Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2016, 08:19 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Howard city, MI
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by oz97tj View Post
So in a video I saw, and in your pic, the display looks very bright. Is it a distraction at all? I'm concerned with the brightness and the scrolling info it would create a sort of flashing effect that would be a distraction at night.

Because of this, I'm thinking I may just mount the display in the rear basement so when I plug in I can see what the display says. I don't figure I need to info constantly in front of me. You see any reason why I should not do so and put it in the living area?
To be honest I haven't slept in the camper yet to know if it will bother me or not. I do know that we will have our door shut to the bedroom at night so I don't think that will bother us and if the kids decide to get up to go to the bathroom there me be enough glow from that for them to see without turning on a light.

I don't see an issue with putting the display in the basement except if your watching tv or chilling at night and the power surge cuts off the power you will have to go out to the basement to see the code and what the issue is. I also feel running the wire to the basement will be kind of a pain, knowing that the converter is under stove.
__________________

__________________
Jason
------------
2016 Eagle HT 29.5bhds
2003 Silverado 1500hd, 6.0, 4x4
Camping_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 08:23 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Missouri City, The Republic of Texas
Posts: 3,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camping_J View Post
From my understanding it is a bypass. That way if some of the electronics in the surge protector fail you can bypass it and still have power. Or I would think if you were hooked up to a generator that was giving you an error you could bypass the surge protector as well.
Yes, Camping is correct. I couldn't find any explanation in the manual when I installed my 40 amp. I noted they had a hotline so I called on a Sunday afternoon and left a v-mail asking about it. They returned my call less than an hour later!
When "down" the EMS is engaged, when "up" it is by-passed and the display reads "off".
__________________

__________________
Cheers,
T_

2013 F-350 CC SB 2WD 6.7PS
2013 Eagle Premier 351 RLTS
-SOLD- 2012 X23B
-SOLD- 2003 Ford Expedition 5.4, Bilstein shocks
RedHorse1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 08:26 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Fenton
Posts: 86
Yeah I thought about that but if power goes out there is a good chance I'll be going out anyway. As for wire routing, I need to look how the Power comes into the 5er. My thought is where it plugs into the exterior or the camper I could find a place to stick it back there. Not sure though.

I had the concerns of water being an issue if mounted where yours is but that would likely be a stretch too. I hope to get some time this weekend to figure out how the Power cord gets from the rear drivers side to the middle passenger side...
oz97tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 09:10 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Aero_Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Boston
Posts: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by oz97tj View Post
So in a video I saw, and in your pic, the display looks very bright. Is it a distraction at all? I'm concerned with the brightness and the scrolling info it would create a sort of flashing effect that would be a distraction at night.

Because of this, I'm thinking I may just mount the display in the rear basement so when I plug in I can see what the display says. I don't figure I need to info constantly in front of me. You see any reason why I should not do so and put it in the living area?
I may do the same thing. Just remember when you 1st hook power up, the Surge Protector will take like 2 minutes & 16 seconds Before I will let power into the camper, while it checks the incoming circuit.
Or I may just find a place inside where the display is not facing anyone while on the couch, dinning table or from bedroom views.

Dave...
__________________
2013 Ram 2500, 6.7 CTD, CCLB 4x4 in True Blue.
B&W Turnover Ball, Andersen Ultimate Hitch (v2)

2016 Eagle HT 29.5 BHDS Picked-up 4/1/16
2007 Rockwood ROO 21SS - SOLD
Aero_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 09:26 AM   #15
Junior Member
 
steelweels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Thief River Falls
Posts: 11
Why does a person need to be able to see the display while hooking up? If you've got a problem the EMS will protect you and then you can go look at the display wherever it is. Or am I missing something?
steelweels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 09:46 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Missouri City, The Republic of Texas
Posts: 3,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelweels View Post
Why does a person need to be able to see the display while hooking up? If you've got a problem the EMS will protect you and then you can go look at the display wherever it is. Or am I missing something?
It's probably just me but I turn the breakers off at my panel and on the post before connecting the power cord. Flip the post breakers on and watch the display to see if the EMS is liking the power and then flip on the house breakers.
I put the display just below the power panel and I can access both by reaching in the doorway.
As I'm entering the coach I usually stop and watch the display go thru a complete cycle and look for an "E" or "PE" code.
__________________
Cheers,
T_

2013 F-350 CC SB 2WD 6.7PS
2013 Eagle Premier 351 RLTS
-SOLD- 2012 X23B
-SOLD- 2003 Ford Expedition 5.4, Bilstein shocks
RedHorse1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 09:53 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Exeter
Posts: 101
^you aren't missing anything, the display will only tell you what caused the trip. I didn't get the remote display version due to the fact that I didn't want to see the light of the display while sleeping, (I have a popup). Plus I ended up saving over $60 buying the non remote display version. I mounted mine right next to the converter under my dinette seat. I the chance I want to see the code, I have to left a cushion and a piece of plywood. The convenience of mounting it where you can see it while hooking up didn't warrant me spending the extra money. Plus I will initially use a multimeter to check my pedestal (30amp +15/20 amp receptacles)
Levinehikeski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 11:10 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Fenton
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelweels View Post
Why does a person need to be able to see the display while hooking up? If you've got a problem the EMS will protect you and then you can go look at the display wherever it is. Or am I missing something?
The perk is if power doesn't come on you can see why. There are other options, like mentioned of checking the pedestal other ways first, but the EMS we are all discussing does it all for you.

In theory things should maintain a steady level as well. This will show you if it's jumping around a small amount. Not really an issue but may indicate an issue at some point as well even though it's technically within range at that time.

Either way, you don't need to watch the display all the time. One could argue you don't need a display at all as the EMS will protect you. that's why there is this discussion questioning the pros and cons of putting it in the living quarters vs tucking it away.
oz97tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 07:50 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Inthewind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Spring Branch
Posts: 144
Great thread/info. I'm getting ready to take delivery of an Eagle 317RLOK with a 50amp service. I guess the only difference is between the HW50C and the LCHW50 is the remote display?
Thanks!
__________________
2016 317RLOK
2016 Ram 3500 Lonestar, CC, 4X4, 6.7 CTD, AISIN, 3.43, B&W Companion RVK3600 (Ram puck drop in) with Reese Elite 5th Airborne Sidewinder.
Inthewind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 08:16 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Fenton
Posts: 86
Ma Natura hasn't gotten the memo is April 9. It's currently 25 degrees out. If it doesn' warm up some iI'm not so sure I'll be out installing my EMS today.
__________________

oz97tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.