Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2016, 02:53 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
The Logans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Ona
Posts: 632
Shore power cord

As far as I know all new RV's come with a 25 foot shore power cord, all of ours have. I got a 25 foot 30a RV extension cord to carry with us, but I've only had to use it once.
__________________

__________________
The Logan's
2018 Jayco Alante 31v
Me, Dear Wife,
2 Bluetick Hounds
1 Newfoundland
1 Newfoundland / Black Lab Mix
1 Cairn Terrier
The Logans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 03:01 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Aero_Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Boston
Posts: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Force View Post
Dave did your camper come with a shore power cord or did you have to buy one at the dealership?

If it came with one I'm guessing it's only 25 or 30'?

I'm going to need a 50' to reach my outside 30A plug, wondering what the camper comes with or if I just look for one online now.
Yes it comes with one. Not sure if its 25' or 30'. I know its at least 25'.
I have a 50' Heavy Duty 15Amp cord now & the 2 reach each other and it might have 5' slack left. So I want to get a 50' 30Amp cord now.

Dave...
__________________

__________________
2013 Ram 2500, 6.7 CTD, CCLB 4x4 in True Blue.
B&W Turnover Ball, Andersen Ultimate Hitch (v2)

2016 Eagle HT 29.5 BHDS Picked-up 4/1/16
2007 Rockwood ROO 21SS - SOLD
Aero_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 03:16 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Inthewind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Spring Branch
Posts: 144
While this thread is going I have a question.

We haven't picked our 317RLOK up yet and would like to know what I'm going to need by way of special outlets or cords to connect at home? Its coming with a 50 amp service.

Thanks
__________________
2016 317RLOK
2016 Ram 3500 Lonestar, CC, 4X4, 6.7 CTD, AISIN, 3.43, B&W Companion RVK3600 (Ram puck drop in) with Reese Elite 5th Airborne Sidewinder.
Inthewind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 03:55 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Force's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Rochester, MA
Posts: 378
Thanks Dave & Mr. Logan, I'll start by looking into an extension cord type as I bet most times I won't need 50' at a campsite, just in the driveway.
__________________
Tom
2017 F250 Lariat Super Duty Crew Cab, 4x4, 6.7L Power Stroke
2016 Jayco Eagle HT 29.5 BHDS

Force is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 03:58 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Force's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Rochester, MA
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inthewind View Post
While this thread is going I have a question.

We haven't picked our 317RLOK up yet and would like to know what I'm going to need by way of special outlets or cords to connect at home? Its coming with a 50 amp service.

Thanks
If you want full 50A you'll need to install something like this:

GE 50 Amp Temporary RV Power Outlet-U054P - The Home Depot

If you don't need to run the entire camper at once (your A/C's in particular) you can easily get away with a 30A box, just need a converter to change your 50A shore power plug to a 30A:

GE 30 Amp Temporary RV Power Outlet-U013P - The Home Depot

You'll need to wire the outside box to a 50A or 30A breaker back in your main panel to go with those of course.
__________________
Tom
2017 F250 Lariat Super Duty Crew Cab, 4x4, 6.7L Power Stroke
2016 Jayco Eagle HT 29.5 BHDS

Force is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 04:47 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Inthewind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Spring Branch
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Force View Post
If you want full 50A you'll need to install something like this:

GE 50 Amp Temporary RV Power Outlet-U054P - The Home Depot

If you don't need to run the entire camper at once (your A/C's in particular) you can easily get away with a 30A box, just need a converter to change your 50A shore power plug to a 30A:

GE 30 Amp Temporary RV Power Outlet-U013P - The Home Depot

You'll need to wire the outside box to a 50A or 30A breaker back in your main panel to go with those of course.
Thanks Force. Great info.

I looked for some info on these topics on here but was unable to find anything but I did find this on another website: RV Electric

Its a great link to help you understand the differences between 30 and 50 amp electrical services you will encounter on your RV and at campgrounds. It also shows you how to make inexpensive outlet testers, so you can test BEFORE you plug your camper into a campground service, that could possibly damage your trailer.

It will help everyone who may want to install RV service at their house for their campers.

Theres also this:30-amp RV outlet Tester on how to make an inexpensive, easy-to-read, 30 AMP outlet tester.

Maybe we can make this a sticky if theres not anything on this forum that I might have missed?
__________________
2016 317RLOK
2016 Ram 3500 Lonestar, CC, 4X4, 6.7 CTD, AISIN, 3.43, B&W Companion RVK3600 (Ram puck drop in) with Reese Elite 5th Airborne Sidewinder.
Inthewind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 04:48 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
spepi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Mansfield, MA
Posts: 373
When I am parked at home, its plugged in all the time. Fridge is on, and now with the new one 29.5 BHDS I will have the rear fridge on all the time. I have a 30 amp dedicated breaker in the basement going to a 30 amp plug. My cord is a 25' 50 amp cord, and the dealer gave me the converter adapter to allow me to use 30 amp.
__________________
2013 GMC Sierra 2500HD SLT
2016 Jayco Eagle HT 29.5 BHDS
JT StrongArms

(Traded 2015 Toyota Tundra SR5 Double Cab with Timbrens)
spepi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 05:13 PM   #18
Site Team
 
Crabman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia`s Eastern Shore
Posts: 14,658
I`m just using my home`s 15 amp recept with a 15 to 30 adapter. But I only keep it plugged in to run the converter, frig, lights etc. No heavy draws like AC or Microwave.
__________________
2017 Coachmen Catalina 283RKS
2004 Chevy 2500 HD CC 6.0l
2010 Jayflight 28BHS (sold)
Crabman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 05:29 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,114
The radio is connected to the 12 volt system, so unless you disconnect the battery by on means or another, all your 12volti tems will still work.

The only breaker I flip intentionally is the 120 volt breaker for the water heater. Reason being, I often drain the water heater and often when dry camping we do not use the water heater, and we'll have the bypass valves turnex too. Flipping that breaker ensures I will not burn up the heating element, or thermal protection switch, if the water heater switch is acidentally turned on.
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 07:08 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
ccso2213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Sylacauga, AL
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inthewind View Post
While this thread is going I have a question.



We haven't picked our 317RLOK up yet and would like to know what I'm going to need by way of special outlets or cords to connect at home? Its coming with a 50 amp service.



Thanks


Inthewind, I bought this to just precool my fridge, keep battery charged, etc while at home. Connects to 15 amp cord and don't need to drag the whole cord out of storage. I have the outside connection for my cord, not stored in the mouse hole.
RV POWER CORD ADAPTER 50 AMP TO 15 AMP DETACHABLE TWIST LOCK PIGTAIL MALE FEMALE https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00VRY919Y..._ywVbxbR68KVRM
__________________

__________________
2016 Jayflight 29 bhds
2005 Chevy 2500HD
ccso2213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.