Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2016, 07:23 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: McDonough
Posts: 8
Satelitte TV

Satellite tv -I have a 2016 36kpts using Directv. I have a signal for the outside and living room tv. no signal for the bedroom with a separate box for each tv. The bedroom tv indicates lost signal. I know the box works because I switched them around to other tv's. Anyone have any ideas to fix?
__________________

taurus88two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2016, 04:42 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Da Bud Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Nicholasville, Ky
Posts: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by taurus88two View Post
Satellite tv -I have a 2016 36kpts using Directv. I have a signal for the outside and living room tv. no signal for the bedroom with a separate box for each tv. The bedroom tv indicates lost signal. I know the box works because I switched them around to other tv's. Anyone have any ideas to fix?
I'm in the same boat with my 325BHQS. I posted as well with no help. Hope you have better luck than me. I'm going to pull the wall plates this weekend and see what I can find.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-T817A using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
Kirk, Natalie, 2 Kids & 1 Dog
'14 Ram 2500 4x4 CC w/Cummins
'16 Jayco Eagle 325BHQS
'13 Suntracker PB 22
Da Bud Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2016, 07:55 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
TexasRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Dickinson
Posts: 436
Do you have the jumper coax that converts the system from cable to sat tv.
My 36 FBTS has one in a cabinet next to the tv. If you have it, it needs to be remove for sat tv
__________________
2015 Pinnacle 36FBTS
2015 F250 SD Platinum 4x4 - 6.7L PSD :
Titan 50 Gal. Fuel Tank
Slotted and Dimpled Brake Rotors
Air Lift LoadLifter 5000 Ultimate Airbags with WirelessAIR Controller
TexasRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 05:02 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Da Bud Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Nicholasville, Ky
Posts: 263
Not sure I follow what you mean by jumper?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-T817A using Tapatalk
__________________
Kirk, Natalie, 2 Kids & 1 Dog
'14 Ram 2500 4x4 CC w/Cummins
'16 Jayco Eagle 325BHQS
'13 Suntracker PB 22
Da Bud Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 05:06 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
edatlanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maplesville, AL - Home Base
Posts: 2,505
The cleanest way to do this is to have a dish with a SWM LNB. Then your coax run would look like this:

Dish to sat input on the side of your trailer (do not use the cable input. If cable input is all you have you will need to rewire around the signal booster inside your rig).

Once inside the rig straight to the Power Inserter, then out to a SWM splitter.

The two coax outputs from the SWM splitter then can be run to each of the two receivers/dvr's etc. and then to each TV.

If all of your coax runs to one location you just have to figure out which coax runs to each TV. For your front TV you will locate the receiver somewhere in that area so your remote will work from there.

If your primary receiver is a Genie you can use a Genie Mini for the front TV.
__________________
Ed
KM4STL

2006 GMC 2500HD CCSB 4x4 Duramax/Allison, Titan 52 gallon fuel tank, Prodigy Controller, B&W Companion Hitch
2010 Jayco Designer 35RLTS, Cummins/Onan RV QG 5500 EVAP, Progressive Industries EMS-PT50C, TST Systems 507 TPMS, RV Flex Armor Roof
edatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 05:12 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
TexasRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Dickinson
Posts: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by edatlanta View Post
The cleanest way to do this is to have a dish with a SWM LNB. Then your coax run would look like this:

Dish to sat input on the side of your trailer (do not use the cable input. If cable input is all you have you will need to rewire around the signal booster inside your rig).

Once inside the rig straight to the Power Inserter, then out to a SWM splitter.

The two coax outputs from the SWM splitter then can be run to each of the two receivers/dvr's etc. and then to each TV.

If all of your coax runs to one location you just have to figure out which coax runs to each TV. For your front TV you will locate the receiver somewhere in that area so your remote will work from there.

If your primary receiver is a Genie you can use a Genie Mini for the front TV.
Does this work if you have separate sat connections outside for the living room and bedroom. my receivers are not the wireless genies, just the mini stand a lone
__________________
2015 Pinnacle 36FBTS
2015 F250 SD Platinum 4x4 - 6.7L PSD :
Titan 50 Gal. Fuel Tank
Slotted and Dimpled Brake Rotors
Air Lift LoadLifter 5000 Ultimate Airbags with WirelessAIR Controller
TexasRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 05:15 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Da Bud Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Nicholasville, Ky
Posts: 263
Rig is a 2016 325BHQS. I have 3 hook up options in my command center box on side of trailer. Cable, sat, and Aux. Hooking to Aux allows me to get signal through to main tv, but nothing more. Hooking to sat allows me nothing on any tv so far. I'm going to pull all panels this weekend as I think something is not hooked up right. I'm running off of a slimline dish with 3 lnbs, and 2 coax's going from dish to camper. I just want to be able to put a box on main tv, and bunkhouse tv. Bunkhouse is the issue right now.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-T817A using Tapatalk
__________________
Kirk, Natalie, 2 Kids & 1 Dog
'14 Ram 2500 4x4 CC w/Cummins
'16 Jayco Eagle 325BHQS
'13 Suntracker PB 22
Da Bud Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 08:42 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: McDonough
Posts: 8
I have a SMW dish that I use. The box outside and the living room box are both used with SWM power or splitter. The box I'm trying to use in the bedroom is the old style box that uses all coax cable no SWM. I know the box works as I use in a spare bedroom at home. I also hooked it up directly to the outside tv of the 5th wheel. I use a portable SWM dish, get a signal, run coax to satelitte in on the side of the 5th wheel. My 5th wheel was pre-wired for satelittle so not getting a signal in the bedroom does not make any sense.
taurus88two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 11:14 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
TexasRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Dickinson
Posts: 436
Our unit has separate living room and bedroom connections outside for sat tv. The owners manual states the a coax jumper has to be removed when switching from standard cable to sat tv. Our living tv lowers down behind the fireplace and there is a small cabinet to the left. Inside the cabinet is a coax jumper about 6" long. That's the jumper I'm referring to, if you unit is pre-wired for sat tv I would "guess" you have the same setup somewhere inside. Check inside cabinets and closets.
__________________
2015 Pinnacle 36FBTS
2015 F250 SD Platinum 4x4 - 6.7L PSD :
Titan 50 Gal. Fuel Tank
Slotted and Dimpled Brake Rotors
Air Lift LoadLifter 5000 Ultimate Airbags with WirelessAIR Controller
TexasRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 11:30 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Da Bud Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Nicholasville, Ky
Posts: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasRT View Post
Our unit has separate living room and bedroom connections outside for sat tv. The owners manual states the a coax jumper has to be removed when switching from standard cable to sat tv. Our living tv lowers down behind the fireplace and there is a small cabinet to the left. Inside the cabinet is a coax jumper about 6" long. That's the jumper I'm referring to, if you unit is pre-wired for sat tv I would "guess" you have the same setup somewhere inside. Check inside cabinets and closets.
Will do! Thanks!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
Kirk, Natalie, 2 Kids & 1 Dog
'14 Ram 2500 4x4 CC w/Cummins
'16 Jayco Eagle 325BHQS
'13 Suntracker PB 22
Da Bud Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.