Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 03-07-2020, 10:18 AM   #1

Surge Protection

The warm weather is starting to tease us this weekend. We’re getting excited to pull out our new 30.5 CKTS out of the shed to get it loaded. The one thing I want to do is to add a surge protector. I will be using a 50a hardwired one. The one I would like to have is the Hughes Watchdog since it will Bluetooth to my phone for the status of the power. My only hold-back on this one is that it has not been listed; UL, CSA or other testing lab. Apparently, they are in the process of obtaining CSA, so I’ve been waiting, but time is running out. My second choice is the Progressive, which is listed. I see many recommendations to the Progressive, and know it would serve me well, just less featured and slightly higher price. I was an electrical contractor for almost 30 years and now I’m passing down my trade by teaching it at a college, so I understand and have seen the damage that can occur. In fact, the 2020 electrical code will be requiring reverse polarity protection to be installed on all new RV’s. The code also requires all electrical equipment to be listed; the Watchdog fails that requirement. How many out there are using the Watchdog and how does it perform? The Watchdog gives me features I like, but it is not listed and could lead to a denial of a claim if something does go wrong.
H2oPumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2020, 11:56 AM   #2