Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2016, 07:29 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
Inthewind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Spring Branch
Posts: 144
Thanks for the suggestions and replys to my question. The reason I'll need to have full power is its going to be used as a guest house for the in-laws at the end of May in Texas so more than likely both A/C units will need to be running.
__________________

__________________
2016 317RLOK
2016 Ram 3500 Lonestar, CC, 4X4, 6.7 CTD, AISIN, 3.43, B&W Companion RVK3600 (Ram puck drop in) with Reese Elite 5th Airborne Sidewinder.
Inthewind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 12:29 PM   #22
Junior Member
 
SylviaW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Davis
Posts: 16
Roy Ken, this diagram is priceless. Thank you so much.
__________________

__________________
Me and the dog (Maisy, 10 lbs. Yorkie-Poodle)
2007 Chevy Tahoe 5.3L V8
2016 Jayco Jay Flight SLX 145RB
SylviaW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 12:35 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Jackson
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crabman View Post
I`m just using my home`s 15 amp recept with a 15 to 30 adapter. But I only keep it plugged in to run the converter, frig, lights etc. No heavy draws like AC or Microwave.
Yep, exactly what I do.
__________________
Currently between RV's, and it might stay that way !
2017 F-150 XLT 3.5 EcoBoost 10 Speed SCREW Short Bed 3.55 rear axle - 1818 lbs payload
Sold: 2015 Greyhawk 29MV, 2014 Jayco X17z, 2012 Jay Series 1207

Jopopsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2016, 09:18 PM   #24
Junior Member
 
JSumeracki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Concord
Posts: 20
We leave our 5th wheel plugged into our weatherproof (installed to code standards including a dedicated breaker) 50A outlet that I added to the outside of our garage after we bought our Jayco.

Nice thing about having the rig powered up year round is it remains at a moderate temperature to the point where winterization is minimized significantly. Furthermore we can casually unpack after a trip and re-pack anytime we want. I run the fireplace and an additional electric space heater in the winter, set to 60 degrees, both air conditioners set for 78 in the summer. I not only run the fridge year round but keep it stocked with soft drinks and water bottles and other long storage consumables. The freezer has a bunch of freeze packs in it to help stabilize temperature swings.

So far so good... I love the 24/7/365 access and ability to tinker, repair and upgrade my 5er any time I want.
JSumeracki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 04:49 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inthewind View Post
Thanks for the suggestions and replys to my question. The reason I'll need to have full power is its going to be used as a guest house for the in-laws at the end of May in Texas so more than likely both A/C units will need to be running.
If that is the case you need to have a 50 amp box installed to run your unit.
__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016, 01:31 PM   #26
Junior Member
 
Btrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Haughton
Posts: 18
i had a 50amp indoor plug installed under my house breaker panel. I'm running a 30' 50A extension cord to connect to my 36' factory cord. This way I can run full power to the rv while prepping for trips and use it as a mother-in-law suite for visitors. Parts cost me $30 and $50 for a guy to hook up my box
Btrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016, 04:35 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Inthewind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Spring Branch
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Btrow View Post
i had a 50amp indoor plug installed under my house breaker panel. I'm running a 30' 50A extension cord to connect to my 36' factory cord. This way I can run full power to the rv while prepping for trips and use it as a mother-in-law suite for visitors. Parts cost me $30 and $50 for a guy to hook up my box
Yeah, the 30' extension cord is the most expensive part of that addition!
__________________
2016 317RLOK
2016 Ram 3500 Lonestar, CC, 4X4, 6.7 CTD, AISIN, 3.43, B&W Companion RVK3600 (Ram puck drop in) with Reese Elite 5th Airborne Sidewinder.
Inthewind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016, 05:40 PM   #28
Junior Member
 
Btrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Haughton
Posts: 18
Yes it is. I'm going to build one from flat 6-3 with ground cable and store bought ends. Much cheaper then the cable I just bought for $108
__________________

__________________
Brandon
2016 Eagle HT 29.5BHDS
2012 Ram 2500 CTD MCSB
Btrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.