Jayco RV Owners Forum
 



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2017, 08:19 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Pipeliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Greenville
Posts: 16
Plugs not working

So my 15 eagle is having some issues. All th kitchen plugs including the one for microwave and fridge are out. The ones in the outside kitchen and on side of RV are out. He outdoor fridge and microwave plugs work. The fuses and breakers are good. I pressed the reset on the gfci but it did no good. Any ideas of where to check next?
__________________

Pipeliner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 08:32 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,051
It sure sounds like a GFCI is tripped, do you only have the one GFCI with the reset button. I would hit the test button then reset to see if that does anything, the reset should click if it has power
__________________

Sundancer330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 08:44 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
oldmanAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: AZ
Posts: 7,292
I believe GIFIs won't reset if there is something plugged into the circuit that has a fault.

If a circuit breaker trips, it has to be reset by pressing it to the off position and then back on. Just turning the breaker to the on position doesn't reset a tripped breaker and restore power.

How do you know there is no power to your fridge? Do you have a 'residential' fridge or the standard RV electric and propane fridge?

Were things working and suddenly quit? Or ?
__________________
Sherm & Terry w/rescues Eydie (min Schnauzer) Steve RIP (std Poodle)
2015 Jay Flight 27RLS (Nights Camped: 102 '15, 90 '16, 80 '17, 161 '18 so far)
2006 Ford F350 6.0 PSD, Lariat, 4WD, CC, LB, SRW, auto., Camper pkg.
oldmanAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 08:44 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Witt74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Picayune
Posts: 1,211
Could be a GFCI. They do go bad from time to time. Would also check the breaker with a multimeter to make sure the breaker is good.
__________________

Charlie & Lizzie the Mini Dachshunds
2008 Jayco Eagle Super Lite 30.5 RLS
2015 F350 Lariet Crew Cab Long Bed 6.7 Diesel
24 hours in a day, 24 beers in a case. Coincidence? I think not.
Witt74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 09:51 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
DonaandDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Kingston
Posts: 326
I agree with "oldmanAZ" unplug everything and start (where power comes into the RV)with the basics.
__________________
Don & Donna Stout

E-9 Anchor Clanker
Full timers since 2010
2017 North Point 381 DLQS
2015 F-250 6.7 w/Timbrens
DonaandDon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 06:56 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,609
I think it might be a different issue. The gfi, could be poped, as the frig and general kitchen outlets, as they should be tied to the gfi on the bathroom.

However, the microwave is not gfi protected. It is the only item connected to that circuit breaker branch.

Does the air conditioner work? If not I would look at the breaker that feeds the tt. If there is power there, then start working towards the tt's internal breaker box, assuming you have already flipped and rest the breakers inside the tt.

If the ac has power, then the issue is inside the tt. I would start at the gfi, and reset it, then try flipping all the circuit breakers.

From here it could get more challenging. The only thing these two branch lines have in common is the circuit breaker panel. So I would start there. Did they both die at the same time?
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 10:51 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Pipeliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Greenville
Posts: 16
Also, electric side of water heater is also down. Iím going to get to it this afternoon and see if it is plugged in to a gfci also
Pipeliner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 10:53 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Pipeliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Greenville
Posts: 16
Any yes. It all went down at the same time
Pipeliner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 11:06 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
robkelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Duxbury
Posts: 5,096
If the GFCI is okay another option is to check all the connections in the junction boxes (if you can find them). We lost power to half of the trailer and that’s what it ended up being.
__________________
Rob & Kelly, Bella & Brady (Miniature Schnauzers)
2018 Pinnacle 36KPTS
2017 RAM 3500 SRW CTD/AISIN CC LB
robkelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 12:07 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: St.Paul
Posts: 46
I have seen plugs come undone at the junction boxes. They will be in your basement behind the front wall. Usually mounted to floor. Coming from your converter they usually go to a junction box. Usually this would be one circuit though not multiple. If you give me model number I can give you schematic
__________________

mia389 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.