Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 01-10-2013, 08:41 AM   #1

Rear Bumper Mounted bike carrier

I am new to the 5th wheel world, recently purchased a Jayco Eagle Superlite 33.5 QBDS. My questions is, can I put a bike carrier on the rear bumper. I had it mounted on my TT and never had a problem however I keep seeing post on this forum as well as others that say not to. Does anyone know the true weight that the rear bumper can support. When I ask the guys at CW, they say 300#, I have also heard 100#. I asked about having a hitch mounted under the rear of the camper and they told me that would void my warranty due to me modifing the frame. I just dont want to get on the road and have a problem. Thanks in advance for your help.
Todd7176 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 09:17 AM   #2

I would think that the Eagle superlite FWs might come with a hitch as an option. Did you look into that? As far as putting a hitch for a bike on that FW, just go to a good welder and have him fabricate a hitch to carry it. My son had a bike rack attached to his bumper and found his bikes dragging on the interstate one time, manufacturer would not cover the damage. If you put on a good, solid hitch and something happens to the frame from putting the bike on it, then there was something wrong with the frame to start with, not the hitch.
2013 Polaris Sportsman 550 EXP
2008 Polaris Sportsman 700 X2
jal0710 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 09:42 AM   #3