Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2019, 10:25 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Zuzieq981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Carlsbad
Posts: 17
No Heat!

We have a Pinnacle 38FB? . It's getting cold in New Mexico so my husband says he turned on the heat marked 'elec/gas' he says he felt not ice cold but not warm air coming from the ceiling so he closed all the ceiling vents. He didnt feel the furnace start or any air at all come from the floor vents. When I left 2 weeks ago to visit the grandkids the 30 gallon tank of propane was 1/2 full. He says that after waking up to the interior of the RV being 41 degrees, he went out and check the propane which he says was empty so he switched tanks. Still no heat or even air coming from floor vents. I asked a friend who said the 'electric' part of the air comes from the ceiling whereas the 'gas" comes from the floor. Cant get a repair guy out until next Wednesday any ideas? And I'm a bit worried about exactly where the propane is going. The fireplace does work.
Zuzieq981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2019, 12:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Iraqvet05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1,689
I don't know the specifics on a Pinnacle but you can check some simple things. Is the battery fully charged or are you hooked up to shore power? Can you turn on a stove burner to see if there is sufficient propane?
__________________
2018 28BHBE
2017 Ford F250 XLT, 6.2 gasser
2013 26BH (traded)
Iraqvet05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2019, 01:28 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 2,880
If I didn't know better it sounds like your turning on the water heater, not the furnace. The furnace control will be located at the thermostat, not in the control panel.
__________________
2012 Eagle 320 RLDS
2017 Ford F-250 FX4 Crew STX 6.2l
3.73 E-locker
TCNashville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2019, 01:42 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Skidawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Plover, WI
Posts: 122
X2
__________________
David & Carol Wetuski
CSM, US Army (Retired)
2021 Pinnacle 32RLTS
2016 RAM 6.7L
Riley & Ruger, Rhodesian Ridgebacks
ROLL TIDE ROLL !!!
Skidawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2019, 01:53 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
dennis b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Hartford
Posts: 2,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by TCNashville View Post
If I didn't know better it sounds like your turning on the water heater, not the furnace. The furnace control will be located at the thermostat, not in the control panel.
x 3
__________________
2015 Fi50 3.5 Ecoboost w/tow max
2018 Flagstaff Super Lite 29RKWS
2011 Jayco 28BHS
2005 F150 Platinum/Roush Package


WHERE EVER YOU GO....THERE YOU ARE
dennis b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2019, 02:53 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Zuzieq981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Carlsbad
Posts: 17
Yes we are hooked to shore power. Yes the stove and fireplace will light.
Zuzieq981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2019, 04:44 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Magnolia Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Magnolia
Posts: 4,797
Just to be clear, the fireplace is electric not gas.

You may need to check the reset switch.
__________________
2016 North Point 377 RLBH, with a few mods, disc brakes, shocks, Sailun g rated tires, wet bolts
2014 Ford F350 Platinum sold
2017 Ford F350 Lariat, CC, 6.7PSD, DRW, Trailer Saver BD3 hitch

Magnolia Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2019, 04:46 PM   #8
Lost in the Woods
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 256
Furnace issues are almost always fan switch problems.
Danno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2019, 06:50 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
ALJO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Sparwood, BC
Posts: 2,792
Send a message via Skype™ to ALJO
Be sure when switching tanks to try to lite the stove burners first, then try the furnace through the TH (Thermostat). Go outside to the furnace outlet and be sure heat comes out the furnace exhaust. If not and you don't hear the fan running try to reset the furnace. If you can't find a reset try the battery disconnect. Off/and On
__________________
2014 Ram 1500 CrewCab 4x4 5.7 Hemi 3.92 Rear and Air Lift 1000
2005 Jayco Jay Feather LGT - 29Y GVWR-7000 lbs.
Dexter Axle Lift 4-9/16" - installed with sub-frame.
Pro Series 1200 lbs. WDH with Double Sway Bar.
Champion 3100/2800 watt Inverter/Generator-Onboard Solar Power
ALJO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2019, 07:54 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 10,899
He turned on the Heat Pump thus the warm air from the vents if you want the furnace only use the gas setting.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2019, 02:36 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Zuzieq981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Carlsbad
Posts: 17
Good to know about the fireplace!
Zuzieq981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2019, 07:38 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Gilmer, Texas
Posts: 883
Quote:
Originally Posted by TCNashville View Post
If I didn't know better it sounds like your turning on the water heater, not the furnace. The furnace control will be located at the thermostat, not in the control panel.
X4
__________________
S.A.Young
2011 321RLTS
2012 Chevy duramax dually
poohbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 06:56 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Mountain Home
Posts: 11
HP won’t do anything if outside ambient temps are below 40 degrees. Your propane furnace and electric fireplace are what you need to use
Sassy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 07:06 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
DonaandDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Kingston
Posts: 1,204
Have you turned the furnace off waited two minutes and then turned it back on? If I run out of propane while the furnace was in the on position, I will need to turn it off and wait.

__________________
Don & Donna Stout

E-9 Anchor Clanker
Full timers since 2010
2017 North Point 381 DLQS
2015 F-250 6.7 w/Timbrens
DonaandDon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 08:49 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: MANITOWOC
Posts: 28
The igniter in mine runs on 12v. I've found that it often won't ignite unless I shut off anything else that draws from 12v. Once the furnace ignites, I can turn everything else back on
Wisco Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 08:58 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Coos bay
Posts: 62
There is a furnace switch

I had the same issue with our new Precept 31. Next day I called the service center and they walked me through the steps.:
Take the outside cover off where the furnace in and out flues are and there in the front of the furnace there is a Black On & Off switch. I flipped it to On replaced the outside cover and everything Worked perfect after that.
Hope this works for you.
__________________
Our Beautiful country
Extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 07:07 AM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Brookfield
Posts: 5
We had the same issue and found the "secret" switch on top of the furnace in the basement - it still didn't work. Since we had the rig in for other work, we had the techs check it out, and it turned out the sewer flush fitting above the furnace was loose and leaked water onto the control board, shorting it out. They replaced the control board, tightened up the fittings, and we were no longer shivering through the unseasonably cool weather in Austin.
Elinem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.