Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2019, 10:25 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Mopar_Earl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Saint Thomas, PA
Posts: 2,234
Roof solar prep print

Anyone have any luck getting the roof solar print from Jayco? They emailed me a print for the ground solar connection and a print for the TV cable, ant and sat. No idea why they sent me that one. Told them those didn't help. So then they send me the roof structure print, which is no help. Lol then she started replying in all caps. Then told me she has no more prints to contact my dealer. Manufacturers don't design and build anything without prints. So I know they have it. I believe the person I was working with doesn't have a clue.

I also asked it they had any TSB's or instructions on the roof solar. Like locations of wiring and such.

Anyone happen to have a print? They are probably all similar. 2017 Eagle 293RKDS.


Thanks,
Earl
Mopar_Earl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 11:41 PM   #2
Member
 
mkbix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: LONE TREE
Posts: 34
PM sent!
mkbix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 11:22 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Keizer
Posts: 71
When I asked about this a year ago when I was doing my roof solar install, they told me that they did not have those plans available. I can tell you from personal experience, do not trust that sticker on the wall. It was far from the actual location of the cable run.
__________________
2018 Eagle HT28.5RSTS
2017 Ram 3500 Cummins
chuck5395 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 11:32 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Mopar_Earl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Saint Thomas, PA
Posts: 2,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkbix View Post
PM sent!
Thanks, I found that on the net eventually. But pretty basic.

Earl
Mopar_Earl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 11:35 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Mopar_Earl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Saint Thomas, PA
Posts: 2,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuck5395 View Post
When I asked about this a year ago when I was doing my roof solar install, they told me that they did not have those plans available. I can tell you from personal experience, do not trust that sticker on the wall. It was far from the actual location of the cable run.
That's why I need a print. I don't want to use the sticker location. That's way too far from my batteries. I need to know if the wires are cut or if they are looped behind the wall. If looped I'm good. If cut, I'm screwed. I'm going to mount my solar controller by the batteries as all recommend. Also I'm not using anything from gopower. Too expensive and too dated.


Earl
Mopar_Earl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 01:56 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 47
I just ignored all the prewired stuff and put in my own. I wanted bigger wires anyway and like you didn't like the location of the sticker for the controller.
Trailgypsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 05:52 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Mopar_Earl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Saint Thomas, PA
Posts: 2,234
I want to use the roof wiring. It's 8ga which is plenty big enough for a 30a system, especially if you series or series/parallel the panels and use an MPPT controller. I don't want to add any holes for new wiring or trying to pull/fish it. Im not looking to install a high amp system so the factory 8ga will do for my needs.


Earl
__________________
2017 Eagle 293RKDS, factory ordered, lots of mods and upgrades. More than I can list.
2018 Ram 3500 crew cab long bed SRW diesel 6spd Aisin 4wd Tradesman.
B&W Ram puck 5th wheel
Line-X premium
Mopar wheel to wheel steps
Mopar_Earl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 12:50 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Keizer
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mopar_Earl View Post
That's why I need a print. I don't want to use the sticker location. That's way too far from my batteries. I need to know if the wires are cut or if they are looped behind the wall. If looped I'm good. If cut, I'm screwed. I'm going to mount my solar controller by the batteries as all recommend. Also I'm not using anything from gopower. Too expensive and too dated.


Earl
Well, you might be screwed. When I located my wires, the black cable was uncut and but the red was cut with wire caps on each leg. I have a thread over in the mods section that has details of my install and photos.

You could locate the wires in the wall and "splice" them together.

I also did not use GoPower products but went with Renogy instead.

-Chuck

Check out my thread here:
https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/f...tml#post622921
Starting at post #4 I show what I found when installing my roof solar panels.
__________________
2018 Eagle HT28.5RSTS
2017 Ram 3500 Cummins
chuck5395 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 12:53 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Mopar_Earl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Saint Thomas, PA
Posts: 2,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuck5395 View Post
Well, you might be screwed. When I located my wires, the black cable was uncut and but the red was cut with wire caps on each leg. I have a thread over in the mods section that has details of my install and photos.

You could locate the wires in the wall and "splice" them together.

I also did not use GoPower products but went with Renogy instead.

-Chuck
Well that sucks. Why would the idiots cut it?? Unfortunately don't know if I can access my in the wall wiring. Maybe if I take the bathroom pocket door out but wouldn't be able to get my hand in that gap.


Earl
Mopar_Earl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 12:57 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Keizer
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mopar_Earl View Post
Well that sucks. Why would the idiots cut it?? Unfortunately don't know if I can access my in the wall wiring. Maybe if I take the bathroom pocket door out but wouldn't be able to get my hand in that gap.


Earl
I was able to access the cables by removing the wall outlet in the bathroom. Small hole, but we were able to fish it out and test it before cutting the big hole for the controller.
__________________
2018 Eagle HT28.5RSTS
2017 Ram 3500 Cummins
chuck5395 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 02:16 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Mopar_Earl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Saint Thomas, PA
Posts: 2,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuck5395 View Post
I was able to access the cables by removing the wall outlet in the bathroom. Small hole, but we were able to fish it out and test it before cutting the big hole for the controller.
My in wall wiring isn't near anything. It's between the hallway paneling and the bathroom pocket door cavity. My outlet is in a completely different wall.


