Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2016, 04:49 PM   #31
Senior Member
 
RAurand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rustysocket View Post
I fail to see how this can work. A converter is used to charge your batteries from AC and provides a 12V source for the other items in the trailer. You would need an inverter to do this and would have to specifically wire your air conditioner to it.
I read somewhere that there was a large capacitor you could add to your AC somewhere and that would store enough power to allow the AC to start from the generator.
__________________

__________________

2012 Ford Expedition EL
2016 28BHBE, Elite and Thermal Packages.
Surge Guard 34830
2012 26BH (Traded)
2002 Prowler Lynx (totaled from tire blowout)
RAurand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2016, 10:24 AM   #32
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: SW Washington
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by 17 Oaks View Post
This is not on my Jayco, its on my other RV.

If I remember its a Xantrex 2000?

No on the residential fridge, just have the 8 cu ft unit. Good enough for us...

The reason I asked about the residential fridge in your Jayco (the implied trailer in your signature) is that is the only option that you can choose to get an inverter installed from the factory. I called them to verify as I am in the process of ordering a new unit for myself and looking at all the options.

The reason I point this out is that inexperienced users are going to read your post and think that they should be able to run their AC off of their batteries and an underrated genset. Especially someone who has little or no experience with the electrical systems in a modern RV. That is simply not the case. The best they will get is the fan.

Unless you have modified the electrical system or added an inverter to your Jayco (you know the one with two grey water tanks and the missing blind) you will not be able to start the AC in the manner in which you described. Even if you had ordered the residential fridge (which I do not believe is an option in the HT series anyway) the inverter would only be on the circuit to run the fridge off of batteries. Again, I just got off the phone with Jayco to verify this.

Don't take this the wrong way, I'm not picking on you. I'm sure your a smart man. I just feel that it's disingenuous to give information about an unrelated situation and make it sound like it will work for everyone especially considering this is a Jayco forum and it's implied your talking about a Jayco product.
__________________

__________________
2009 F350 CC LB 4WD
2017 Jayco 355MBQS
Rustysocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2016, 10:52 AM   #33
Senior Member
 
17 Oaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Boerne
Posts: 172
I see lots of discussion about off the grid or boondocking and the inability to run AC with the smaller gensets. I know I could not and it kept my boondocking to the cooler months. This bother me a lot as the specs of the small units certainly produced enough power to drive the AC unit or at least the <11k Btu models. But it won't start it. But a battery with its high starting amps will and then you switch over to the genset which keeps it running.

I don't think the make or model of your unit makes a lot of difference here. If you are equipped for off the grid, meaning you have battery(s) and converter/inverter and genset I would think you could do as I have done. As I stated my setup is 100% OEM, I have made no mods at all to accomplish this. Yes its a Jayco forum and after owning 3 different makes and models of RV's I have learned a few things, but don't guess they apply here...
__________________
Don
US Army Infantry, my rucksack was my RV
S Texas
'17 Forrest River Cedar Creek Silverback RE
'17 F 350 CC, LB SRW King Ranch
'16 Jayco Eagle HT 27.5 RKDS GONE!
17 Oaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2016, 11:12 AM   #34
Senior Member
 
The Logans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Ona
Posts: 632
If money is no object, Honda 1000, and 2000 inverter gen-sets are hands down the best (the inverter is a must if using sensitive equipment).

The Champion is a Chinese knock-off... we've had two and found them noisy, smelly, and prone to power fluctuations. When they wouldn't allow ours into a National park (noise and spark arrestor issues), we gave it away and got the Honda 2000. Our other Champion had the low oil shutdown fail and the engine seized up.

You might also look into Generac... 799.00 at Amazon, and is an inverter ultra quiet model. Supposed to be made in the USA.

