Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 10-09-2021, 10:53 AM   #1

No RV Anti-freeze to Hot Water Lines

Hello- hoping someone has seen this before and can offer some guidance!
I have a new to me 2012 Jayco Pinnacle 36KPTS. We bought it this spring, and the RV dealership de-winterized it before we took possession. This is my first time winterizing the unit. I have set the valves to the heater by-pass position as per the owner's manual. I have set the other valves to "Sanitize/Winterize" positions. I am using the City Water connection to suck the antifreeze into the system. All Low Point drains are closed. The water tank Valve is closed. I can get the antifreeze to flow to all of my cold water outlets. No antifreeze flows from my hot water outlets.
October99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2021, 10:57 AM   #2

Sounds like maybe the water heater bypass valve is not operating properly...
if you open the water heater drain plug do you see anti-freeze coming out?
(2019 NP 383FKWS)
(2019 RAM 3500 DRW Big Horn)
Topperace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2021, 11:21 AM   #3

Thanks for that. The pump takes up the antifreeze and stops when it is fully pressured. The pump kicks in again when I turn on a cold water tap- in this case I am using the outside shower tap and antifreeze begins to draw out of the jug. . If I turn on the outside shower hot water tap, the pump remains off and there is neither flow from that tap nor antifreeze flowing out of the hot water tank- I have removed the Anode and released the pressure tab.
I have tried this will all hot water outlets in the RV in case the issue was isolated to the outside shower tap.
Old 10-09-2021, 11:33 AM   #4

Did you change 2 or 3 valves on the water heater? There may be a 3rd on a piece of pipe connecting the cold side to hot side that you need to open.
Old 10-09-2021, 12:04 PM   #5