Earl
Mopar_Earl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 07:32 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Keizer
Posts: 71
After thinking a bit more on this I'd like to suggest that you test the roof connectors with a multi-meter. If the lines are un-cut, you'll know for sure.
__________________
2018 Eagle HT28.5RSTS
2017 Ram 3500 Cummins
chuck5395 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 09:08 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: smithville, ont.
Posts: 2,704
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuck5395 View Post
After thinking a bit more on this I'd like to suggest that you test the roof connectors with a multi-meter. If the lines are un-cut, you'll know for sure.
And you check them to make sure they are the right polarity.
__________________
2016 North Point 341RLTS
520watts of solar. Morningstar MPPT
4 6volt 235ah Surrette batteries
Stolen>>2017 F-350 Platinum CC SRW<<Stolen

2024 F-350 Platinum CC SRW
klassic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 09:28 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Arizona
Posts: 2,324
My solar wires were looped had more than enough to make my connections.Did solar hook up 2 years ago in our 15 Eagle 321 RSTS.Jayco wall decal in the hall was right on for wires @ controller mount!
Attached Thumbnails
Good Eagle Solar.jpg  
bdreinv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 02:03 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Temecula
Posts: 20
Solar wiring

The support from jayco concerning this wiring is a joke. I ended up running my own wiring as others have spoken to. Brought the wiring from the panels down through the refrigerator vent under the trailer, up front into the front locker where the controller and inverter live, much smoother very easy to do and less headache. This option allows you to spec out the appropriate size wiring based on the configuration of your panels, distance to the controller and the inverter. Hope this helps out.
Mjgibbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 10:08 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Big bear
Posts: 202
Roof solar panels

We have 250 watts of solar power on the roof. The connection was down thru the refrigerator. We had the Jayco dealer install ours when the motorhome was new. Then changed our one 12 volt battery to two six volts. Then changed all the lights to LED. What a difference. The only time we have to either hook up or use the generator is if I want to use the microwave. They put the control panel alongside the refrigerator wall. The guys who installed it told us that they threaded it down thru the refrigerator vent. I have all the schematics for the entire coach I will look to see if it says anything about the solar.
Retired mountain folk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2019, 02:15 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Depew
Posts: 195
The diagram I got wasn’t super helpful - my eagle 322rlok had the removable panel in the hallway. The positive was cut and capped the negative was there uncut.

This makes it easy to install the kit they offer - install the controller there and connect the panels to the roof connector - it was already wired with a auto resetting circuit breaker at the battery disconect.

I did what the OP wanted and installed 960 watts of renogy 160 watt panels. I cut the positive from the circuit breaker at the battery disconnect and installed a 150 volt dc 30 amp circuit breaker instead to protect my victron 100/50 mppt controller.

The negative from the roof was bolted with several other grounding wires onto the front of my frame near the battery tray. I used a tone generator to identify which ground was the rooftop solar wire.

I then ran 2 new wires 1 8awg that I connected to the rooftop ground wire - this became the PV ground for the mppt and a new 6awg ground from the mppt controller that I connected in place of the original ground at the same frame mounted grounding bolt.

After the above was completed I spliced the positive wire in the hallway together and connected my panels using the included roof mount.
__________________
2018 Eagle 322RLOK, -w- Residential Whirlpool 21cf, xantrex 1200/2400 inverter, Thermal Windows, BAL 5.3 autolevel, Sanicon turbo, Dual 15K AC, moveable island
2018 F150 Platinum SC, FX4, 3.5-EB, Max tow - 12,700-Updates;Hensley Arrow 1400/14,000lbs, Battle Born Lithium 200ah, Victron Energy BMV-712 & VE 100/50, (6x160 ->960 Watts)- Flexible Renogy Solar, Micro Air Soft Start, RVlock, Westinghouse iGen4500DF, EMS-HW50C, Splendide WDC7100XC Washer/Dryer, Furrion FOS48TAPK-BL camera
Gizmopilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2019, 04:15 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Mopar_Earl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Saint Thomas, PA
Posts: 2,234
I checked the roof connection, there is power. So my wires aren't cut in the wall!! So I can use the roof connection and wiring. I tried to get to my in the wall wiring, couldn't without removing the wall panel or cutting a hole. So I got on the roof and measured for battery power and it's there and the polarity is correct. Fortunately they didn't cut them on my unit making it a plug and play.

Earl
__________________
2017 Eagle 293RKDS, factory ordered, lots of mods and upgrades. More than I can list.
2018 Ram 3500 crew cab long bed SRW diesel 6spd Aisin 4wd Tradesman.
B&W Ram puck 5th wheel
Line-X premium
Mopar wheel to wheel steps
Mopar_Earl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2019, 04:41 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Keizer
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mopar_Earl View Post
I checked the roof connection, there is power. So my wires aren't cut in the wall!! So I can use the roof connection and wiring. I tried to get to my in the wall wiring, couldn't without removing the wall panel or cutting a hole. So I got on the roof and measured for battery power and it's there and the polarity is correct. Fortunately they didn't cut them on my unit making it a plug and play.

Earl
That's awesome Earl. I'm glad that it's going to work out for you.
-Chuck
__________________
2018 Eagle HT28.5RSTS
2017 Ram 3500 Cummins
chuck5395 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.