Robot Check
__________________
The Logan's
2018 Jayco Alante 31v
Me, Dear Wife,
2 Bluetick Hounds
1 Newfoundland
1 Newfoundland / Black Lab Mix
1 Cairn Terrier
The Logans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2016, 11:20 AM   #35
Senior Member
 
The Logans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Ona
Posts: 632
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAurand View Post
I read somewhere that there was a large capacitor you could add to your AC somewhere and that would store enough power to allow the AC to start from the generator.
You're correct... It's called a "hard start kit", and allowed us to run our AC from the Honda 2000. Just don't run any other induction loads at the same time, or a breaker will trip!
__________________
The Logan's
2018 Jayco Alante 31v
Me, Dear Wife,
2 Bluetick Hounds
1 Newfoundland
1 Newfoundland / Black Lab Mix
1 Cairn Terrier
The Logans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2016, 01:54 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
17 Oaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Boerne
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAurand View Post
I read somewhere that there was a large capacitor you could add to your AC somewhere and that would store enough power to allow the AC to start from the generator.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Logans View Post
You're correct... It's called a "hard start kit", and allowed us to run our AC from the Honda 2000. Just don't run any other induction loads at the same time, or a breaker will trip!
After ordering 3 hard start kits and none of them worked to start it I tried another approach. I contacted the manuf and what they told me was that as the AC unit gets older it requires more and more amps to start it just due to wear and tear over time. OK, makes sense to me...
__________________
Don
US Army Infantry, my rucksack was my RV
S Texas
'17 Forrest River Cedar Creek Silverback RE
'17 F 350 CC, LB SRW King Ranch
'16 Jayco Eagle HT 27.5 RKDS GONE!
17 Oaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2016, 02:15 PM   #37
Senior Member
 
17 Oaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Boerne
Posts: 172
Came across this:

RV Generator Buyer's Guide - How to Pick the Perfect RV Generator
__________________
Don
US Army Infantry, my rucksack was my RV
S Texas
'17 Forrest River Cedar Creek Silverback RE
'17 F 350 CC, LB SRW King Ranch
'16 Jayco Eagle HT 27.5 RKDS GONE!
17 Oaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 01:13 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Bedford, Qc.
Posts: 35
Lot's of info to study. But I have one of those " can you " questions. Some of you use two generators to bump up watts. Do the two generators have to be the same size? If I use a 2000w Honda but need just a little more juice can a 1000w be added or must it be another 2000w. Yes , I understand the cable kit needed to do this ; but I like the small and lite part of these units! Also the 1000w would be handy for the single item use everywhere.
Pickup jockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 02:04 PM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stittsville
Posts: 54
Generac iq2000

I purchased a Generac iq2000, quieter than the Honda 2000 and has some nice features. Purchased in Canada at a price of $1050. Generac have been in the generator business for a long time and have a proven work history although this is a new unit first out in November 2015.
__________________
Harry & Donna
2014 Dodge Ram 1500, 5.7 Hemi
2015 Jayco Jay Feather 23RLSW
Harreec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 02:23 PM   #40
Senior Member
 
House of Harview's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: La La Land
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pickup jockey View Post
Lot's of info to study. But I have one of those " can you " questions. Some of you use two generators to bump up watts. Do the two generators have to be the same size? If I use a 2000w Honda but need just a little more juice can a 1000w be added or must it be another 2000w. Yes , I understand the cable kit needed to do this ; but I like the small and lite part of these units! Also the 1000w would be handy for the single item use everywhere.
If I'm not mistaken, I think you would need equal watt rated units as well as the same mfg. in order to combine them with the cable. I plan on using one of my Yams. to run lights, micro., and such as well as run the refrigerator on gas while the HW heater is left on. Of course, the second Yam will be hooked together for running the A/C and the same config. by running the refrigerator on gas and or the HW heater.
__________________

__________________
2017 Octane T32C TH (on order as of 04/08/2016)
TV: 2004 Dodge 2500 QC SB 4X4 CTD w/Timbrens
2007 John Deere Gator 850D Diesel UTV w/Cab
(2) Yamaha EF2000is Inverter Generators
House of Harview is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.