Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 01-17-2016, 10:09 AM   #1

New to fifth wheel

Got a question. I had a TT before and as you know you can't jack knife a TT without hitting the A frame and I never had any issues backing up into a camp site. Now that I bought a fifth wheel, which I don't have yet, people are talking about jack knifing the fifth wheel and buying a slider hitch not to hit the cab. In my mind if you need to jackknife your trailer maybe you shouldn't be there in the first place I am asking this question because I am searching for a hitch for my 2015 F250 diesel, 6 3/4 foot box. I see on the forum that there is mixed opinions on getting or not getting a slider hitch. I know this thread has been talked over and over, just want to understand why people jackknife their trailer, I have zero experience pulling a fifth wheel but once you hit a certain angle, only the nose of the trailer will move and not the wheels, am I right?
Old 01-17-2016, 10:52 AM   #2

We're new to a fifth wheel too and from my VERY limited experience, it's based on the way the 5er pivots while turning. In our driveway with the TT I would never come close to hitting the A-frame, but with he 5er I'm almost jackknifed making the same turn. Overall length behind the TV is about the same with both units.

I'm going to watch his thread closely though as I'm sure someone with more experience will provide a better answer, and hopefully a few tips too
robkelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2016, 11:10 AM   #3