Cu Ft double door Refig, single pane windows, no bedroom TV and so on.
For example, even though we do not have a Generator (only Generator Prep) the Yellow "As Built" label includes the caculated weight of the Generator Gas Tank full of fuel.

Make sure you read the "Yellow" as built label on the Pinnacle you are looking at so you can make a informed decision.

We fulltime in our Pinnacle so we carry more stuff than the typical "weekend user", for example we do have a stackable Washer / Dryer in our Pinnacle.