Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2015, 06:13 PM   #11
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by krsmitty View Post
According to Jayco and the schematic...can get battery from the Chargeline or the house batteries. It does work connected to the TV...several years ago was pulling out of a site, making a right hand turn and break away cable got tangled in something in the bed of the truck. The plastic piece pulled out of the switch and wheels locked up...
...and the battery power that activated the brakes came from the house battery as soon as the breakaway switch was operated.
__________________

__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 09:19 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Seann45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sask Canada
Posts: 9,701
My service tech told me a long time ago if that plug gets pulled you should replace the switch.. They consider them a one use and replace item..
__________________

__________________
Seann
2004 Chev Silverado Duramax optioned past the max. 2009 Jayco Eagle 308 RLS 765 watts of solar, 6-6 volt batteries (696 amp hour), 2000 watt (4000 surge) whole house inverter.
175 days boondocking in 2017
215/2016, 211/2015, 196/14, 247/13, 193/12

Seann45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 09:20 AM   #13
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,047
Don't know about that.
I activate mine every now and again and see no reason to change it if it works.

On the other hand, they are not expensive.
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 11:40 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
oldmanAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: AZ
Posts: 7,046
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seann45 View Post
My service tech told me a long time ago if that plug gets pulled you should replace the switch.. They consider them a one use and replace item..
Hmmm... someone should tell the weigh station officers about this. Both greenenvy1 and I have had to pull this switch (after crossing the scales with the TV & TT unplugged) to demonstrate that the emergency braking system and battery were working. He was checked in the U.S., I was checked in B.C.
oldmanAZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 01:04 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seann45 View Post
My service tech told me a long time ago if that plug gets pulled you should replace the switch.. They consider them a one use and replace item..
I have never heard that. It just pushes in to keep the contacts apart it looks like. Anyway, I left out of my yard heading to Savannah and made a sharp right turn onto a major highway. We just happen to live over the crests of a hill. Lo and behold, my cable got caught on something and pulled out as I was stretched out across both lanes of this highway. Talk about panicking. Fortunately, we live way out in the boonies and no one was coming. All I knew was the breaks had locked up. I finally got it dragged over to the side of the road and emergency triangles out. Called my dealer and he told me to check the emergency switch first thing. Wow, how dumb can you get. Never even crossed my mind. All I knew was my brakes had locked up. Put the pin back in and off we went, after making sure my cable was free and clear. One thing I can tell you is those switches work real good. They told me to just put it back in and go on, nothing about replacing it.
__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 10:02 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Seann45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sask Canada
Posts: 9,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by namusmc65 View Post
I have never heard that. It just pushes in to keep the contacts apart it looks like. . They told me to just put it back in and go on, nothing about replacing it.
I think his thinking was the contacts are pretty thin metal and can burn up. You know the RV industry cheaper is better..
__________________

__________________
Seann
2004 Chev Silverado Duramax optioned past the max. 2009 Jayco Eagle 308 RLS 765 watts of solar, 6-6 volt batteries (696 amp hour), 2000 watt (4000 surge) whole house inverter.
175 days boondocking in 2017
215/2016, 211/2015, 196/14, 247/13, 193/12

Seann45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.